We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lowry Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lowry Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,318: English reviews
Start your review of The Lowry Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

As a regular visitor to the Lowry, I've been meaning to write a review for ages. What can one say? We love staying at the Lowry. Everything from the comfort, to the location, to the food makes every visit a joy. A special shout out to George in the bar who always makes us feel welcome and keep us entertained!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zidaneno21
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Most people will go to this hotel and have a pleasant stay but I found the experience a little disappointing. Being pregnant my partner treated me to a night away, so we left our other son behind for one night to explore Manchester and have a good night’s rest. We were back in the hotel room early about 7.30 ish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 718katie
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 718katie Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We are so sorry to hear about the disturbance during your stay. On investigation it appears that our handyman was carrying out some minor repairs and the turn down service is something we offer to all guests each evening. We are so sorry if this caused you some inconvenience but...

Colliewobbles30
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a last minute deal on Saturday night. We arrived around 12PM and managed to get into our room straight away. It was large and comfortable, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We didn't spend much time in the room in the day opting to go out shopping. Its within walking distance to all the shops and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colliewobbles30
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear colliewobbles30 Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We are pleased you like the comfortable accommodation and the excellent location close to the many attractions in the city. It was also good that you enjoyed the lunch taken on the Terrace area which is a perfect spot given the better weather we are having towards the end of...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We went to Manchester for a birthday overnight stay. The hotel was fabulous from the moment we walked through the door. Reception was spotless and there was an abundance of staff waiting to help. The room was a city room. This was the only disappointing part of our stay. The view was of the building site for a huge block...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katieperfect
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katieperfect Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. It was good to read your comments about the comfortable accommodation and the convenient location of the Hotel. We appreciate your comments about the view and this feedback is also very useful in planning our future operations. We hope to welcome you back again in the very near future Adrian...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After being advised Jose Mourinho owns/ rents frequently the penthouse I was expecting a highly glamorous hotel. Whilst I think the hotel was very nice it certainly wasn't a 5* hotel. Perhaps 4* The rooms were nice and aside from some pieces of furniture that were perhaps a little more striking they looked very much like a Premier Inn. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie B Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. It was good to read that you liked our property and enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that you didn't feel the luxury of a 5 star Hotel although the Hotel has this rating and many of our guests enjoy the additional services and amenities that come...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were greeted on arrival and checked in swiftly. Our luggage was taken up to our room and within minutes of arrival another member of staff knocked at our door to see if we required a turn-down service as it was already early evening. Very efficient service. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was extremely spacious and contained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluegwladys
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bluegwladys Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. It was good to read your positive comments about the accommodation, facilities and services you received. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon Adrian Ellis General Manager

Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for one night, after booking this hotel solely because of its location and relatively cheap rates. I expected a mid range hotel... What I found, was an upper tier hotel with really nice rooms, great service and all kinds of extra facilities like a wellness spa (I didn't try this). Maybe I booked completely off season, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EmilioDeTurba
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EmilioDeTurba Thank you for your positive comments following a recent stay at the Hotel. We were pleased you enjoyed the facilities and the location of our property. Thanks also for your kind comments about the accommodation and services received. I would encourage you to continue checking our website for the very best offers and promotions Adrian Ellis General Manager

Warrington
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My friend and I are 'regulars' to the restaurant for lunch. We have been visiting for 3 years now and both agree that the food and service is exquisite. I have never had such a combination of flavours so professionally prepared, pleasing to the eye, fabulous on the pocket and taste to die for! I consider myself very lucky to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tbash007
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tbash007 Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We really appreciate your positive comments about the lunch taken in our River Restaurant and about the quality of our food and attention from our service team. I will certainly share this positive feedback with them. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions to come Adrian...

North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at the Lowry when visiting Manchester on 4 or 5 occasions now for either a band at the arena or a birthday night or shopping trip weekend. Very well proportioned rooms with great facilities. A great central location within walking distance of both shops and a variety of restaurants. Staff are always very courteous although the bar staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alsaolem
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alsaolem Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hotel and thank you for your constructive feedback., We are sorry if you felt that some form of preferential treatment was given to some customers at the Bar. This is definitely not the impression we wanted to give and apologise...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Location although building works are being carried out in front of The Lowry were in immaculate condition considering. The main reception area is very accommodating so you never feel like you are cramped into a queue when checking in or checking out. The Room was immaculate and there is more than enough space to not feel cramped, the walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidlT5839AB
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davidT5839AB Thank you for your very positive trip advisor review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services at the Hotel. Our location is excellent and so close to the many shops and restaurants in the areas. We were pleased that the team at the Hotel made you feel welcome during your stay. Thank you...

1,075 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (663)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Other (319)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Suite (106)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Room with City View (53)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Room with River View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (65)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 115 in Manchester
1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The River Restaurant & Bar
The River Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manchester's most fashionable hotel, the award-winning Lowry Hotel is ideally situated on the banks of the River Irwell in the recently-developed Chapel Wharf area on the Salford-Manchester boundary. The first five-star hotel in Greater Manchester, The Lowry Hotel makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, curved, glass-fronted façade that creates a light and airy feel within the hotel interior. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lowry Hotel

Address: 50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Salford M3 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Price Range: £112 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lowry Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Lowry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lowry Hotel Salford, Greater Manchester
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salford
#1 Family Hotel in Salford
#1 Business Hotel in Salford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lowry Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Lowry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a view of the river as the other side faces construction works”
 of 5 bubbles 718katie, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms have a river/canal view, but not sure that they are worth the premium. All rooms seem very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles alsaolem, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a riverside view”
 of 5 bubbles SMillington, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have great space cant go wrong.”
 of 5 bubbles Kenyantraveller1, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles Gordon471, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5