We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Colebrook Guest House

56 Netley Street, Farnborough GU14 6AT England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (28)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 8 guest houses in Farnborough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Farnborough, Colebrook Guest House is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Colebrook Guest House makes it easy to enjoy the best of Farnborough.

As your “home away from home,” the guest house rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to baggage storage while staying at Colebrook Guest House. In addition, Colebrook Guest House offers free breakfast, which will help make your Farnborough trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While staying at Colebrook Guest House, visitors can check out St Michael's Abbey (1.4 mi), which is a popular Farnborough attraction.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Farnborough's popular dumplings restaurants such as Malacca, Everest Tandoori, and Gurkha Palace, all a short distance from Colebrook Guest House.

During your visit, be sure to check out TeamSport Indoor Go Karting Farnborough (1.1 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the guest house.

Colebrook Guest House is sure to make your visit to Farnborough one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
137Reviews2Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 47
  • 5
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Caroline S wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions
+1
Breakfast was the only good part. Originally booked this hotel as it took dogs and didn't end up taking the dog in the end. It had really good reviews and two rooms available. One for me and my husband and another for my mother. Checked in via the door code given. We were upstairs to the front of the property. As I was upstairs I heard a voice downstairs from a male who at the time shouted up are you OK. I now know that male to be the owner. To which I replied yes I'm collecting items from my car. He never introduced himself so I assumed he was a guest. Went straight out to visit family and came in about 9pm. Tried to have a shower and it wouldn't turn on. Probably due to the limescale build up and even my husband couldn't get it switched on. The room as per the pictures was old fashioned and the carpets were well stained all over. There was cobwebs on the ceilings that hadn't been touched in years and on the side lights as per the pictures. The single paned windows which were all wooden. Well only 1 opened and they need some tlc as paint was coming off and some wd40 needed for the one that opened. Old wooden furniture and a fan that looked like something from the war. Bottles in the bathroom not labelled and other people's hair on tiles and bath floor. Plus mould all over the bathroom ceiling. Not a good night's sleep with boy racers and moped flying up and down the road. On hotels.com it says the hotel has soundproofing which it doesn't. The following day went down for breakfast and my husband made the male owner aware to see if we could move to a back bedroom. The husband refused and said that he didn't believe we would be happy anywhere. He was very argumentative and aggressive and that was before I mentioned how dirty the room was. One minute he said that I was lying about the noise as he stayed there. Then next minute he changed his mind and said that he only occasionally stays here. He mentioned that he has cleaners in and by the state of our room I would sack them. Stayed for breakfast which was the only nice thing about the hotel. Ended up leaving after that night and found a clean hotel. My mums room was nice but again single panelled glass windows so she didn't get a good night's sleep. Would I recommend this hotel definitely not as the owner doesn't agree with anything you say and at one point I thought he was going to assault my husband who was just trying to see if another room was available. Pay abit more and go to a better hotel where they will lookafter you. Only positive was after the owner calmed down was he gave us a refund and we found a better hotel. So if you do stay here don't give him any negative feedback because you will be wrong!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from dudley sharland, Owner at Colebrook Guest House
Responded 3 Oct 2023
You know how you feel when someone says they won’t lie, or they are being honest,the following is usually suspect, well there are 2 sides to every story. I was called to the dining room by our server to be greeted by a “in your face”, assertive gentleman and his partner, who proceeded to tell me that due to the traffic noise and our lack of apparently advertised soundproofing, they and their mother in law, who was in a separate room, had had an awful nights sleep, and wished to be moved to different rooms, I explained we had no other rooms available as we were full that night, but apparently they had looked online and found we did have rooms but, like the soundproofing, could not remember where they had seen it. He did not accept that we were full , telling us we did have rooms, and that in his opinion it was very noisy. He then proceeded to tell us the shower would not work, I said I would go and look at the shower but he followed me to the room. I said I did not need any help and was told that he did not trust me to be in the room with their belongings on my own! That was the point I realised that they had a different agenda to ourselves and returned downstairs. So at this point I said to both of them, I felt that we were not going to be able to meet their many opinions, expectations and concerns, however if they wished to move somewhere else, I would be happy to give them a complete refund, including . the night they had already stayed, which they accepted. I was then very surprised to find that they had booked into the nearby Aviator 5 star hotel. Why come to a budget B+B and then go to the most expensive hotel in Farnborough. To clear a few points I, at 78, was at no point ever going to assault her husband, and my staff will back me up in saying that at no point did I lose my temper or was unpleasant with either of them. I later found that the shower was in fact faulty. The inside of the flexible hose had collapsed and was blocking the water flow. A new hose cured it in 10 mins, both windows in the room do open.I found one cobweb on the ceiling; it is cobweb season at the moment though. We, on Trip Advisor are highly rated at no 3 of 12 in Farnborough with many 5 star reviews and having a score of 4.5 overall, many praising the staff and our cleanliness
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elaine C wrote a review Sept 2023
Stewarton, Scotland, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 2 nights with my family including our little dog. Lovely clean, comfortable room and delicious hot breakfast. The staff are lovely too. Perfect location to visit University of Surrey and Guildford. We will definitely return and I’d highly recommend this place to anyone. Excellent value for money. All in all a very pleasant stay and would give larger chain hotels a run for their money. The Cramond family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Experience438493 wrote a review Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom1 contribution
I have booked rooms several times for our guys working in the area. The Host is very friendly and helpful and the guys are always pleased when they learn they are staying there. They say the breakfast is very good
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from dudley sharland, Owner at Colebrook Guest House
Responded 3 Oct 2023
thanks for your great review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cymro-boy wrote a review Jul 2022
Nesscliffe, United Kingdom70 contributions29 helpful votes
Check in was very easy and my room was very comfortable. It was very busy in the dining room at 07:00 due to the Farnborough Air Show being on I think. We were all served very quickly and efficiently. I had a full English breakfast which was spot on and the coffee was also great. Parking is very easy with loads of spaces on the road outside.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from dudley sharland, Owner at Colebrook Guest House
Responded 3 Oct 2023
thanks for your very nice review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
drawingroom wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom17 contributions22 helpful votes
The room was extremely dusty, with a thick layer of dust on the headboard (which I cleaned off myself) and other surfaces and the bathroom absolutely stank of grime. It was clean as far as I could see, as was the bedding, but the smell from the bathroom was foul and the grime on surfaces was disdainful of guests. I don't know how anyone preparing rooms for paying guests could miss such basic issues around presentation and cleanliness. There was no plug point by the bed, the reading lamp was a strange, grimy thing hanging from the wall. Guests are expected to enter the property alone with no welcome. All in all a poor and very overpriced room in a location that doesn't justify the expense. The aggressive and frankly dishonest response to my review on Google doesn't do anything to improve my impression of this unhappy guest house.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bring pledge
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jamie G wrote a review Oct 2021
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
So my Wife, daughter, my dog and I stayed here over the weekend. What a very welcoming, lovely break it was. Prior to our arrival, the owner was in contact with simple entry details. Upon arrival, everything was on point and there was no hiccups. The property itself is located in a lovely area, just a short walk from local amenities. We encountered no problem with parking, this is outside the property on the road side. The room was ample enough sizing, with room for our dogs cage. We contacted the owner prior to our arrival in relation to bringing our dog, we payed a small fee of £5 on arrival for bringing our pet. Comfy, clean bedding. Tea, coffee and biscuits along with a kettle in our room aswell. Breakfast was freshly cooked in the morning, with cereal and toasting facilities aswell at no extra cost. And even though it was busy, there was no long waiting for the cooked food. We used the location for 2 things, the first we have family stationed in the Military local to the property. And secondly, I travelled for a football match in Brighton. This was around 1hr 20 travelling in car to the stadium. Again with no hiccups. I would highly recommend the stay here and would definitely use again the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from dudley sharland, Owner at Colebrook Guest House
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Thanks for your lovely review, really glad you had a great weekend and hope you had a good trip back to Sculthorpe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gary M wrote a review Sept 2021
Farnborough, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
This B&B is outstanding The rooms are very clean with crisp linen ,& all amenities you would like in a B&B The Shower room was also immaculate with fresh White towels They offer a variety for breakfast from a full English breakfast to smaller variations & also a continental breakfast, which I must say was very tasty If you are looking for a B&B on my experience this is superb value at a very high standard
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from dudley sharland, Owner at Colebrook Guest House
Responded 3 Oct 2023
thanks very much for your great review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Teddy wrote a review Jul 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Our room had it's own indoor water feature ...A leaking ceiling which looked like it had been there for a while ... Room was cold ... Kettle broken ... the room needs a refresh and a good deep clean ... shower needs a refresh and a deep clean .....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from dudley sharland, Owner at Colebrook Guest House
Responded 2 Oct 2021
Sorry about the leak in the ceiling, as I have said before, the roof guy I called out could not find anything wrong and put it down to very high winds and very heavy rain getting blown under the slates, and it had not been there a while, the room was cold as you did notturn the heating on, the kettle was not broken, you didn't mention the breakfast you didn't have , because you forgot to order it I won't go on, you get the gist
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robert B wrote a review Dec 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Was in the area due to work. Booked in for one night. All details & info texted & emailed to me. I was allowed into my room (no 3) at 1pm. Bathroom & shower ensuite + TV & coffee,tea Kettle etc. Clean tidy quiet & warm! The breakfast room was closed due to covid so you had to leave your order & time you wanted breakfast in the little box downstairs. Excellent breakfast brought to my room at 8.15am. Excellent service and a clean tidy warm room with a comfortable bed. At a discounted £35 it was excellent value. Many thanks
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: room 3 was very good. Quiet & warm. Single room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
UK Travelling wrote a review Oct 2019
United Kingdom170 contributions14 helpful votes
I already wrote a short review on another site, of the pros and cons. The picture of all the lovely flowers at the front of the house is as good as it gets.I arrived at 3pm but I was told i should of arrived at 4pm, but they let me in. I was on the ground floor next to the front door which banged evertime it opened and closed . It was cold in my room but I was told its my own fault for arriving so Early. The room was fine, everything you need. The bedding was worn and pillows where flat as a pancake and smelt of BO,the ensuit could do with tlc. I didn't write this on my other review has I felt the other faults I found was enough. My main concern was that the door key kept jamming and was told it also was my fault.i was told I gave them a bad review because I had a bad drive down to the guest house this is not true. I have had bad travelling experience before , but I have never given bad reviews. I don't expect the owner, to tell everyone,on my review about my personal life I talked about to the owner.if anyone had a bad day it was you. Its been the worst hosting iv ever had, customers come first and my options there to make it better place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from dudley111, Front Office Manager at Colebrook Guest House
Responded 7 Nov 2019
we are very sorry you felt the need to post a further negitive review here, you may remember that in your review on Booking.com you gave the staff a 10 out of 10 score, and as i remember we responded to your many issues in a happy and friendly manner so we are not sure how that sits with "the worst hosting i have ever had", a further point is that on the night you stayed you were the only guest, the front door was not being opened and closed, so your banging comment would seem a little exagerated, which does throw some doubt on your further obervations. We are sorry that you seemed to have experienced a very long and detailed list of unfortunate events in the 18 hours you we here, which is not the norm as, our many positive reviews show, and i would remind you that if you are throwing the mud on a public forum, it is only fair that you may expect a result you are not happy with in reply.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Farnborough area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireFarnborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COLEBROOK GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices (Farnborough)

Frequently Asked Questions about Colebrook Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Colebrook Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Farnborough Air Sciences Trust Museum (0.4 miles), Aldershot Military Museum (0.5 miles), and FAST Centrifuge (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Colebrook Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Colebrook Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Colebrook Guest House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Colebrook Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brasserie, Sky Bar, and One Eleven.
Is Colebrook Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Farnborough.
Are pets allowed at Colebrook Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Colebrook Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting FAST Centrifuge (0.3 miles).