We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,129: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We organised for 23 of us to have our Christmas do in the grand ballroom during the week with other companies and we were all impressed with the service and ballroom presentation it was decorated beautifully. It was a thoroughly enjoyable night, there was a magician coming to the tables to do tricks, the photo booth in the grand ball...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The sports bar is fantastic, drinks reasonably prices for the standard of the premises. Food expensive but also very good, staff lacking the special touch when it come to customer service but not rude either. The rest of the facilities look amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gablada
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate all comments, good or bad, as they enable us to continue to improve the guest experience. i shall forward on your comments to the appropriate departments. We are very proud of the Sports Bar and are pleased you enjoyed your football. I do apologize that the staff seemed lacking. We have...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel is beautiful and the extra bars and places to relax really adds to it. We had a function and the staff were good but not imposing so you could relax and enjoy it. Loved the heated beds in the adults only part of the spa, lovely spa, big room and big comfy bed, wanted to stay another night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. We do try to go that extra mile. I shall pass on your comments to the appropriate departments. Our championship golf course is not only a beautiful setting, overlooking the South Downs, but is challenging. We have special golf packages from time to time....watch for one...

Essex
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed that when I went to bed at 2pm I noticed blood on the bed linen. This was not a stain that had not come out in the wash but fresh blood. I called reception and staff came along and changed the whole bed. I raised this with the hotel after my departure and the hotel take no responsibility...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Gill, As previously discussed, your room was cleaned the Sunday before you check-in on Friday for the tribute night. The guest rooms in the hotel are on a computer system which log the ins and out of each room. There is no activity on your room until Housekeeping did the room check the morning of your check-in. You checked...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my second visit here but I was disappointed this time. It's not cheap to stay here so expect a good standard. This time we were located in a different building to last time. Standards seemed to have slipped. We're tatty furniture in room see photo. But most shocking of all my friend was using hairdryer and I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sussy20
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Sussy, First I would like to apologize for the items you found not up to our standards in your room. That room should not have been used until it had been updated. I have had a discussion with our Health and Safety Manager and he is on top of the situation. I would like to have the opportunity to...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended this place by friends and it was spectacular, the course was in great condition, some outstanding holes and glorious sunshine. Food in the sports bar was good and drinks were quite expensive. Rooms were clean and comfy, would have liked to be able to open the window more but we had a fan so not all bad....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LocalBeauty
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and review. We are very proud of our championship course and facilities. So pleased you had a wonderful time here. We look forward to seeing you again. Our windows do have a safety catch, which may be discs-engaged, from inside the room. i am sorry this information was not given to you.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As usual a great location Beautifully laid out for our annual Christmas get together You can stay in the hotel and make a weekend of it and then use all the facilities and spa Thoroughly recommend this venue

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankiegallagher
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Frankie, Thank you for your review. We are pleased we could help you and your company have a great start to the holiday time! It looked to be a fun evening for all. Have a great Christmas!

hertfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to a wedding here. Very well organised and staff very helpful. The hotel is very large inside and a lot of bars to eat and drink in. The room was very large and very clean. I did not get a good nights sleep as I found the mattress and pillows very hard, but that's my preference as I prefer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireLouise
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Louise, We appreciate your review and comments. We hope we were able to help you and the wedding party have a wonderful memory on such a special day. We have a good number of special packages, so we hope to see you very soon.

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with a friend for a spa break. The hotel has really interesting decor which makes strolling around it nice. It has a couple of bars and restaurants as well as an on-site Starbucks. The room was really nicely decorated, very clean, comfortable and a good size. The spa itslef is a little spread out (pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahlew
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Sara, We really appreciate your review and very kind words concerning your recent stay here at Old Thorns. We do try our best to go above the mark in all areas. I shall discuss your comments with the rest of the team when we have our meeting. We hope to see you soon! Please let us know of any...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very poor WiFi connections, that repeatedly cut out. Food selection quite limited for vegetarians. Often very noisy. Comfortable room. Nice spa and pool facilities. Sports bar available with drinks/pub food throughout day, separate restaurant available for regular meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rainbowsendfrm1
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I shall pass on your comments to the hotel team. Our Sports Bar menu has 10 vegetarian items. The Kings Carvery always has a vegetarian soup, on the salad buffet we offer 12 - 20 vegetarian dishes depending on the day, and the hot buffet has 9 - 12 vegetables depending on the day. We...

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
977 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
442 reviews
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Price Range: £81 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, PitchUp, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
14 days ago
12 days ago
Southwick, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inspect the cleanliness of the bed linen on arrival, just to be sure it is clean.”
 of 5 bubbles GillH173, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are well sound proofed, I stayed on the ground floor and have no complaints. Lovely room”
 of 5 bubbles RichieS140, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Alice Building rooms very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Gazzapops, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the Alliss Suite are lovely and located in a close adjacent building - making them more quite.”
 of 5 bubbles gabaloo2016, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room above the ground floor not overlooking the car park”
 of 5 bubbles Roninnotts, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay