We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,145: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an overnight stay with a pamper package !!! Everything was perfect,,,,,, We had an amazing time,,,, Staff were brilliant, the accomodation and ameneties were exceptional,,,,, Also the food was good and gave us plenty of choices ..., The spa and treatments were again really good ..... Enjoyed every moment and hope to return soon !!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygrabber
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Oh how lovely of you to write such a nice review. We really appreciate your comments. I shall make sure the departments involved know of this. We hope you will visit us again very soon. We have fantastic Tribute packages which are promised to let you and friends have a wonderful time. See our web site for what is on...

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a wedding in the hotel. It is a big impersonal golfing hotel but that said had lots of good points. We were lucky, it seems, to have a room in the hotel itself, many of the rooms you have to go outside to, not ideal in winter. The room itself was good with a huge bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LEsussex
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We understand that everyone is unique and looks for their own specialties when deciding to stay overnight. We are pleased that you visited us and for such a special occasion. Our Sales and Banqueting teams do a very polished job from start to finish. As you mentioned, during spring and summer our hotel...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made the most of stay arrived early Friday afternoon couldnt check into till 3 but they stored cases , and we used pool steam room etc which was lovely and quite and relaxing They gave us room 250 there were 3 of us , we were given twin beds and a Z bed . I went to front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zacharyc21
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and comments! They are greatly appreciated. I shall make sure the staff and departments mentioned are informed. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay! We do try to go above the mark so the guests are happy. I am sorry to hear that the Vegetarian meal was not up to standards, I...

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not a lover of carvery's but having heard good things went along with an open mind, sadly this experience did nothing to change my view. The restaurant was very busy and little thought was given to making sure there was an orderly queue for getting your meal. Consequently some of our party had almost finished their meal before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback be it positive or negative, as it helps us to grow and adapt to our guest’s needs. Every week we hold a meeting to go through all the customer comments that we have received. This is so that all our teams are aware of how we have performed from...

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights with friends, the room was clean and tidy but we both had two good nights sleep, also on our first night we went into the restaurant which was virtually empty, and upon being shown to our table we asked the waitress for a menu which had only 3 options were available one of which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul7715
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your comments and review! We are very pleased you both had a relaxing time for this very special occasion. Also, pleased you enjoyed our New Years Eve Ball. I shall pass on your comments to the appropriate departments. Very sorry that the part of the menu you requested was not available at that time. Have...

Paisley, Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our son and his family, who live locally, booked Boxing Day lunch for our party of twelve which included 3 Scots, 4 Australians and 3 young boys. Our enjoyment started as soon as we entered the beautifully decorated hotel's entrance and were welcomed then escorted to our table by a friendly staff member. Drinks and coffees were served at our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank granPaisley
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and comments. We are very happy you and your guest enjoyed the Old Thorns experience. Our goal is to go that extra mile for the guests. We hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future! Have a great New Year!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights, all the staff were really friendly and very welcoming, a true credit to the place. Hotel was really quite empty making the experience a lot more peaceful. The spa Treatment was really relaxing it's exactly what we wanted. Our package included a carvery witch was especially good. My girlfriend had an allergy which they were perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WightJosh
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Josh, We really appreciate your review and comments concerning your recent spa stay at Old Thorns. I shall pass on your comments to the departments mentioned. Our Spa is very popular and bookings are going through the roof. Our facilities are quite extensive when you include the Wellness Center. We look forward to seeing you again. Please let us...

Milton Keynes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on the night of 17th December for my brothers wedding, at first we had a job trying to book, every time we phoned reservations did not answer, so we got put through to reception. We were told that someone would ring back but on 2 occassions they failed to, we then phoned again and on the third...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julespmk
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our Breakfast. I am happy that we were able to accommodate an early check-in for one room. Our normal check-in is 3:00 pm. We do try to do the best we can with room availability. On that weekend we were fully booked, and had been...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The experience of Old Thorns started when I contacted the events office and spoke to Tracy, who could not have been more professional, kind and helpful. This attitude was carried forward to when I arrived at the hotel, with the warmth and kindness of the staff. Throughout my three night stay everything was first class, my room, the food, entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevo1805Sal
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely and thoughtful comments about your recent stay at Old Thorns. We are very pleased you have a wonderful memory for Christmas 2016. I shall pass on your comments to the appropriate people and departments. We hope to see you before next Christmas! Please let us know of any special requests when you make...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went there as a large group for our Christmas party, the dining area was gorgeously decorated and they even had a magician come round the tables doing tricks, food was delicious and staff were incredible! Couldn't fault them. Whole night was a blast from start to finish, cocktail bar was amazing and had some lovely drinks before heading up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammi2552
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Tammi, Thank you for your very kind comments and nice review. We are pleased that we could help make a special Christmas for you and your party! I shall pass on your comments to the departments involved. We look forward to seeing you again. Please let us know of any special requests you may have.

246 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
991 reviews
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
22.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Price Range: £82 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Ringwood, United Kingdom
6 days ago
1 month ago
Southwick, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a room actually in the hotel, outside room are across the carpark”
 of 5 bubbles LEsussex, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our rooms were located on the Ground Floor and the view from our room looked onto any part of the building which was not ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles Paul7715, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay over but if the Splendid location and appearance are anything to go by then the rooms should be very cosy too.”
 of 5 bubbles notimpressedeasily, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Inspect the cleanliness of the bed linen on arrival, just to be sure it is clean.”
 of 5 bubbles GillH173, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are well sound proofed, I stayed on the ground floor and have no complaints. Lovely room”
 of 5 bubbles RichieS140, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay