We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Forest Lodge

Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (359)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (205)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 9 hotels in Lyndhurst
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Northerwood Estate, Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from the ‘capital’ of the New Forest, there’s plenty of walks from the door and an array of boutique shops just a short stroll away. The restaurant’s chic interior and the team’s relaxed, friendly approach to service creates a warm and inviting space for a casual dining experience whilst prime hand-cut steaks. Stylishly decorated, rooms are comfortable, modern and ideal for both long or short getaways. The large indoor, heated swimming pool is also a big attraction and is exclusively for hotel guests. Family friendly, dogs are welcome too.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1,485Review9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 605
  • 494
  • 224
  • 110
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
179debbiev wrote a review 8 Apr
7 contributions4 helpful votes
Fabulous stay, absolutely perfect location for walks in the forest, pubs, cafés etc, we didn't need to get in the car all weekend! Lovely room, comfortable bed, very quiet too. Room had bottle of water, glasses, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits plus some homemade shortbread which was a nice touch. Staff are brilliant, all so friendly, helpful, attentive, polite. Pool was nice, plenty of towels, 2 changing rooms with shower, toilet and sink in each one so we were able to use the pool on arrival before checking in as we were early. The hotel has lots of comfy seating areas including a quiet lounge which is great if you want to sit away from any dogs/children! Prices at the hotel for drinks need to be more competitive, I know there is usually a mark up on alcohol but no bottles of wine under £26, a bottle of red was £33 which we could buy in the pub a few steps away for £19!! Breakfast is top notch, huge choice plus extras to order from the menu too. Only down points would be that it was really hot in the hotel, heating on constant, made it a bit uncomfortable, plus our towel rail in the bathroom could not be turned off so it was way too hot!! A few bits of updating in room needed but overall a fab stay and we will definitely be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Turn down the heating, have towel rails that you can turn of!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ianjanos65 wrote a review 6 Apr
Fleet, United Kingdom87 contributions52 helpful votes
Special treat from our kids was rather disappointing. Sat at a tiny table in the corner, squashed against curtains in what was a very depressing room. We were the only ones in there, makes you wonder why. They charge enough so you would think they have a better room than this. Food very very average, 100% overpriced for what it cost, feel our kids have really wasted their hard earned money. Scones were hard & tasteless. The tea was the best part. We wouldn’t recommend purchasing afternoon tea at this hotel, save your money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid, not the best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Natalie Hayes wrote a review Mar 2024
Thatcham3 contributions
Good location, our room was cheap , so we felt like we got what we paid for, not expecting luxury. All a bit tired around the edges, but good as a base to get your head down. Receptionist and staff were very friendly. Pool was good and we were the only ones in it. We were tired from exploring/swimming and so stayed at the hotel to eat - they claimed to have the best pizza in Lyndhurst on their website, ended up paying £16 for a small frozen pizza - which was disappointing, but we'd just go to the high street for food if we stayed again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Forest GM, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Wicksy15, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a balanced review of your recent stay, I am glad that you were able to enjoy your time away using Forest lodge as your base for your time in the New Forest. All feedback is valuable and I will certainly take on board your points for improvement and indeed am already working on improving the hotel tin these areas. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ljacks409604 wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
excellent service all round,lovely place to stay,we had a nightmare with our previous hotel so booked here at the last minute which i'm glad to say was the best thing we done. right from when we first arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. will definitey return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Forest GM, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ljacks409604, It was a pleasure welcoming you to Forest lodge and helping you to celebrate your birthday. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, the team remembered you fondly when they read it and all look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sassenach91 wrote a review Mar 2024
West Molesey, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
I would say this hotel is comfortable like your home. Ok the skirting boards need a scrub, the lampshades need a good dust, but it didn't affect our stay. We felt at ease, not like a stuffy hotel. I wouldn't pay anymore. The price was on point. The staff were beyond friendly and the hotel truly loves it's doggy guests. You can leave your car and walk through the New Forest and local village of Lyndhurst. Lots of local eateries. I would stay again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Forest GM, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sassenach91, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at Forest Lodge, I am sorry that some areas did not meet your expectations and our team are working hard to improve this. We definitely do love our doggy guests they are part of your family and always welcoming to join you when you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back again next time you visit the New Forest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alz4271 wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom22 contributions12 helpful votes
Lovely hotel with a nice pool area and very friendly helpful staff. It was ideally positioned for walking to lyndhurst. The room was pleasant with a good outlook, it could have done with a little freshening up especially in the bathroom and a fridge would have been nice. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice but rather slow ( I believe there was only one chef on that night). The bar area was cosy. We would definatly book here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Forest GM, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Alz4271, It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal, I am sorry that you felt the service slow but I hope that the food was worth the wait. We love our central new forest location too and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RollerCoaster999 wrote a review Mar 2024
Portsmouth, United Kingdom383 contributions327 helpful votes
This hotel epitomises that you can’t rely on websites for assessing a hotel. When we first arrived, my wife and I thought that it looked like a retirement home. We weren’t far wrong with the interior and lack of atmosphere. We had a deluxe room which was musty and a view of the car park and some pulldown bunkbeds which were stacked up against the wall. The radiators were broken and one of them wouldn’t work Bathrooms showed many signs of wear and we pulled back the bed covers there was an empty biscuit packet. staff are friendly enough, but if you’re used to staying in nice locations and modern hotels you’ll be very disappointed . It is definitely not a four star. It’s also dog friendly which is okay, but the rooms, carpets and curtains etc had that aroma . It will suit some people but wasn’t for us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask to see the room when you arrive before you settle in
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Forest GM, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear RollerCoaster999, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at Forest lodge. I am sorry that we were not for you and for the errors made by our housekeeping team when making your bed. There is no such thing as bad feedback and we have certainly taken on board your comments and will use them in our continuous aim for improvement.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dean S wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions
Only stayed for one night on our anniversary but loved it. Very unique hotel with great staff, bar, dining and facilities which includes a swimming pool and sauna. A short walk from Lyndhurst which was great. Also ample parking including charging stations for electric cars.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Forest GM, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DeanS1778, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay and anniversary celebration with us at Forest lodge it is great to see that you had such a good time with us and as we do loved our fantastic location and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you find yourself in the New Forest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
paul h wrote a review Mar 2024
Tiverton, United Kingdom30 contributions16 helpful votes
Very nice comfortable hotel with good service . Location of the hotel in the forest is good with easy access to places of interest entertainment in the area. Plenty of parking space at the hotel and lots of local entertainment for all ages and abilities. P
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Forest GM, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Paul h, It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay at Forest lodge, thank you for taking the tome to leave such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next New Forest adventure.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
anthonysU3151CG wrote a review Mar 2024
Maldon, United Kingdom3 contributions
Avoid room 30 at all costs. NO hot water from wash basin and bath. Antiquated Plumbing system not fit for purpose. Would not recommend this hotel or stay here again. Very disappointed . There was also lots of door banging through the night and early ours and also a Dog barking! ( What's that all about!!!)☹️
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Forest GM, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear anthonysU3151CG I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you were hoping, however I am very grateful that you have taken the time to leave feedback for us as it allows us to know what our guests are thinking and gives us the opportunity to put things right that we may have missed, such as a damaged door closer near room 30 which has now been repaired and hot water issues which our maintenance team have also addressed. Regarding dogs barking, we are a pet friendly hotel and warmly welcome well behaved dogs to stay with us. I am sorry that you were disturbed by one of these guests and would urge that should this happen again you let our team know so that the disturbance can be addressed and we can help to ensure you have a restful and undisturbed remainder of the night.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lyndhurst area.
PRICE RANGE
£104 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western forest lodge hotel lyndhurst, best western lyndhurst, lyndhurst best western, best western forest hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireLyndhurst
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FOREST LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Lyndhurst)

Frequently Asked Questions about Forest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Forest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include St Michael & All Angels Church, Lyndhurst (0.3 miles), Down To The Wood (0.3 miles), and Lyndhurst Antiques Centre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Forest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Forest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Forest Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Forest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Renoufs (Lyndhurst), The Forage, and Peggy Mays Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Forest Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Forest Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Lyndhurst.
Are any cleaning services offered at Forest Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Forest Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Forest Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Forest Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eling Tide Mill Experience (4.8 miles) and Rufus Stone (2.9 miles).