Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Penny Farthing Hotel

Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AA England
Traveller (61)
renovated bedroom
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£113
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£136
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£136
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 9 hotels in Lyndhurst
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Penny Farthing Hotel is ideally situated just off the High Street in Lyndhurst Village Centre, a minute's walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs. Southampton 15/20mins east, Bournemouth and Christchurch 30mins west. We have a variety of rooms all have en-suite facilities, TV and tea/coffee tray. A comfortable lounge and licensed bar, private car park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Hiking
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Express check-in / check-out
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
311Reviews1Q+A61Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 144
  • 111
  • 39
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Eleanor W wrote a review Feb 2020
28 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 3 night stay in late January. The staff are so friendly and helpful and genuinely care. If you want ultra modern clean lines, this is not the place for you. If you want immaculately clean rooms, caring staff and a good breakfast with locally sourced produce, and access to a bar area in the evenings, in a central location, we highly recommend this place.

We had a lovely spacious family room where coffee, tea and biscuits were topped up and new towels on a daily basis with the room always clean. The accommodation is great value for money and the staff could not be more friendly or accommodating. Highly recommended. This was our second stay and we will be back. Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms at the back as you are on a main road, but it only gets busy during rush hour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pennyfarthinghotel, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear FF7165 Thank you for your five star review it is greatly appreciated.We are happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, i will pass your nice comments onto the team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Susan & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ross837524 wrote a review Nov 2021
Maidstone, United Kingdom16 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a three night stay at this hotel and was very pleasantly surprised, although an old building the room was spotlessly clean and bed was really comfortable and the stairs are not too steep as has been suggested, we are in our late 60s and had no trouble with them. The full english breakfast was superbly cooked every morning and there were alternatives available if you wanted them. For the price this is a hotel well worth staying at, and being off the high street is reasonably quiet at night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Dear Ross, Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met all aspects of your stay.We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Susan & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul wrote a review Mar 2020
Fleet, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Every year or two we meet up for a reunion as we all worked together for a number of years.
There were 6 of us ages ranging from 42 to 77
We chose to stay in the 2 cottages ( 6 bedrooms) that the hotel offered .
When we arrived the staff were very very welcoming.
The well stocked bar was open and the prices were very competitive
We we all able to sit in the lounge and enjoy the rugby and beer
The breakfast was outstanding and was served by staff that were most attentive.
When we have our reunions we do not normally go back to the same hotel but we certainly will come back here .
Lyndhurst the town has a great selection of restaurants to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pennyfarthinghotel, Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Clockwork123. On behalf of the whole Team, I would like to thank you for your valued review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your reunion with us at the penny. I will pass you nice comments onto our team. Looking forward to welcome you back on a future occasion. Susan & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marina W wrote a review Aug 2020
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom68 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 pleasant nights at the Penny Farthing hotel. All Covid 19 precautions in place - breakfast is pre-ordered the night before, you are allocated a time to go into the breakfast room and you are allocated a table.
We were in a room near the road, traffic noise meant you couldn't have a window open at night. On our last night there was a 'herd of elephants in the room above ours.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear Marina, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pennyfarthng hotel.we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Susan & the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Garry L wrote a review Mar 2020
Sutton, United Kingdom71 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We did a mini tour around southern England and we ended up at two nights at the Penny Farthing B+B.
When I made the booking, I spoke to Wendy on the telephone, explained it is my Wife's birthday and she suggested to have a meal at the Waterloo Arms, about 5-7 mins walk away.
We we did arrive we were shown to our room, and Wendy explained times and where things are, and places in Lyndhurst.
The breakfast was ideal, choice of different types, full english, half english, vegy etc. Just about right for setting up the day.
The next day we met Sue who worked at the B+B. Again very helpful and polite.
I like to say a BIG thank you to Wendy and Sue for making our stay and especially my Wife's birthday special.
Many thanks, and hope to be back again.
Garry & Sue
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a room at the back if possible, the main road does get busy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pennyfarthinghotel, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear Garry, On behalf of the whole Team, I would like to thank you for your valued review.I am please that you found our team member to be very helpful and that our breakfast was an ideal choice. We are delighted we made your wife birthday that little bit more special. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Susan & the team:)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sue p wrote a review Jun 2021
reading2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked one of the flats in April to be taken last weekend (18/19 June 2021)
For 4 women friends as a 50 th birthday get together
On Monday 14th June they began one of many attempts to cancel our booking as they wanted to put a family into the flat on the Friday and another different family on the Saturday.
They started off saying they had accidentally double booked but admitted that it wasn’t the case ( can only assume they were getting more money for the rooms with the other bookings)
After I refused to cancel our booking as it would be impossible to find another place at such short notice they offered me 2 double rooms and told me they would cancel other guests to do this!!!
They also promised to place a table and chairs in one room so we didn’t have to sit on the beds.
On arrival there was no table and chairs and 2 cheap bottles of wine as a sorry!!
Saturday morning woken abruptly buy someone showering upstairs and water pipes so loud thought someone was drilling outside!!
We had to book breakfast at a specific time to avoid too many people in the dining room.
Not a problem except when turning up to eat at designated time there was no room and offered breakfast in the corridor outside of dining room!!
The owners daughter then spoke to us and apologised for letting us down so badly and said her mum (manager ) would be ringing me on Monday after our weekend to offer compensation of another weekend in a flat.
No communication whatsoever from anyone
Very dissatisfied and disappointed with false promises and hollow apologies.
Restaurant staff were great and lovely breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2021
Dear sue, I was informed about your booking and what had happened, as you were informed i was in hospital and would be back on the Monday and i would make contact with you. Unfortunately my operation took me longer to get over so i am back at the business now catching up on many things.I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by our self's and i will be in touch with you over the coming week regarding your stay. Kind Regards Susan & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy M wrote a review Jul 2022
Abingdon, United Kingdom71 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Penny Farthing from the 24th-26th June & we chose it because it was dog friendly & for its location.

Staff were really friendly & approachable, our dog really appreciated her sausage at breakfast time, I think she’s wondering why she doesn’t get one every morning now we’re back at home!

We stayed on the top floor at the front of the hotel and our room was spacious & spotlessly clean, you couldn’t tell that dogs had been in there previously. The bed was also really comfy!
I’m a very light sleeper so was worried about road noise after reading the reviews but I honestly slept the best I had in a long time. Yes the road is noisy but only in the daytime, by the time we got home from a day out & went out for dinner around 6 the road was pretty much clear with just the odd car passing so it really wasn’t a problem.

The hotel is around a 1-2 minute walk onto the main high street where there are an abundance of dog friendly cafes/pubs/restaurants.

Breakfast was delicious! A small continental buffet and a choice of cooked breakfasts, all piping hot & cooked to perfection.

There is car parking at the rear & plenty of it, we never struggled to park at all. There is also a small grass area for your dogs morning & bedtime wees/poos. No fault of the hotel here but we took our dog out for a wee & were disappointed that someone hadn’t picked up their dogs poo! I picked it up but there aren’t many places as dog friendly as the Penny Farthing and people not being responsible ruins that for the dog owners that are.

We had a wonderful stay & we really enjoyed every minute. We have already recommended a few people to stay for a dog friendly break. We will 100% be returning, maybe even before the end of the year.
Thankyou for a lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Lucy Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.I will pass on your nice comments to the team. Kind regards Susan & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rosscojuk wrote a review Dec 2023
Stockport, United Kingdom28 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve just returned from a stay here. We were in a “cottage” (it’s a flat), called Mad Hatter 2.

Positives:
Location
Friendly staff at check in
Beds and bedding clean
Towels clean

Negatives:
Very dated interior, especially for the price (not worth over six hundred pounds for 3 nights)
Dishwasher absolutely disgusting
Fridge not as bad, but not clean enough
Plates and cutlery covered in dried food
Bin lid disgusting
Bathroom stinks of mould and damp
Main Road is very noisy, triple glazed windows would be great

I travel a lot all over the country and abroad, both for work and pleasure. My expectations were not met based on price vs product.

This trip was organised so we could visit family, but the accommodation put a real downer on things. I would not visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Dear Ross. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. We did try to resolve it and room move you to another cottage. Kind Regards Susan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana D wrote a review Jul 2021
Ashford, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was on top floor up steep stairs as we are in our 60s we struggled going up and down we wasn't told this when we booked. The room was so hot even though we had a fan on we hardly slept and the ensuite was so small we could hardly fit in the shower cubicle. The breakfast was small and overcooked and only had a choice of either cereals or cooked breakfast not both and only allowed 30 mins I'm a slow eater as I suffer with acute indigestion I felt uncomfortable and pressured. I paid £91. 00 for our nights stay I feel so disappointed. Only good comment is the lady on the reception desk was friendly and hard working.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2021
Dear Diana, I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the penny.Did you inform reception you were unhappy with your room as we would have room moved you if the availability was there.The 30 minute slots are there to keep you and all our guests safe in these difficult time.If you informed us about your acute indigestion we could have made a change to your breakfast sitting & time.This is all new to us too, as we are all trying very hard to deliver great customer service and to keep our guests safe in these uncertain times. Kind Regards Susan & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights
Great location right next to Lyndhurst shops and cafes and meant we could park at the hotel which was great.
I spoke to Wendy on the phone to book my room she was so welcoming and kind, she also booked us in, she was lovely. Inside the hotel there is a lovely seating area with leather sofas.
We checked in at 2pm our room was nice with a nice bed and pine furniture so lots of room to put your items. Lovely and clean. Very quiet so had a good sleep and had 2 fans in our room which was very appreciated as it was warm.
The hotel is dog friendly and we walked our dog through the hotel and into our room and some little dog treats were left on the side so this was lovely. We took our dog into the restaurant to have breakfast and was then told they weren’t allowed in there so ate our breakfast outside with the dog. I asked for them to let others know about this and maybe they need more tables and chairs outside so this is easier for others. Breakfast was a little small 1 of each item and you pre order this the night before, good choice of juices.
Check out is 10.30. Good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2020
Dear Sderry, We are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us,unfortually we are unable to pernitt dogs into our reasturant as this is the policy of the hotel.I will pass your nice comments onto the team.We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Susan & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay F asked a question Oct 2014
Corringham, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
Is it pet friendly?
Answer from pennyfarthinghotel
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hello Kay Thank you for your inquiry, we now accept pets in our apartments/cottages. For the best rates please call the hotel directly. Kind regards, Susan General manager
Derek G wrote a tip Jul 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel has its own car park and is well positioned for touring the new forest "
Read full review
Deb G wrote a tip Jul 2023
12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure to fully explore the area, especially the White Rabbit for a meal "
Read full review
Mike P wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great hotel, and in a very good location, whether you like walking, or a little stroll to very nice bars and restaurants "
Read full review
Kevin R wrote a tip Jun 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Speak to staff for local information."
Read full review
qseanq2018 wrote a tip Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"free parking, wi fi and breakfast, what more can you ask for"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lyndhurst area.
PRICE RANGE
£88 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireLyndhurst
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PENNY FARTHING HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Lyndhurst)

Frequently Asked Questions about Penny Farthing Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Penny Farthing Hotel?
Nearby attractions include New Forest National Park (0.2 miles), The New Forest Heritage Centre (0.2 miles), and Page’s of Lyndhurst (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Penny Farthing Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Penny Farthing Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Penny Farthing Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Penny Farthing Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Renoufs (Lyndhurst), The Forage, and Peggy Mays Cafe.
Is Penny Farthing Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Lyndhurst.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Penny Farthing Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Penny Farthing Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eling Tide Mill Experience (4.8 miles) and Rufus Stone (3.1 miles).
All Lyndhurst HotelsLyndhurst Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LyndhurstHotels near Penny Farthing Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire