We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Master Builder's House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Master Builder\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

858 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Master Builder's House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 853: English reviews
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We have stayed here on a number of occasions, and it's always been great. We always ask for Agamemnon because it has a fabulous view. The food isn't amazing, and restaurant often not busy. However, on our last visit there was a tasting menu which was really good. As we're vegetarians, they adapted the menu for us. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful feedback and it is especially lovely to hear that we are one of your favourites! We have recently appointed a new Executive Chef who has made exciting changes to our restaurant menu and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to welcoming...

Cambridge Uk
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We enjoyed a night at the Master Builder and we're lucky enough to have room 20 with the most fantastic dual aspect view of the river. Service was excellent in every way. The restaurant was exceptional, dinner supurb, as was the English breakfast. I was in the area on business and so glad a friend recommended we stay. A really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marypa
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am thrilled that the whole team made such an impact during your recent stay. Our guest would agree that It is the perfect bolt hole whilst conducting business in the area! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Clive Watts

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Rooms and a cottage - all excellent - bar perfect - beer and food. Location spot-on. Will definitely be back. Restaurant - waste of space - booked saturday night for a birthday meal - stupid menu and they couldn't serve the bar menu in there - unbelievable Jeff. Just ate in bar which was probably more atmospheric. Breakfast steep if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makingprogress
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback and I am thrilled you rate us one of your Top Ten hotels in the UK. Our Bar and Restaurant are two separate eatery operations with their own kitchen's & teams. We feel that this offers our guests the opportunity to enjoy both an informal meal or a 'foodie experience' during their stay with us....

Reviewed 17 January 2017

We were guests of friends celebrating a significant birthday. It was a very good occasion - but there was one problem - there are no disabled-friendly loos. The friendly staff encouraged our hosts to bring in a raised seat - but it took up too much room, and didn't help. The staff arranged for us to enter the hotel via...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clifford W
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Clifford, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your friends birthday with us. Our easy access toilet is located near our Reception/Bar Area which you can reach directly from the car park. I am pleased to hear that our staff ensured that your friend was assisted to reach the other...

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Great place to spend a leisurely Sunday lunch, great views over the beaulieu river. Very friendly helpful staff, excellent wine selection at reasonable prices. Lovely decor and ambiance. Evening menu very nice, couple it with an overnight stay and enjoy the walk along the river to Beaulieu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Clive Watts

Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Stayed for a second time at the Master Builders for a single night on the evening of 7/01/17. We visit Lymington each January to drop off sails from our boat at a local sailmaker for service, and enjoy staying in the Master Builders. The bar of the hotel is one of my favourites anywhere in the world- it always has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bitbaltic
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoy coming to visit us and that you found our newly refurbished rooms to your liking. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your restaurant experience. We have recently appointed a new chef who has made exciting changes to our menu...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I do not recommend this hotel for a single person having booked a Xmas break as a single person, even giving the name on my debit card as MISS I was quite hurt that the Xmas card in my room was addressed to Mr and Mrs. I was totally ignored waiting to go into the restaurant as i was eventually...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gooselet
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I would like to take the opportunity again to apologise for the catalogue of administrative errors that the team made during your recent visit. We pride ourselves on ensuring all our guests have a wonderful experience whilst staying with us and I am genuinely disappointed that you did not...

buckfastleigh
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Our 4th festive visit to MB and have allready booked for next year,staff fantastic,food great with nothing too much trouble,will be trying to get up there again in summer.Fantastic area for walkers and its just so peacefull,we always stay in the old part of the hotel as love quirky low ceiling warm and invitiing rooms dont do modern.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon l
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It is always so lovely to hear that we have made such a great impression you have booked for this coming Christmas already! I look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

It's location is a little off the beaten track You can go on a lovely 2 mile walk along the river into Beaulieu, else just relax in the hotel/bar with a book and glass of wine The rooms are high quality, light and perfectly equipped (nespresso coffee, walk-in power shower etc) We were on the New Year package, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve_N1059
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing New Year with us. Thank you for your great comments regarding all aspects of your stay. It is especially lovely to read that our Hospitality exceeded expectations. We do hope you will visit again soon.

worcestershire
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

On a return visit for Christmas at the master builders, as last year I visited A&E and then thanks to the painkillers Christmas was a blur, this year however it was special, we had fabulous food, the staff go out of their way to make it special, without being intrusive, it was faultless for us, and no cooking and mountains,of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moonmin_troll
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. I am pleased to hear that you managed to put your feet up this year and enjoy a lovely Christmas break with us. Hopefully we will see you again this coming Christmas!

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
5.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
746 reviews
1.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,115 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,648 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its stunning location in the New Forest overlooking the Beaulieu River, this historic hotel at Buckler's Hard offers a relaxing stay of quirky but affordable luxury. Tuck into a pint and a snack in the Yachtsman's Bar & Gardens, or treat yourself to a sumptuous meal in the Riverside Restaurant. Most importantly, relax and enjoy every minute of your time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Master Builder's House Hotel

Address: Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Price Range: £94 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Master Builder's House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Master Builder's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Builders Hotel
The Master Builder's House Hotel Beaulieu, New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Master Builder's House Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Master Builder's House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a river view”
855gregp, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dog rooms are of a very good quality. Dogs can be taken into breakfast and the bar area but not the main restaurant. Make enquiries.”
NicolaLevett, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the Henry Adams wing , very short walk away from the main areas so nice and quiet.”
LikeholidaysOxford, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms in the Henry Adams wing, whilst not over-spacious, are beautifully presented and peaceful.”
orinocokid, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We took physically impaired parents.Our fault as forgot to inquire about bathrooms. Shower was in bath.”
bobj297, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5