We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Down Hall Hotel & SPA

Matching Road, Hatfield Heath, Bishops Stortford CM22 7AS England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1685)
Dining (140)
Room & Suite (71)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Hatfield Heath
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Down Hall Hotel, Spa & Estate is one of England's most established country house hotels. Located in Hatfield Heath, near Bishop's Stortford on the Hertfordshire and Essex border, Down Hall Hotel & Spa is 45 minutes from central London and ideally located near London Stansted Airport which is only 9 miles away. Dating back to 1322, the impressive Italianate mansion is an historic setting and has had an eight million pound refurbishment in 2017. The hotel's grand interiors, ornate ceilings and abundance of natural daylight combine to make Down Hall Hotel & Spa an experience like no other. The restaurant and bar offer relaxed, high quality dining in an informal setting. The boutique spa has four treatment rooms, ESPA products, a hydrotherapy pool, a steam room and sauna. The 18 meeting rooms vary in size and combined with the 110 acres of ground, ensure that Down Hall Hotel, Spa & Estate is the perfect venue for any event.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Raquetball
Patio
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
2800Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,195
  • 760
  • 428
  • 234
  • 183
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ljn92 wrote a review 25 Feb
3 contributions
We attend afternoon tea. The food, drinks and service from Jane was incredible. The portion sizes for each of the sandwiches, scones and desserts are well balanced with a great variety of favours. Highly recommend with great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver La Rose, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded today
Dear Ljn1992, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to Jane. Wishing you a wonderful day ahead and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tom H wrote a review 24 Feb
Carlisle, United Kingdom2 contributions
Excellent service, beautiful hotel. A real gem. The rooms and big and comfy and the whole hotel oozes class. Facilities are top notch. We had a buffet meal for a work do and the quality of food was brilliant. Staff were very kind and always on hand to help.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from June N, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 2 days ago
Dear tomharrison94, Thank you for your amazing review, which I will pass on to the teams, who will be so pleased. We are so thrilled that you had a brilliant service from our teams, as we thrive on 100% customer service at Down Hall! We are so happy that you enjoyed our scrumptious food and drinks and had a memorable time. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Kindest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JacquelineBoudier wrote a review 23 Feb
London, United Kingdom56 contributions24 helpful votes
Lovely country hotel set in stunning grounds. Hotel is dog friendly with fantastic rooms with French doors opening directly into the grounds. Dogs are welcome in the bar & lounge area so was lovely to have drinks & food without having to leave him in the room
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from June N, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Jacqueline J, Thank you for your amazing review, which I will be sure to pass on to the teams! We are so thrilled that you were able to enjoy our stunning grounds, with your beautiful doggie.! We are looking forward to welcoming you and your lovely four legged friend back to Down Hall! Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
IMsw6 wrote a review 23 Feb
London, United Kingdom7 contributions
Attractive and well maintained premises - a few potholes in the drive and car park aside - with good facilities. What struck me immediately was the quality of the staff. Good bar and sitting areas with a reasonable restaurant. The rooms we had were a good size, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from June N, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 2 days ago
Dear IMsw6, Thank you for your lovely review, which I will pass on to the teams who will be very happy. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms, and wonderful bar and restaurant! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Down Hall soon! Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
7s3vr3splr wrote a review 23 Feb
Colchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Booked last minute and would happily return to this hotel for further stay. Having much experience of hotels and events in a corporate capacity, I would recommend this hotel both for this purpose but also for leisure stays.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from June N, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 3 days ago
Good Evening 7s3vr3spir, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had an amazing stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel and facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin H wrote a review 21 Feb
Oxford, United Kingdom30 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Really great 3 day stay for the first time. The best thing about the hotel is the food which is of very high quality. It appears at first with the starters to be very ‘nouvelle cuisine’, but the individual tastes are wonderful. The main courses and puddings are more substantial. We also very much enjoyed the freshly cooked and wide ranging breakfasts with local produce. The hotels has had a lot of recent areas that have been refurbished and in fact the newly decorated and fitted out lounge was opened the day before we arrived. The recent bar and evening restaurant have also been recently refurbished and were very comfortable with unusual but rather beautiful contemporary decoration. The staff were very pleasant indeed always very attentive and asking if you had everything that you needed. We thought some of the staff were very new and may have needed a little more training/awareness, but I am sure that will come with time and experience. Our room was large and comfortable with a great bathroom and shower. It was perhaps getting a little tired and the decor quite dark, but it had a lovely view over the grounds. Cleaned well and beds changed every two days if you stay longer than that. A few minor details that would just help with a little smoother experience. Water glasses needed in all room, other than the usual bathroom ones for toothpaste etc as fresh cooled tap water was provided in bottles in the fridge with nothing to drink it from. No drinks in the fridge , even in the superior rooms ?? Tap water at the tables in the restaurant, why did we have to wait for the waiters to fill them up rather than having a jug or bottle on the table ? Small milk jugs needed in the breakfast area rather than having to fill up a glass to use at the table for extra drinks etc. The Eden Spa which is on site is not included in the hospitality packages but it cost £28 per person for a minimum 2 hour slot to use a hydro pool and a steam room and sauna. We felt this was rather steep as in three days we felt that we could only visit it once. This was partly due to the price, but also because we didn’t always want to spend two hours at a time in the spa. Of course a swimming pool would really complete the package, but there isn’t one. We hope this is useful as we really did enjoy our stay overall.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book your spa slot ahead of time directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver La Rose, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 5 days ago
Dear KevinH837, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased you had a great stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our teams, the Chefs will be happy to hear you loved the food. It is great you were able to see our recently refurbished Main Lounge and enjoy our comfortable Bar. Also, thank you for your feedback regarding the Spa, water glasses and jugs; it is appreciated and will be reviewed to hopefully make your experience even smoother in the future. Hoping to welcome you back soon! Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
beachloverHerts wrote a review 20 Feb
Hatfield, United Kingdom36 contributions25 helpful votes
We could not fault anything at all with Down Hall. The building is absolutely stunning, as are the grounds. The interior is breathtaking. Every room is quirkily and elegantly designed differently. The staff give five star service with a smile. They seem happy to work there and have personalities which we find quite rare. Not just robots doing a good job. Check in with Charlotte was flawless. I wish I noted the names of other staff to commend too. Our executive deluxe double was beautiful with pale neutral colours and extremely spacious with a very comfy bed and crisp cotton linen. Breakfast was delicious, piping hot and nothing too much trouble for the plentiful staff. Eggs to order? No problem. We will definitely be back. If I am pushed to find one fault it is the treacherous lethal potholes in the long sweeping driveway which could have easily ruined my suspension had I not swerved in time!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver La Rose, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 5 days ago
Dear beachloverHerts, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you were able to explore the building and the grounds! Thank you for your amazing comments on the staff, we all appreciate it and I will be sure to pass on your lovely words to Charlotte and the other teams; our Chefs will be pleased you enjoyed the breakfast. You are right in saying that we are all happy to work here! It is great that you loved your Executive Deluxe Double room, our bedrooms also have different and elegant designs, so maybe you can try another one next time! Also thank you for your feedback on the driveway, we are having a look into it. Hoping to welcome you back again! Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
loretta wrote a review 20 Feb
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
A wonderful stay in a wonderful newly refurbished room. The food was freshly prepared and so exquisitely served. Nothing was too much trouble for the waiters. All members of staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was comfortable and memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is plentiful and free.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver La Rose, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Camper39793115796, Thank you for writing a wonder review for us. We are pleased you loved one of our newly refurbished rooms and the food made by our great Kitchen team. I trust you were able to see our astounding newly refurbished Main Lounge also. The team members will be happy to hear your lovely comments on their service! Hoping to see you again soon. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jaimeysuleyman wrote a review 20 Feb
1 contribution
Food was terrible, we booked the valentines experience - four course dinner and was extremely dissatisfied. Starter was scallops with bacon, chewy and disappointing. Main was duo of beef, which was not served with any sides, just a carrot and carrot puree, desserts was cheese, chocolate ganache or assiette of desserts, what we didnt know was that if you chose the assiette, you’d have to share?! Hotel room was freezing cold, bar staff look like they can’t be bothered to be there, and have no idea which are “house” drinks or how to make cocktails on offer. The eden wet spa was fully booked both days, so no option to use that unfortunately.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver La Rose, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr Suleyman, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were dissatisfied with the Valentines dinner, we do our best to accommodate everyone's preferences. Regarding the room temperature, we would have been happy to assist in either turning on the heating or moving you to a new room if we were made aware. Wishing you a wonderful day ahead. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sreyna176204 wrote a review 20 Feb
1 contribution
Down Hall is an amazing Manor House set in beautiful grounds. The staff are very attentive and friendly. The rooms are the perfect size and very comfortable. The food, both dinner and breakfast were amazing. Lots of choice for breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver La Rose, Guest Services / Front Office at Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Responded 5 days ago
Dear sreyna176204, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and were able to explore our beautiful grounds. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the teams, the Chefs will definitely be happy to hear you loved their food. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hatfield Heath area.
PRICE RANGE
£121 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
down hall country hotel, down hall hotel, hotel down hall country
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Down Hall Country House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireBishops StortfordHatfield Heath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOWN HALL HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews (Hertfordshire)

Frequently Asked Questions about Down Hall Hotel & SPA
Which popular attractions are close to Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Nearby attractions include The Pinball Office (2.3 miles), Skill at Arms (3.7 miles), and Pets' Corner (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moorhen - Pub & Grill, The Green Man Restaurant, and The Orange Tree.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Down Hall Hotel & SPA offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Down Hall Hotel & SPA?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mountfitchet Castle (7.4 miles), Kelvedon Hatch Secret Nuclear Bunker (8.8 miles), and Rye House Gatehouse (8.7 miles).
Does Down Hall Hotel & SPA have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.