We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Swan on the Square

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Swan on the Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

What can I say, my husband and I had just done a 2hr trip to kington and were staying in a hotel/spa down the road from the Swan. It was 10:30ish (am) and we hadn't eaten all morning. We had a mooch round the town but the only cafe that was serving cooked breakfasts was tiny and full. We thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinnerdiver
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

the brief menu still has plenty of variety and food to suit all. There are many innovative touches (we loved the shallot onion rings) and modern presentation applied to well-cooked food. The beer, gins and wine were good also. we enjoyed all 3 courses. All in an interestingly laid out setting with modern tables but a relaxed range of settees...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dodge47
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed March 2014 for one night unfortunately. Overall a pretty terrible place to stay, mold in the coffee machine sachet receptacle, half finished paint jobs, unbelievable junk room, old tyres in car park, half built/demolished shed, ash trays outside full of water and cigarette ends, broken fencing in car park, virtually no cereals at breakfast (old and nearly empty containers),...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James T
SEAN B, Owner at The Swan on the Square, responded to this review

Well thankyou for your review. AS you were made aware on arrival we were in the middle of moving so things may not be as they should of which we apologised and can only apologise again. Previous reviews do not add up to the experience that you suffered..again we apologise for the dreadful stay you had but if WE had...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Please be aware that this establishment is not a pub anymore, but a tea room which shuts around 6pm which still has the old pub bar serving up to 3 real ales. If you arrive when it is dark you may find no lights on and the entrance to the car park may be blocked with the owner's car which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita1967
SEAN B, Owner at The Swan on the Square, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are sorry we were so disappointing for you we do not like our guest shaving a bad experience , however as a KGB budget holiday and fairly new to the scheme we do like to have feedback from our residents, yes we do have a problem expecially when we are busy most weeks with B...

Reviewed 23 February 2013

I Went to the swan inn for a business trip, it was January so very cold but when I returned from work a warm fire was lit and I was able to relax in front of it with a cup of tea from a little china cup and saucer which was a nice touch, as we're the fairy lights and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissaaaaaaa1979
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed in December on a particularly cold weekend, unfortunately heating wasn't working, but as were very busy and returned in the early morning after attending a family occasion, was too late to inform anyone. Despite the cold had a very comfy bed, and a restful nights sleep, room overlooked a lovely Kington Street, and was very peaceful. Having breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hairdy
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2012

An excellent family run hotel, in a central location in Kington. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. The food was great and a choice of 3 real ales:-) Would stay there again no problems:-) You are made to feel very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aberwelsh
Scunthorpe
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have been thinking long and hard about how to rate this place and I suppose I have decided to be harsh in some respects......... Firstly do not be put off by the fact I have only rated it 3 out of 5. There are very specific reasons for me doing so and I will explain. However I would like...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Darren S
Ledbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I booked a room here as I was attending a wedding in the town. I booked a double room and it was lovely the bed was really comfy and it had a good sized en-suite. In fact when we were let down by another hotel in town, myself and 10 of my colleagues were welcomed for lunch even though it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma R
Coleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The welcome we recieved started with the first phone call to Lynne. During the whole booking and confirmation there was no doubt that we'd be well looked after. Our husbands were walking the Offa's Dyke path for Charity and we had decided to intercept them for a night, taking the children to give them a lift and spur them on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles P

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#2 of 12 in Kington
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#3 of 12 in Kington
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#11 of 12 in Kington
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17th Century Inn and Bistro, ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan on the Square

Address: Church Street, Kington HR5 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan on the Square 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Swan On The Square Kington, Herefordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan on the Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 is above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles DKirton, 10 May 2012 | Read review
1 of 1