Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western New Holmwood Hotel

Traveller (219)
Uffa Fox Suite
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (41)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£128
Get rewarded with One Key
£128
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 5 hotels in Cowes
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
747Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 549
  • 155
  • 25
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nick T wrote a review Jan 2024
11 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped of for lunch which was not planned but they managed to fit us in. It is in a great location with sea views. Three course lunch at the carvery was so tasty. Also the service was fantastic thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil H wrote a review Feb 2020
Reading, United Kingdom196 contributions117 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First reviewed in 2017, have been back a few times since. I'd call this visit an Early Valentines as both of us were working on the day itself. This time around there was an event that meant on one of our 3 nights the Restaurant was fully booked by a local club, as they had done for the past 10 years! Initially told we would have to eat elsewhere, the night before Kathy asked us if we wanted to have dinner in the hotel, given the weather, Storm Ciara blowing in, we said yes, she and the team went out of their way to lay-up a table in the bar and give us the same services as if we had been in the restaurant! Rooms have been refurbished, new carpet recently laid in the public rooms gives the hotel a brighter feel, revamped wine list with prices in line with the food served. Luckily we were not leaving on the Sunday, ferries cancelled.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NewHolmwood, Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear Neil Thank you so much for taking your time in feeding back and your kind comments. We were so glade that you were able to shelter away from the storm and stay in the warm! It was lovely to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards Julian
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teddington159 wrote a review Sept 2020
15 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A shoutout to the staff on reception who were each friendly, welcoming and cheerful, and responsive to emails sent before arrival. As is normal practice, even before Covid, we always clean handles and TV remotes with a sanitising wipe after seeing many a TV documentary about general levels of hotel cleanliness. Delighted to find not a trace of dirt or residue on any of the wipes after use - very impressed.

The hotel decor is a little dated and the beds have seen better days but staff were happy to provide additional toppers to cushion the bedsprings. Great location, very popular restaurant (not tried). As said, the staff and the hotel’s efforts to maintain strict hygiene practices in these strange times make up for any deficiencies in level of decor and bed comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from New Holmwood Cowes, Other at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Thank you so much fro taking the time to feedback, we really appreciate it. Thank you fro your comment on the cleanliness of the rooms , I will pass this onto our Housekeeping Team. During these challenging times we are working hard to make sure all our guests feel safe while with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards and keep safe Julian
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathanhb wrote a review Dec 2020
Salisbury, United Kingdom211 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a hotel of 2 halves. On the one side the decor and fittings are old, worn and not very appealing. On the other side you have a team of people including the owner /manager who are amazing - nothing is too much trouble for them and while the decor is not nice the hotel is spotlessly clean.

While the staff are amazing it sadly does not make up fully for the quality of the rooms. The bedroom was painted a terrible “cappuccino” colour and there were no pictures on the wall. The ceiling lights were horrible and there were no plugs next to the bed. The hairdryer was fixed to the wall in the corner and must have been 20 years old. The view however was lovely.

We also had a serious problem with the bed on our first night (it was broken and made a horrible noise every time you turned over). To the hotels credit they changed it for the second night and I understand they are looking to upgrade them all soon.

In the bathroom things didn’t get much better. The tiles were from the 1980s and the bottom of the bath was chipped. Most annoyingly, the shower is fixed to the wall and (at 6’ 3”) was only the height of my shoulder blades. Trying to wash my hair was not easy.

Finally the sound proofing in the rooms is non existent and not only could we hear everything going on in the next room but we also could hear everyone walking outside the door.

This hotel could be amazing but it needs some love and attention to the rooms to bring them into the 21st century.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
250Alan wrote a review Aug 2021
Reading, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent four very relaxed and pleasurable days at this hotel. The staff are extremely pleasant and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble to them.
The decor of the hotel is very light and airy with several nautical scenes throughout the lounge and dining areas. The rooms are decorated to a very good standard and extremely clean. Unlike some hotels in this period of covid the room was fully serviced every day.
The breakfast is excellent, with a comprehensive menu. On the buffet all items where replaced as soon as they ran out so no need to rush or hoard items. The cooked breakfast was always cooked to perfection from a very comprehensive menu, including freshly made crepes. Outstanding! All this whilst watching yachts plying the Solent.
The dinner menu and wine list are also excellent. There is also a real ale on draught.
Car parking is also on site and is free, with spaces large enough for modern cars.
We will be returning to this hotel very soon for another relaxing short break.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room facing the sea or with a sea view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dagdabear wrote a review Sept 2021
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom403 contributions172 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped here for lunch when exploring the Gurnard/Cowes area. The hotel stands out as the only establishment of its type along a long stretch of coastal road into Cowes from Gurnard.

Not wanting to drive into Cowes which is often crowded we decided to give it a go for lunch. We were very pleased that the hotel still had Covid safe measures in place on entering and was quickly taken to a table on the hotel's terrace which overlooks the Solent and Southhampton.

The lunch menu was extensive from snacks to full roasts and a catch of the day fish special. We chose the ham and cheese ploughman and what a good choice it was. Plenty of hand-carved ham and good cheddar cheese with a nice mix of salad, pickles, apples, and bread. We also had a side of onion rings which was just as good.

Was very pleased that after enjoying a good meal, great service, and wonderful views the bill was quite reasonable. Definitely will come back to eat here again and maybe even consider staying.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian W wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped at this hotel a while ago and were really impressed with everything, so when we were wanting to get away after being shut in for the last few months, like thousands of others, we thought about this hotel. As we live in South West London it was a very easy trip down the M3 to Southampton and the Red Funnel ferry to East Cowes
Because of all the uncertainty we left booking until quite late. Even so the manager could not have been more helpful trying to fit us in. He also asked if we were coming by car and I said that we would be, he then offered to book the ferry both ways for us there by saving us £30.
We arrived on Monday 31st August and stayed until Friday 4th September.
There were some changes due to the covid virus but nothing that interfered with our enjoyment at all.
Masks had to worn in the public areas but not in the restaurant or lounge. The bar was closed but there was a good waiter service in the lounge and the outside seating. The large decking area outside looks right across The Solent towards Southampton, as do all the front bedrooms and there is always plenty to watch as the huge P and O ferries and a variety of tankers and container ships pass the hotel about 200 meters off shore.
The hotel has an adequate car park and whenever we returned in the evening there was always room to park. If you walk across the car and the road you are on the beach which is shingle and the area is quite quiet, but you are only just over a mile to Cowes town centre.
The hotel staff are wonderful, always cheerful and very helpful. The food is good and the rooms spotless.
We had good weather which helped and during our time there we saw most of the island. All in all we were very sad to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All front rooms have a part or full sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from New Holmwood Cowes, Other at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Responded 23 Sept 2020
Dear Both Thank you ever so much for your lovely comments and feedback, we really appreciate them and your time in doing so. We are so pleased that your time with us after such a strange time of Lock-down was so enjoyable and safe. You defiantly had the weather for your sate and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes and keep safe Julian
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George W wrote a review Nov 2021
Leicester24 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent nearly 2 years organizing a Golf tour for 20 golfers, the hotel could not do enough for us, they prepared Dinner for 2 nights, the food was excellent, and the service superb. The Manager David Titley was outstanding in delivering what we required. We were charged £25 per head for a pre-ordered limited menu dinner.
It was delivered punctually and enjoyed by all, a privately owned hotel, with the owners living abroad. The breakfasts we excellent, and o the final morning delivered with speed so some of the party could catch the ferry. The rooms were good and comfortable ideal for a golfing break
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sally wrote a review Apr 2022
Clevedon, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a small hotel but nothing is too much trouble. The room was spotless, well furnished and reception happy to provide extra toiletries etc on request which cuts down on waste so a good idea. We stayed in a small suite and enjoyed having a separate seating area.
Our dog was spoilt with treats and water bowls and loved the fuss made of him. We ate in the lounge because dogs are not allowed in the restaurant but frankly we had a brilliant view and were right next door and looked after as if in the main dining area. It was good to have the dog with us and accommodated so well at all meals. He became quite at home.
The food is well cooked and served and specials usually available. There is a good choice for a small hotel and the breakfast buffet was attractive.
There is a small bar and lounge area with comfortable seats and we found other guests friendly.
Like all hotels, they could do with a few more staff but their staff were incredibly kind, very hard working and they must have been exhausted but never let on.
This is a traditional hotel and I would happily stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Les L wrote a review Oct 2022
Poole, United Kingdom71 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Good location close to Cowes which is a short walk along the esplanade which is also very flat. The hotel prides itself on its welcome and the excellent food which is what tempted us to try this place.
Overall a very god stay and the staff in the bar and restaurant were very friendly and you felt you were not just a room number but a real person. In particular Matt, Zack and Mitchell were outstanding in their approach to all the customers whether guests or casual diners. I would however say that the staff who were on duty on Friday night and Saturday morning whilst polite did not show the same enthusiasm.
We were in room 9 which was at the end of the ground floor and did allow a sea glimpse down the side alley which was occupied by workmen during the day on the neighbouring property. The room was a good size clean and comfortable. One observation would be to replace the single glazed wooden patio doors with double glazes ones to improve the insulation as each morning the windows were running with water due to the condensation. Also if a regular check is made on the rooms it should be noticed that the tap on the shower is a little loose.
All of the meals we had on the DBB basis were exceptional and the chef delivered inviting looking food that tasted every bit a good as it looked. It was also nice that after dinner the tea and coffee were served in pots and not just a cup.
One other small observation was around the reception. We arrived ahead of check in time and although we were told we could leave our bags and go off I feel opportunity was missed to offer us to go to the bar for a drink. When we checked out there was an issue with the bill where we had been charged for a tea and coffee we had not had but this was quickly corrected by the receptionist. This is an error that could have been avoided if guests had to sign for things being charged to their rooms.
A really good stay and definitely one we would return to if going to the IOW agsain and it really is a home from home.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask if a sea view is available as its location is right on the solent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from New Holmwood, General Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Many thanks for your kind review, which I read with great interest, I'm delighted that Matt, Zack and Mitchell left such an impression and I will pass on your comments to each of the lads. I was however slightly saddened that your breakfast experience was not quite as good as we would have hoped. All of your other comments were very constructive and I thank you for bringing them to my attention. Without guests candid observations we cannot improve our product so once again thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western New Holmwood Hotel in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian S asked a question Aug 2023
16 contributions4 helpful votes
Is parking at a premium?
Answer from John S
Plymouth, United Kingdom46 contributions39 helpful votes
No it was included in the room rate !
Peter V asked a question Aug 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom1 contribution
is there a separate bar menu?
Answer from NewHolmwood
Cowes, United Kingdom1 contribution
Yes we have a great main menu but we also have a fantastic bar menu too!
Philippa K asked a question Aug 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom5 contributions13 helpful votes
What is the table dhote menu
Answer from David R
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom38 contributions19 helpful votes
I believe that this is a changing menu from time to time, although don't know the frequency. I'm going to reserve a table next week again, in the meantime the hotel reception will be only too pleased to answer any questions you may have. The Team & Management's 'middle-name' is Customer Service. Hope this assists.
Lisa I asked a question Jul 2019
Brighton, England, United Kingdom29 contributions8 helpful votes
What is the menu like at the hotel?
Answer from Nora D
Widley, United Kingdom63 contributions25 helpful votes
Varied menu with amazing food and incredible service
CDM49 asked a question May 2017
Amarillo, Texas6,266 contributions718 helpful votes
How cam I have the hotel book ferry reservations for me? I will be driving from Stonenge
Answer from Neil H
Reading, United Kingdom196 contributions117 helpful votes
If you contact hotel reception, they will arrange the booking for you and e-mail a copy of the reservation
NikkiS2126 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Cowes, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy this amazing located hotel, with lovely staff."
Read full review
canarias1 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dorset7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a car park on site but it is not very big but there is on road parking on the esplanade"
Read full review
Steve S wrote a tip Sept 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom99 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book the Uffa Fox Suite."
Read full review
Tracey B wrote a tip Mar 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ideal location"
Read full review
Paul F wrote a tip Mar 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat somewhere more accomadating if you have a food sensitivity"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cowes area.
PRICE RANGE
£127 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western new holmwood hotel and restaurant, best western cowes, cowes best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightCowes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN NEW HOLMWOOD HOTEL - Updated 2024 (Cowes)

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sir Max Aitken Museum (0.7 miles), Egypt Point (0.2 miles), and Cowes Yacht Haven (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Call It What You Want, Number 3, and Harbour Kitchen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western New Holmwood Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Osborne House (2.2 miles), Osborne House (1.8 miles), and St Mary's Church (1.0 miles).
Does Best Western New Holmwood Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Best Western New Holmwood Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cowes HotelsCowes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cowes
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire