We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Five Bells

Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 17th Century refurbished Bar. Hotel, Located 5 minutes from Deal and The Port Of Dover. Monday to Saturday Kitchen is open serving Breakfast Lunches and evening meals kitchen closes at 9.00 PM Saturday open for food all day serving breakfast lunches and evening meals kitchen closes at 9 00 pm. Sunday Roast is served 12 00 to 4 00 Kitchen closes at 6.00PM
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
187Reviews
36Photos
1Q+A
34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 60
  • 15
  • 14
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed here for a week and was instantly made to feel at home. The management team run by Gemma are attentive, friendly and happy. On the final night, the rest of my team stayed and were equally well looked after. Thank you for a great week, we’ll definitely be returning.
Read more
Check in was at 3pm but all locked up, finally got in with my wife & 4 children after 6 hour drive. Customer service very poor and staff seemed like they didn't want to be there. It also states breakfast available for additional cost but in the morning all locked up and greeted
Read more
Response from FivebellsR, Manager at The Five Bells
Responded 18 Dec 2018
Many Thanks for staying with us here at The Five Bells, I find your comments some what innapropriate and bordering on SLANDER, which is a serious matter! At no point did we tell you not to leave a review - only to air on the edge of caution as to what libellous allogations you wish to spread!! Now let me just clear up a few matters, Yes you are correct check in is at 3pm however due to being caught up in traffic we did not unlock the premises until 3.15pm, you did mention about turning up at 3pm when you checked in at around 4.30pm to which we apologised - Unfortunately we can always control traffic. With regards to your statment of staff not wanting to be here i just find that unjust, both myself and staff greeted you how we would always greet our guests, with kindness and a smile. Breakfast - Breakfast is served from 7.30am until 10am for guests thats have booked. On spending the evening with your family dining with us you stated you you would not require breakfast as you were leaving early that morning, none of our other guests some of which were staying mutiple nights mentioned that they were unhappy about not getting a breakfast. We ask guests to book the previous night for breakfast due to the simple fact we dont want to have to fire up a kitchen and pay for staff to stand around when no one shows. The notice on the back of the room door clearly states "Please leave key in the door" or which is perfectly fine, post key through front of pub door to which you did (Thank you.) Now with regards to the lost ring, Unfortunately as metioned to you on several occasions we HAVE NOT found a ring!! We have a strick lost property procedure in place where our cleaner will put any item left by our guests in a lost property box to which we will then try to contact then. You contated us 4 days after your stay stating that the ring was lost, I contatcted my cleaner as well as looking myself in the room to which no ring was found. When you chose to not accept this statement i also went through hoover bags to just check that the ring was not hoovered - had it of dropped on the floor. Again NO RING WAS FOUND. We asked you to provide us with the photos to which you said you had taken of the ring being on display to aid us in looking out for such item - unortunantely you chose not to send them only to accuse us of THEFT!! We cannot be held responsible for your negligence of loosing property and i feel very strongly about SLANDEROUS allogations being brought towards both myself and my trusted staff. As stated in a personal messge to yourself i can understand the upset of loosing such an item but maybe your investigations should lead to other avenues you have visited. Once again i would like to extend my apologise's for the late check in. Regards, John. (Five Bells Ringwould.)
Read more
We booked the suite, which can potentially sleep up to six and has a bathroom and kitchen facilities. We were shown the accommodation and I was surprised that there was only one small double bed for the five of us. I went back into the bar to ask where my three children were
Read more
Response from FivebellsR, Manager at The Five Bells
Responded 18 Dec 2018
Thank you for visting us at The Five Bells. We are sorry that you found our sofa beds not to the standard you expected. We do not make up the sofa beds to the simple fact some people wish to use them as sofas on arrival, however the bedding is ready to be placed on them made up with freashly prepared linin. Had you have asked we would have been more than happy to make them up for you either on or before arrival. The reasoning for no matress covers is due to the sofa bed matress's being a diffrent size to standard so unfortunately they will not fit. Having recently taken over as management we are looking to replace them in the near future as well as getting on top of those niggling maintenance issues. Parking is out of our control however ample is available within the village. Kind regards, John. (Five Bells Ringwould.)
Read more
We have stayed at The Five Bells three times in 18 months and each time it has been under different management and it showed. It could be so much better, but for small but important things letting it down. We use this hotel for a stop over before catching the ferry. Despite not
Read more
Response from FivebellsR, Manager at The Five Bells
Responded 18 Dec 2018
Thank you for staying with us at The Five Bells. We understand your frustration with the fequant change of management. On your stay with us we had only recently taken over and unfortunately we did find alot of issues that had to be adressed. With that aside we have taken on board your comments and now offer breakfast from 7.30am if booked the night before and we will be prepared to offer this earlier to suit our guests needs. You'll also be pleased to know we have now rectified the beer pump issues and now offer 4x Lagers, 2x ciders and a Belgium beer on draugh. We have also introducted a regular changing locle Ale to our hand pull along with a selection of diffrent Ales, Beers and ciders bottled. Parking can be an issue however ample is available within the village. We hope that you will find the time to visit us again in the near future, we look forward to seeing you. Kind regards, John. (The Five Bells Ringwould.)
Read more
Cheap, but still not worth the price. Food expensive and not very good, drinks overpriced and stale. Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis and were not that clean to begin with. Should have a notice to say how hot the water is, could not put your hands under, could not put in
Read more
Response from FivebellsR, Manager at The Five Bells
Responded 18 Dec 2018
Thank you for your stay at The Five Bells. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. All our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, with fresh clean linin & towels. We also provide condiments to our guests, however if you are staying multiple nights cleaning is only carried out on our guests request so we do not have to enter your room without your permission. All our beers, drinks and food are competitively priced being cheaper then that charged within most establishments in the Deal area, we are a village pub / hotel and our prices reflect that!! To say that the drinks were stale is nonsance all our beer lines are cleaned on a weekly basis, maybe your used to drinking in cheaper establishments where the beer is ACTUALLY stale as opposed to fresh. We understand that some of the basin fitments are in need of being replaced, this is unfortunately due to the daily use of cleaning products on them which in turn removes the chrome. Regards, John. (Five Bells Ringwould.)
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Bed Room - Dover Suite
Photo provided by managementThe Five Bells
Double Bedroom
Room 3
Over night stay before catching early morning ferry to France. Room was very pleasant and clean.
PreviousNext
12
How far is it from your pub/b&b to the euro tunnel. Thanks
20 minutes
0 votes
Show all answers
"Front is best"
"you should book is only 6 rooms but is very close to Deal and Dover"
"ask for the quieter rooms, at the back, awat from the road"
"As far away from the bar as possible."
"only have 4 rooms, not big but good for overnight stay . with all new decorated bathrooms"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDeal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing