Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel

Vaste parking
Traveller (56)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (37)
Premier Inn Herne Bay hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£49
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Herne Bay
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
With less than a 10-minute drive between our rooms and Herne Bay Beach, our Premier Inn Herne Bay hotel is ideal if you’re looking for hotels near the seafront in Herne Bay. Whether you’re enjoying the rides and amusements on Herne Bay Pier, visiting the animals at the Wildwood Trust, or getting a taste of Kent’s history on a trip to Reculver Country Park, there’s fun activities in Herne Bay for all the family to enjoy. After days out in Herne Bay, you can look forward to tasty meals back at our Table Table restaurant, and a great night’s sleep on a super-comfy bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Margate Road Blacksole Farm, Herne Bay CT6 6LA England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 36 out of 100
36
Southend Municipal Airport
24.1 mi
See all flights
Lydd Intl Airport
1,052Review12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 514
  • 329
  • 110
  • 43
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tjl2105 wrote a review Aug 2020
18 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just completed a five night stay at Premier Inn Herne Bay. A little dated and rooms could do with a lick of paint and a bathroom refurb. However, it was clean and all you would expect of a Premier Inn. Rooms weren't being cleaned on a daily basis due to Covid-19 but bins were emptied and towels changed when asked. Any other items were also replenished straight away when requested ( eg toilet roll, tea coffee etc) .
We had breakfast twice (made most of half price deal) and, although not everything from usual buffet menu was available, this was still very tasty. Waiting staff were bery hard-working and friendly - special mention to Georgia who worked incredibly hard with a smile.
Great location for visiting Herne Bay Whitstable, Broadstairs and Canterbury. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which will take you directly to Herne Bay or Canterbury.
Overall a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison M wrote a review Jul 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom92 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for three nights while working in the area, hotel as expected for a premier inn. They have a robust system in place, hand sanitizer at the entrance with a one way system in reception. Booking in is contactless and during your stay there is no house keeping in your room but you can ask for extras at reception. Tea and coffee facilities are available. I stayed in the new section this time with no issues. Restaurant is now open as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ralph T wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean and in good condition as most Premier Inn properties are. The meal in The Table Table restaurant were mainly to a reasonable standard, on one occasion I considered the portions to small, but with the 'meal deal' were fair value for money.
Our main disappointment was the lack of housekeeping! We couldn't see why
this service was not available. With proper safety equipment now available and with the guests out of the room it would seem a fairly safe environment. As we were staying 5 nights the room really needed to be cleaned. Over all a reasonable stay but with reservations about the hotels level of service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
trippypauly wrote a review Sept 2021
London, England, United Kingdom27 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not the usual premier inn standard our room had single glazing and we could here every car on the road that's if we was not listening to the noise of the doors continuously banging. Why have all the doors at this hotel have soft close doors there is no reason for them to slam like they do every time someone opens them.

The usb port in the room was broken so good job we packed our own and the base of the bed was ripped and overall the room was in need of a good refresh

The shower was in a poor way and there was hair in the bath so not sure how clean the covid clean was

We always have rated premier inn but this was not the standard we have come to expect

The table table restaurant on the other hand was very nice and the food cooked fresh and was very very nice

Our son and partner stayed at the new travel lodge just down the road and we was amazed at the quality of there room which was £40 cheaper and they had there dog

We was mocking them before they came but they was mocking us on the way home

Time to up your game at this location premier inn because we def would not return
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: noisy and in need of a upgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
Responded 20 Sept 2021
Hi Paul, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to noise within and outside the hotel, along with the cleanliness of the room and the condition of your room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you to have when staying with us. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Tayler
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KevD wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, very poor. Stayed in one of the new premium rooms - decor, TV and bed were good. The air conditioning was hopeless, it kept turning itself off and could only be reset by walking down to reception and asking them to turn it back on at their computer. The staff reported that this happened regularly and they didn’t know why. This happened two or three times a day. Bear in mind that the windows are sealed units - they don't open, and you can see how important the aircon is! Couple this with the fact that the expelair in the bathroom doesn’t seem to work, so no steam etc is removed and that for two of the four days we were there the bathroom smelled as though the drains were blocked and venting into it and we had to keep the door closed all the time. The lamp on the dressing unit had no bulb and reception advised that they have no bulbs for the premium rooms, they are on order! The noise from the room overhead was unacceptable too - it sounded as if the occupant was stamping around in lead boots all evening!
My advice overall is to go somewhere else but if you have to stay here AVOID THE PREMIUM ROOMS.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay away from the new extension and the premium rooms!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Hi there Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We're pleased to hear you found the bed to be comfortable, however it's a shame to read of the issue you had with the air conditioning that continued through the stay and that there were no spare bulbs available for the Premier Room. I'm also sorry to see you were disturbed by other guests during the evening. I've passed your comments on to the Hotel Manager so they can pick these up internally and they'll see what needs to be done to ensure all parts of your stay are improved on moving forward. I apologise for the disappointment and we hope you'll give us another chance in future. Kind Regards Amy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venture802237 wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First room I was checked-in to was not cleaned, had to move rooms - toohpaste dribble or something down the shower door, all around shower & bathroom not properly cleaned. Some debris on bedroom floor, so evidently not properly cleaned, Sheets looked slept in & had red stains. Aircon controllers are locked so not possible to adjust room temperature. I was given some nonsense at reception claiming this was not so. Previous week at Ramsgate Premier Inn, the bath & toilet were even worse. Is clearl that Whitbread do not allow housekeeping enough time to properly service a room, so their claims of deep-clean during Covid are evidenced as completely bogus
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check the room before unpacking..
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay with us recently due to the cleanliness and temperature issues in your room. This certainly doesn't sound like the experience we would expect. The safety and wellbeing of our guests and teams has always been incredibly important to us and everyone in our hotels should rightly expect a safe, clean and protected environment. The Coronavirus crisis has brought this into sharp focus, which is why we have launched a new rigorous, daily cleaning regime across all our hotels. We apologise you found your room to not be up to the high standard we would expect. We have ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Manager so that they can look into these issues with our Reception and Housekeeping teams to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Once again, we are very sorry for the disappointment caused and hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Rebecca
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoffrey T wrote a review Oct 2021
Solihull, United Kingdom17 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a 4 night stay here. The initial welcome at reception was cheery and friendly, our check in was handled quickly and efficiently with clear directions given to our room. The room was very clean and fresh smelling and was the usual Premier Inn offering with tea coffee and milk supplied and extra pillows also available in a clean secured bag. We found the bed to be very comfy and enjoyed 4 good nights sleep - very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order, and the staff were also friendly and efficient. Overall a very pleasant stay and excellent value as always.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dizrali wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom10 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in time is 3pm, but if you arrive early due to unfulfilled traffic promises by Google Maps then the staff are happy to accommodate a 2pm entry. If you arrive even earlier, the bar/restaurant just across the car park will satisfy your food and drink cravings. I had a Guinness and a large Jamesons, which cost about 12 quid, and settled in to watch the rain drum puddles on the tarmac.

Once inside the hotel and presented with your key, you're treated to some of the most perfect liminal corridors stretching on to eternity. I was on the second floor and took the stairs each time unhindered. A brisk walk through an expanse of yellow hues and purple velvet bring you to your door.

First, the main bedroom. A large TV hangs on the wall over a writing desk. Comfy chair is provided, along with notebook (no pen), a menu for the restaurant, a small kettle with 3 x tea, coffee, sugar, milk etc. 2 cups and 2 glasses. In the corner another chair, this one circular shaped and perfectly serviceable. Easily moveable a few inches to the right to gaze out upon the view, which is a W shaped trench dug into the earth, presumably the foundations for an upcoming retail outlet. It was nice to watch the rain dance across lakes forming at the bottom. The bed faces the TV, and was as soft as air. A closet to hang you clothes contains extra linen should you need it.

The bathroom will enchant and delight, it does contain a bath and hot water is plentiful. The bath is deep and the soap is contained in tasteful boxes with green leaves on. Plentiful towels, one big for the main body, one smaller one for the floor and a flannel for the gooch, I was warm and dry and toasty in no time.

The breakfast has everything you could want, but it's not really a buffet for the main ingredients, but it is for the continental. A friendly staff member will come round and take your order when you sit down and I don't think they ever return, so make sure you load up first time. I suggest 2 of everything, and 3 hash browns.

Overall I was really happy, I felt more content here than I have for a long time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You want a bath, whoever you are
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aimzapanda wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom112 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to have a few nights away after being on edge due to covid. We booked into the Premier inn as you know what to expect.

The room was lovely and large which was a bonus as we all had to stay in their together. The shower was lovely and powerful which after a day on the beach is needed to wash the sand out of your hair!

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean.

It’s about a 20 minute walk into Herne Bay but the weather was so nice that it was a nice stroll.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nigel H wrote a review Sept 2021
Hereford, United Kingdom23 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 4 nights Sunday to Thursday and were uncertain how Covid would affect things, but really there was very little difference to pre-covid days. We have stayed here several times before and always been happy. There may be individual niggles, but I think most people would be happy if they are used to similar hotels. The carpark is more than adequate, also serving the pub/restaurant (where the staff were unfailingly friendly, cheerful and welcoming, and the food is good). The pub is just yards away from the hotel entrance. We did not encounter any major noise either from outside or inside the hotel and it is well situated for a huge local Sainsburys and petrol station, and of course for Heren Bay itself. The room was clean with tea/coffee facilities, a shower and bath. Overall a good experience and value for money.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from mo
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I have stayed here a couple of times with my family and the hotel is clean and adequate if all you want is somewhere to sleep. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The meals in the restaurant (table table) are good too.
Answer from haz55
Nailsworth, United Kingdom28 contributions23 helpful votes
A bus does go the Premier Inn. It's the Whitstable/Canterbury bus. It stops at the top of the hill and you just walk across the road to it. Just ask the driver fir the Premier Inn.
Answer from Terry S
United Kingdom70 contributions6 helpful votes
5mins in a cab, hotel sort of the middle of know where but very nice
lucysorensen asked a question Jan 2020
Bellflower, California1 contribution
Are there washer/dryer facilities?
Answer from Amanda
7 contributions
Hi, there is a hair dryer in the room, but no washing machine or clothes dryer. But it is very close to shopping area which I am sure would have a laundromat. Enjoy x
Chris_in_Devon asked a question May 2018
Paignton, United Kingdom47 contributions36 helpful votes
Hi GTD985. Why didn’t you tell them this at reception
Answer from Adele H
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi I didn’t say nothing as I was to exited in seeing my son. That’s all I cared about. It was only wen got home I noticed the rash.
Sue D wrote a tip 6 May
16 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't have breakfast in the TT restaurant . Awful and poor service .. Walk across to the restaurant across the road ."
Read full review
Dene W wrote a tip Aug 2023
Stevenage, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't buy a breakfast "
Read full review
Anthony V wrote a tip Jun 2023
14 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sainsbury’s/Argos just a 2 min drive from Premier Inn."
Read full review
Terry P wrote a tip May 2023
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very good location and very clean and helpful receptionist and manager easy to find a very clean hotel"
Read full review
Virginia B wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you request to have your room made up if staying more than one night here !! It’s all in the small Print !"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Herne Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
£47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn canterbury north/herne bay hotel herne bay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentHerne Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN HERNE BAY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Barnes Wallis Statue (0.7 miles), The Downs (0.7 miles), and Copper Pottle (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miller & Carter Herne Bay, Herne Bay Table Table, and Rising Sun.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Herne Bay Pier (1.3 miles), Fordwich Town Hall (4.6 miles), and Herne Mill (0.6 miles).
Is Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Herne Bay HotelsHerne Bay Hotel DealsHotels near Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire