We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

Save
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (4)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good37%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(10 reviews)
“quick drink”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
34
28
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
34
28
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnice beer gardenquick drinksmallest tvsunday roastsuet puddingquality ingredientsmashgood sizevisiting friendsstayed for two nightsplace to staylympne castleroom was largevisit hythecomfy bedon arrival
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were welcomed long before official checking in time, when we were seeking permission to park our car, and shown to our room. A much larger than average room with desk, sofa, tv and tea-making facilities. Good power shower but we needed to get a...More

Thank Margaret - Bria... B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked here for Sunday lunch recently with friends but disappointed with the meal. Meat tough and dry. Vegetables not cooked. ☹ However desserts were much better.... Won't be returning for lunch again.More

Thank Jenny E
Response from Red L, Owner at The Red LionResponded 3 weeks ago

Very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your food on Sunday, it's a shame you didn't bring this to our attention at the time i would of been more then happy to of replaced your food for you or given you an alternative. we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights at this grade 2 listed public house and dinned in its resturant both evenings.Our room was large,clean,light and airy with a comfortable double bed and ensuite shower.The food was excellent pub fare with pleasant staff and the bar had a...More

Thank John e
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

On the off chance we booked a Sunday dinner for three. Brilliant value ... the food was absolutely beautiful, compounded by very friendly staff. I can see this being a regular for me and my friends :).

Thank tooheyold
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We were visiting to spread my mothers ashes, and we wanted to visit all the places we went as kids. We called into the Red Lion for a quick drink, bar staff were very friendly especially Sharon. Busy for food, but only draw back is...More

Thank Sue R
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Hythe
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (4)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Red Lion staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"No 2 overlooking the rear car park"
Read review
"Rooms at the front of the pub do suffer from road noise but it is not excessive and didn't trouble us."
Read review
"All rooms offer similar standards."
Read review
"Front rooms have to have the windows shut - because of traffic noise, but it's not excessive"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing