The Red Lion
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Red Lion

The pub bar from my corner table!
Traveller (24)
The Specials board
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 5 B&Bs in Hythe
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are proud to announce the recent management change. Situated in the beautiful town of Hythe, the Red Lion is a perfectly situated for all types of visitors. Close to the beach and only 30 minutes away from Canterbury. Close to Dover, why not spend a few nights before traveling to Europe. Whether its for one night, a short break or a longer holiday you can be assured of a comfortable relaxing stay with us. Each room features individual decor, en suite facilities, TV, WiFi and tea & coffee making facilities. We offer some deliciously tempting menus from lunches to evening meals and some fantastic mid-week meal promotions. Our Sunday lunches are very popular and we would recommend pre-booking your table to avoid disappointment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Kids' meals
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming

Location

Red Lion Square, Hythe CT21 5AU England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 88 out of 100
88
Lydd Intl Airport
10.5 mi
See all flights
Southend Municipal Airport
38.4 mi
See all flights
133Reviews2Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 40
  • 15
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AnnfromToronto wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For 6 days, we didn't leave our room at the Red Lion (except to get tested), and we were so comfortable! Our room was spacious and clean, with a modern bathroom and new furnishings. Owner Barrie Thompson and the staff treated us like family.

After our quarantine period, we stayed another week, and enjoyed the pub properly. It has two patios and a garden area, as well as indoor pub and restaurant dining.

The location is convenient for travel in the area - a 2 minute walk to the High Street, 4 minutes to the seaside, it's on a bus route, and free parking for guests. It has all the charm and character of a traditional British pub hotel with modern amenities like wifi and good plumbing! It's a popular spot with locals and repeat guests. Hythe itself has an interesting military history and is close to Channel Tunnel access and Dover ferries. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: 9 rooms upstairs - we had Room 8 on the southeast corner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pamela H wrote a review Jun 2022
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night here at The Red Lion and were most impressed . We were given a warm welcome and our room was light, bright and spotless. The staff were all friendly, helpful and both at dinner and breakfast the following morning had very attentive staff, prompt service and good food.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura M wrote a review Sept 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for a quick meal on our journey home.
Nachos were great, Steak lovely and cooked well.

Staff are so friendly and accommodating. We wanted to share a pudding - He wanted custard. I wanted ice cream. Our waitress offered to split the pudding into two bowls so we could have what we wanted 💪🏼 It’s the seemingly small things that make a huge difference 😊

We’ll be back and this wasn’t our first visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clown F wrote a review Jul 2020
Worthing, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff friendly, room was modern, comfortable and clean. Shower was on a slant which felt a bit odd. Shower was hot but it took around 5 minutes of leaving the shower on for it to actually come through hot.

Drunk People shouting at each other in the corridors gone midnight was frustrating, but not the hotels fault.

The rooms got very warm and stuffy at night, the only way to relieve this was to open the window and use the fan supplied but the traffic noise prohibited sleep.

TV good, one of the small milk cartoons supplied with coffee was off and separated when mixed with drink.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LXX_Nav wrote a review Jul 2020
United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed a two night stay but disappointed with the accommodation. Although it is an old building, we still expected things to function properly: the one window in the bathroom was painted shut and the bathroom door would not shut properly. The advertised wifi could not be used in our bedroom.
The bedroom was big enough to accommodate a comfortable chair, which would have been most welcome.
Parking was easy and free, though birds can make a mess if you park under trees.
Staff were very friendly and very keen to make one's stay a very pleasant one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew C wrote a review Feb 2024
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was booked by my employer for a one night stay. I arrived to check in at around 6.30pm and was asked if I wanted breakfast. I confirmed that I did and I was asked to pay £12 in advance, which I did. I confirmed that I would be down for breakfast at 8 am. The room was clean and pleasant enough and I had a comfortable night's sleep.

When I went for breakfast I was greeted by the housekeeper who offered me tea. I then heard her on the phone to the pub's owner, saying there was no Chef. She asked the owner to speak to me, but she wouldn't, leaving the embarrassed housekeeper to apologise and inform me that despite me paying in advance that there would be no breakfast. I was promised a refund, but the housekeeper wasn't authorised to refund my card payment. I was asked to leave my details to be refunded but by the end of the day I am still awaiting my refund.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RioBexley wrote a review Aug 2020
Bexley
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Red Lion for two nights B&B on 31 July 2020. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good. Rooms were very clean. Also had Sunday Roast, which was superb value and high quality. The meat was cooked and carved in the kitchen; not catering meat that so many places serve!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antony wrote a review Sept 2023
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very warm and welcoming reception, but after that it was only going one way, down hill. The room was very basic and small with dirty sheets.
Then the manager cut me and my fiancée off, after having an average meal. My fiancée and I were told we had enough and that we should leave. It was my birthday and being told at 47 I was staggering around after 4 pints is ridiculous. We booked in for 2 nights and to be honest we couldn’t wait to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shital Patel, Owner at The Red Lion
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Our staff go above and beyond to ensure that they provide an exceptional service and make our guests feel welcome but this also requires cooperation from the guests too. We are aware of the situation, from CCTV as well as our staff that your behaviour was inappropriate and hence we had to take action at that moment. We will not tolerate any threats or violence towards our staff. We are sorry if you felt unwelcomed but we had received complaints from other customers present at the time which cannot be overlooked. Kind regards Red Lion
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karrie W wrote a review Aug 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Attended a family wedding and booked this hotel as it was local to the venue.
The facilities are shabby at best, rooms are quite clean but very poorly decorated and tatty furniture. We were in room 9 that had a drip!! All night I listened to a drip that I found eventually to be coming from the radiator!
Breakfast is extra to your room cost and was ok. We were the only people in the restaurant and waited half an hour for our food. Overall the accommodation was very poor, the only redeeming factor was the staff who were fantastic and very helpful and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the accommodation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Y wrote a review Mar 2020
Welling, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never stayed here before, but it was a perfect break and one which we will do again the rooms were lovely, bright and clean, the beds were very comforatble, the shower very powerful, it was bright and airy. the food was exceptional, from the breakfast to the evening meal, the steak and ale pie was the best I have ever tasted, the staff couldnt do enough to help. I would recommend this place all day long and I weill be returning very soon.
Read more
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Travelhotel55
59 contributions21 helpful votes
Didn’t see one
Del-Gregory asked a question May 2019
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom107 contributions24 helpful votes
Is there an iron and board available?
Answer from DebbieJP
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom84 contributions56 helpful votes
I didn’t see an ironing board, but maybe the hotel can provide one if requested ?
RiverJim wrote a tip Jun 2024
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom66 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best location for the centre of Hythe. Highly recommended "
Read full review
karrie W wrote a tip Aug 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom47 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the accommodation"
Read full review
Bernard95 wrote a tip Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom51 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just book for a lovely stay and good food"
Read full review
AnnfromToronto wrote a tip Aug 2021
Toronto80 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"9 rooms upstairs - we had Room 8 on the southeast corner"
Read full review
filrite wrote a tip Jul 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom279 contributions120 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All was very good without special requests"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hythe area.
PRICE RANGE
£98 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the red lion hotel hythe, hythe red lion, red lion hythe
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentHythe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RED LION - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Red Lion
What are some of the property amenities at The Red Lion?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Red Lion?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Red Lion?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
All Hythe HotelsHythe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HytheHotels near The Red Lion
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire