Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Margate hotel

Traveller (148)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (57)
Premier Inn Margate hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#7 of 9 hotels in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Whether you’re planning a last-minute break or a summer holiday in Margate, our Premier Inn Margate hotel is ideal for getting the most out of your stay. Whatever the weather in Margate, you’ll be close to all the best things to do. Margate Beach and Margate Main Sands are just a five-minute walk away – perfect if you’re looking for hotels near the seafront – and the popular Shell Grotto is nearby, too. For fun family activities, visiting Dreamland in Margate is a must thanks to its exciting rides and attractions, and culture-lovers won’t want to miss exploring Turner Contemporary. After days out in Margate, head back to our Brewers Fayre restaurant for a tasty family meal before enjoying a great night’s sleep on a luxurious bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Beach
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
1,500Review17Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 573
  • 522
  • 195
  • 99
  • 111
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tracey D wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled by train to attend a gig at dreamland - this premier inn is amazing !
A few minutes from the station and 5 mins from dreamland . Due to half term the hotel was full but you would have never have known this - it was so quiet !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Celidwen1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom215 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night to see a show at the Theatre Royal. Hotel is right next to the station and also has a decent sized car park.

Staff were friendly, helpful, cheerful and polite. Room was spotless and bed super comfortable. There was absolutely no noise whatsoever despite it being a Friday night.

It was cold outside but I was able to get the room to a perfect temperature easily - not too hot and not too cold.

I slept like a log and then enjoyed a fabulous breakfast the following morning. Everything was tasty and cooked just right and there was a great choice of juices, hot drinks, hot food, fruit, yogurt, pastries, cereal, toast and pancakes.

There was absolutely nothing more I could ask for and I would definitely recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
juls63 wrote a review Sept 2021
Selby, United Kingdom164 contributions140 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a 2 night stay here recently whilst visiting friends, would have stayed for a 3rd night but it was fully booked. We were happy with our room which was clean on arrival, and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had a lovely sea view and the room on the second floor, was very quiet. My only criticism is that we were told our room would not be cleaned on the second day, although we could pick up clean towels from reception. I do think that some hotels are using Covid as an excuse not to service rooms at the moment. The restaurant was closed for maintenance on the days we stayed so we did not eat there, but plenty of eateries nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LulaGerf wrote a review Nov 2020
Ramsgate, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked to stay last minute, last night as I have nightmare neighbours and was in need of a decent night's sleep, I needn't have bothered wasting my money!! Had trouble settling at first due to the vending machine in the lobby, to which my room was adjacent, then I was awakened by the laundry room at 4:30am! Unable to get back to sleep I went outside to try and clear my head and I spoke to the young gentleman on the desk and he said yes there was a laundry room and he'd look into it, then skulked away, the lobby at this time smelled strongly of weed..... The laundry finished at appx 7am, thinking I might be able to get in an extra couple of hours sleep I tried to settle down again only to be brought to at 7:45am by someone hammering shortly after that the cleaning crew were stomping about, shouting to each other, despite being in a quiet zone and having do not disturb on my door, also slamming every door shut, when leaving a room you do need to pull it quiet hard or it doesn't close, but it is possible to close the door quietly upon entering, someone needs to tell the cleaners.... Also bashing a vacuum cleaner into a door that displays a do not disturb sign is a sure way to disturb someone...... Upon leaving I spoke to a young lady at the front desk who couldn't be less interested, told me that they had to have the laundry going all night and she didn't hear any hammering but yes, there might have been some noise, she told us we should've said something and they could've moved us and when informing her that I did say something and the offer wasn't made she just responded with oh, but there's nothing she could do now. We enquired about the good night guarantee and she said, you can try to claim a refund online, no offer of starting the process for us. We can't claim yet because there's no link to it and the customer service centre is closed due to covid, they haven't yet responded to a tweet. Also the room is in need of some new decor, especially curtains. Ground floor rooms need better soundproofing. I will not be staying again, do yourself a favour and find somewhere else
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Margate hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2021
Hi Lula, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to noise disruption from the team and the unpleasant odour in the hotel. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect. Unfortunately, our hotel teams are unable to process refunds under our Good Night Guarantee as all claims need to be made via our Guest Relations team. This department is still open and working as normal and so believe you will have heard back from our Twitter team now. We hope this has now been resolved for you. Please be assured your feedback has been logged to the Hotel Manager so that we can try to prevent this experience from being repeated going forward. Our apologies again and hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Rebecca
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jeanashby wrote a review Jul 2021
Coventry, United Kingdom136 contributions57 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband is disabled and they had a bath with a shower attachment but my husband couldn’t climb into a bath very disappointed with the decor. Needs repainting. Hot water tricked to have a wash it took 10 mins to fill the sink. We mentioned this to reception and was told the pressure was down. It needed a good vacuuming, the reception staff were in the back office not at the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We had a room overlooking the sea which with the traffic it’s noisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Margate hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2021
Hi there Jean, Thank you for your review. We're very sorry to hear that there were issues with your husband being unable to climb into the bath and you were disappointed with the room decor. It's also a shame to hear about the hot water. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In the future, our Reception team is on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards Danny
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon D wrote a review Jun 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom131 contributions106 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at a lot of premier inns, this one just as good as the others, friendly staff fast check in process, clean comfortable rooms, it was hot weather so fans provided in the rooms without having to ask.
Rooms are very quiet and you always get a good nights sleep when staying at Premier Inns, even though it is located near the Train Station, it was still nice and quiet. The staff are always very helpful and friendly, making you feel welcome and making sure your stay is comfortable. This hotel is in a very good location, near the Station and overlooking the beach. Plenty of free car parking on site as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GondolaScotland wrote a review Feb 2020
Scotland1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unwelcoming receptionist with zilch customer service skills. I was put off by the general unhelpful vibe of the receptionist, her blank expression and unfriendly manner gave me very little trust that she would give me the quiet room that I had requested. The room was adequate and near a lift.
I was really disappointed to discover there was no TV signal at all during my 2 day stay. Reception did not inform me about this inconvenience. I also discovered that there was no internet connection - after I'd paid £5,
The receptionist didn't seem bothered that this had inconvenienced me and after persevering with her lack of concern, she eventually said they could reimburse the Internet fee, She said it would be paid by BACs payment and it would take a few days to clear. Needless to say the payment never arrived, Surely Premier Inn could employ more professional staff?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhitbreadHotels, Guest Relations at Premier Inn Margate hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the service from the receptionist when you checked in. This certainly isn't the experience we would want for our guests. It's also disappointing that you had issues with the WiFi and TV signal and I can imagine how frustrating this would be for you. I am glad that the team were able to refund the cost of the WiFi for you, however if you haven't seen this in your account please do get in touch with the hotel and they will be able to advise further regarding this. Just to make you aware we have logged these comments and this will be passed onto the Hotel Management Team so this can be picked up internally and any necessary retraining implemented to ensure we can improve moving forwards. Our apologies again for your experience this time around, however I do hope that this hasn't put you off staying with us again in future and that we can welcome you back soon for a much more enjoyable stay. Kind Regards, Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry20049 wrote a review Aug 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom33 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night as part of a visit to pay respects to late parents. Check in after an 8 hour journey (normally 4 1/2) was welcome and welcoming. Accessible room was spotless and easily reached on ground floor. The meal deal was really great with very good quality well cooked food in a nice atmosphere and breakfast was as usual to the standard Premier is famous for. The excellent location of the hotel will prove to be helpful for most travellers
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darren H wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst trip in living memory, drove almost 400 miles for a 3 night booking to be met with "restaurant closing in a few minutes because we are short staffed", the curtains in room were closed on arrival and we thought nothing of it until we settled down to sleep and then we discovered our room was 3 to 4 metres away from a very busy railway station platform so the rumbling of trains and noise made a mockery of their sleep guarantee. In the morning went for breakfast to decide what to do and again met by staff member running around telling everyone that the water in the hotel was being switched off so we had 10 minutes to get breakfast, use toilets etc, I went to reception to complain and ask for a room in a different block but was told it was full and offered a free breakfast as compensation?????

I went back to the room to pack and check out as the thought of another night was unbearable and another 400 mile drive seemed more attractive so as I waited in reception I watched a different receptionist give a room key to a walk in booking in the block which was allegedly full so I challenged the receptionist on this and she told me to get in contact with guest relations at Premier Inn to which I did and given a case reference number and a promise that I would get a response within 10 days, it's now day 16 and all emails ignored so far, I contacted them on Twitter and got a "we are experiencing larger than normal enquiries" response, appalling service from start to finish and it seems the poor service runs throughout the company as ignore the guest after they have paid seems to be the Premier motto

Appalling service, I am sad to be having to write this review

AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid this Premier Inn if you value sleep and customer service Hotel from Hell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
prochida12 wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm a frequent traveller and I've stayed in a few Premier Inn hotels up and down the country, as well as many other competitor hotels. It's pleasing when you stay in a clean hotel with good fixtures and fittings, clean sheets and bath towels, all appliances clean and working, comfy bed and pillows and minimal noise... it sounds like the perfect place to stay! However, unfortunately staying at the Premier Inn Margate, left a bitter taste in my mouth! Not the hotel or staff themselves, there were no complaints on that front, but the actual business practices of Premier Inn themselves! Having obtained Leisure Vouchers from (vast spending and accumulating points) my Barclaycard, I was pleased to have been sent £100 Leisure Vouchers, which I would use to book a short 2 night stay at Margate Premier Inn. When checking the price I was elated to find that the 2 night stay would come to £100 on the "Standard" rate, which means no altering dates and no refund. This was perfect for me, as I had concrete dates and wasn't going to change the booking! I tired to book online, only to find that you had to call Premier Inn customer service, when using Leisure Vouchers. My elation quickly turned to extreme disappointment when I was told by Premier Inn Customer Service Advisor, that if using Leisure Vouchers, "you have to book the most expensive tier - the Flexible rate" which was an extra £50 for exactly the same room and booking! I asked the Customer Service advisor why this was? She told me it was Premier Inn company policy. So in effect, Premier Inn are exploiting and overcharging ( I would actually state fleecing!) customers who are using Leisure Vouchers, making them pay over the odds, an additional 33.3% for the same hotel room! I think this is rather disgraceful! Shame on you Premier Inn! This experience has made me reconsider booking any future hotel bookings with you. In a time when the nation is going through a cost of living crisis, you are blatantly ripping customers off, because they are using a different method of payment. Shame on you Premier Inn! This needs to be stopped and changed immediately! May the Board of Directors see sense and look at this ridiculous pricing structure - or may the wider public be aware of your exploitative rip off strategies!

Yours, disappointingly,

MH
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Marion G
London, United Kingdom144 contributions109 helpful votes
As far as I know tests are not required. We did lateral flow tests the day before going there to check all was well, although we had no symptoms, just being careful for the sake of others.
Answer from STEPHEN W
Rochester, United Kingdom68 contributions60 helpful votes
HI,its waiter/waitress service but you can order as many times as you like as our family did, breakfast times you have to book a time/slot because of social distancing and cleaning and setting up of tables,hope that helps.
PaulNa asked a question Jul 2020
Aylesford, United Kingdom201 contributions146 helpful votes
Is there a price difference between booking a room online or by telephone?
Answer from ianTenerife
Grantham, United Kingdom317 contributions172 helpful votes
There should not be....
johngS1743SV asked a question Oct 2018
Maidstone28 contributions16 helpful votes
Do all the rooms have a bath as I need a hotel with a bath?
Answer from bluedon
New Malden, United Kingdom81 contributions33 helpful votes
The room we had did. It's in the annex
Julian L wrote a tip Mar 2024
11 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only the annex has air conditioning, which could be an issue in hot weather. However, the windows don't open and rooms may be a bit musty"
Read full review
cds010367 wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Your be better off booking somewhere else."
Read full review
Tal Stack wrote a tip Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom67 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think you can get a sea view room if you book in early."
Read full review
Graham W wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free car parking Next to railway station On the sea front"
Read full review
Dhirabhakta D wrote a tip Jan 2024
Bridgend, United Kingdom163 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parkings included but the staff appear to resent you wanting to use the car park during the daytime during your stay Easy to find and close to everything"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Margate area.
PRICE RANGE
£35 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn margate hotel margate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentIsle of ThanetMargate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN MARGATE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Margate hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Margate hotel?
Nearby attractions include Strokes Adventure Golf (0.3 miles), Margate Main Sands (0.2 miles), and Dreamland Margate (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Margate hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Margate hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Margate hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Margate hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Margate hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bus Cafe Margate, Giorgios, and Pan Asian Cuisine.
Is Premier Inn Margate hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Margate.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Margate hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ramsgate Tunnels (4.2 miles), Tudor House (0.5 miles), and Draper's Windmill (1.0 miles).
Does Premier Inn Margate hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Premier Inn Margate hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Margate HotelsMargate Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MargateHotels near Premier Inn Margate hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire