We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,349: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

3 couples on an overnight spa weekend. Great weekend, facilities made it really good value, with the whole experience being enhanced by the lovely friendly staff in the bar, restaurant, spa basically everybody, all seemed willing to do everything possible to make your stay perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ac88fairfield
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for one night away as a get away spa day as a couple. We've never been to this hotel before so had no expectations. I had read some reviews beforehand which, now that i've been I think are abit unfair. In essence, this is a really big hotel which has been around for years and so considering the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
pwllheli
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife & I stayed at the Blackburn Mercure twice in February 2017. We were not at all impressed with the restaurant menu, it did not have the range one would expect from an ACCOR flagship establishment. I`m sure you can do a lot better than fish & chips and burgers. The second visit was disappointing as the double room...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J M J
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear J M J, So sorry to see we disappointed, yes please do return and allow us the opportunity to prove we can do better. If you still have not received you statements please do contact h6617-fo@accor.com with your details and date of stay and your documentation will be sent in due course. Great to see breakfast 'hit the spot'.Thank...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this room because we thought it would be a nice get away for valentines, we were wrong. The room is directly over the sports centre, for some reason it is so hot that they have installed air conditioning, but it doesn't do anything to reduce the heat in the room. We asked for a fan and they provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my 15 year old daughter for her first spa!! And it was fab ...we both had a facial and another treatment of our choice ( back massage and my daughter had her nails done)... felt really chilled and did some much needed mother daughter bonding!! Lunch was a bit limited though which is why I gave it a 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nica1608
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear nica1608, Great to see the Spa Day assisted with your 'bonding' session, we do hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here as we had a good deal for a friends 40th, I have used this hotel before and stayed over, we had a spa day booked too, the hotel looks a little dated and needs a make over as in some places it looks a little worn, The hotel is okay, the meal was what you would expect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eduardandkate
Management response:

Dear eduardandkate, Good to see there were positive aspects on your recent visit and you enjoyed our treatments in the Spa, we take your comments on board and will use constructively. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been coming here for over 15 years. Last visit was 5 years ago..... The courtyard room could do with a little TLC re-vamping is a must. What you do get in return is a great friendly welcome, very pleasant staff from the receptionist through to the cleaning staff. Very helpful that also includes the Spa staff. Breakfast - juice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisy G
Management response:

Dear Daisy G, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is nice to welcome old friends back to the Hotel. We take your comments on board regarding the orange juice, we do still do porridge, poached eggs, omelettes, Eggs Benedict and more to order apologies if this wasn't communicated to you. Hope to see you sooner...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First impressions of the building itself are very nice, idyllic setting etc. The rooms are spacious and have all you need, however everything is done to a strict budget. The fixtures and fittings are very dated and on some very worn. The restaurant is nice, the food is ok. However I take customer service very important. I requested a Coke...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil H
Management response:

Dear Neil H, Thank you for taking time to post your review, we too believe customer service and satisfaction to be most important and set out to deliver high standards. That obviously didn't happen on this occasion and we shall be addressing our training and customer interaction immediately, our sincerest apologies. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited in Feb 2017 for a bespoke spa day, including access to the facilities and 90 minutes of treatment time. The staff were very helpful, and my therapist Chelsea very professional and helped me to really relax. I had the Oressence Body and Face ritual which was amazing; I felt like a new woman after! The pool and thermal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenniH13
Management response:

Dear JenniH13, Great to see you enjoyed your Spa experience and I will make sure Chelsea knows she played her part, we do hope you return shortly. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff certainly make the difference. They were helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble . We stayed in the courtyard area and we loved it. The evening meal and breakfast was very good, top marks for the chef. The spa and pool was great and we shall return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gedoflittlelever
Management response:

Dear Gedoflittlelever, Thank you for taking the time to ppost your review we do appreciate your kind remarks. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager

334 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (306)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
221 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
13.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Maple Lodge
The Maple Lodge
#1 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range: £63 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
LANCASHIRE, UK

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If in the courtyard ask for a ground floor room to avoid stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ac88fairfield, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor on the courtyard is handy for everything.”
 of 5 bubbles Gedoflittlelever, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Executive room”
 of 5 bubbles Treehousepig, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms in the newer wing are very good and have free wifi”
 of 5 bubbles bettyc504, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“IF you want a good room stay in a Premier Inn”
 of 5 bubbles 647arthurm, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5