We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bolton Road, Darwen BB3 2QB England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
US$59
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (249)
Dining (42)
Room & Suite (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Darwen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Astley Bank Hotel, your Darwen “home away from home”. Astley Bank Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. Guest rooms offer amenities such as flat screen TV and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Room service is also available with delicious dishes brought straight to your bedroom door. The property also boasts a lounge and bar featuring a wide selection of snacks and beverages. If you are driving to Astley Bank Hotel, free parking is available. When you’re feeling hungry be sure to check out Othello's, our restaurant, where our team of dedicated chefs prepare locally sourced food freshly made on the premises. If you’re looking for something to do, Jubilee Tower (0.9 mi) and Darwen Heritage Centre (0.7 mi) are both within walking distance. Astley Bank Hotel puts the best of Darwen at your fingertips. Great memories start here. Make yourself at home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German, Greek, Korean and 2 more
479Reviews6Q+A79Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 318
  • 106
  • 27
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Matt Lawton wrote a review Nov 2023
Leigh, United Kingdom485 contributions235 helpful votes
Visited for a wedding and it was the perfect venue in that sense with loads of space to spread out, great bar service and the lounge area is gorgeous (couldn’t fit the leather armchairs in our car unfortunately!) Assume the catering was done in house and if so the buffet was fantastic! Bar prices a bit inconsistent - £5.10 for a San Miguel is a great price these days, £9.40 for a double vodka & lemonade less so! Room was maybe a little dated and the shower isn’t the best with a bit of a knack to turn it on and then not much power at all (there should to be more water coming out of the bottom than the actual shower head) and sadly the bed was absolutely rock hard so once I eventually got to sleep I ended up waking with quite a sore back. Not what you’d expect on a £97 room unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear LeytherMatt, Thank you for your kind review following your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the bar prices and the shower and bed in the room. I have shared your comments about the shower with the maintenance manager and the necessary steps will be taken to avoid this happening in the future. Regarding the bar prices, we of course appreciate all feedback and I am sorry that the prices felt steep, but I would like to share that we conduct regular thorough pricing checks in order stay competitive. Finally, I do apologise about the hard bed; we have changed the mattresses on our beds quite recently, but we will investigate the issue, as we want to be able to provide a comfortable night's sleep to all our guests. Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. We’re disappointed to hear that the stay was not a perfect one. We will always work hard to ensure our guests have a great experience when they visit the hotel. I’ll be sure to share your comments with the relevant departments to ensure we continue to improve on delivering an exceptional product and service. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to improve your overall experience in the future. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
#ALAW wrote a review Nov 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom102 contributions72 helpful votes
I had planned to stay here with my young son ahead of a football match we had planned to attend at Ewood Park. It would have been somewhere quiet after a long drive. Soon after booking the hotel did something very kind and thoughtful and contacted me to let me know there was a large Christmas party in that night and the likelihood be we’d not benefit from a quiet stay. This level of honesty and thoughtfulness is very rare and should be highlighted. Very good customer service. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Alaw999, We can't thank you enough for your fantastic review, It’s so encouraging to read such positive comments. We try to offer memorable experiences to our guests, memorable for the right reasons, and we feel it is our obligation to inform them about these sort of events (weddings, parties etc). We thank you again for supporting our business and leaving such a lovely review; we hope to be able to welcome you at some point in the future. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne V wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
Six of us previously booked for lunch today. At the same time a wedding was taking place. The bride and 3/4 others were congregated in the small reception area and I was told to wait in the porch until the bride had gone through. However I was obviously not pleased and was then told to stand inside the door. 10 minutes later three of my party arrived. One with a walking stick and one using two crutches At this.point I protested that my friends needed to be allowed in to sit down.This request was not met with a very good response but fortunately the bride was taken through into another room and we were allowed in to the dining room where the rest of our group was waiting. This is an appaling way to greet customers who have booked in advance. There was plenty of room for me to pass by the bride in the reception area and no customer should be told to wait by the door, whatever the circumstances. Perhaps the poor bride should not have had to be hanging about in the reception area. Definately don't rate the customer service. I just hope the bride and groom had a better experience than we had.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2023
Dear S1793WBannev, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your visit to the hotel. We apologise that you were left at the door and not made to feel as valued customers. We understand that every customer should be made to feel equally appreciated and this is what we try our best to do on a daily basis. I would like to provide some clarity regarding your wait. Your reservation was for 12.30 and you arrived at 12.00, which is absolutely fine, but it just coincided exactly with the time that the bride was with the registrars, ready to walk in to the main restaurant to get the wedding ceremony underway. On occasions like this we are instructed to leave that particular area only for the bride and her party. I am terribly sorry if this was not communicated to you during the booking process or on the day. We want all our guests to have the best experiences when they come to the hotel and I can certainly appreciate how the issues you have outlined had a negative impact on the experience for you. We will learn from this and I would like to thank you once more for your comments, as I feel that without them, we would not be able to continue improving our services. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thomas B wrote a review Oct 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I hired the place for my birthday party. All my guests and myself loved the experience. Has a casino company and Photo Booth show up and all was managed perfectly. Private dining for breakfast and the evening meal in the restaurant were spot on. Not one complaint from all my guests (about 30). The place and grounds are superb. Could do with a little investment in the small detailing around the building but hotel and grounds for me, we’re stunning!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Dear Thomas, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this 5-star review! We love hearing how much you enjoyed your birthday party and we are delighted that we played a small part in this. We know there are numerous choices for a customer when it comes to event venues; it means the world to us that you’ve chosen us for such a special occasion and that we managed to deliver your expectations. It was a pleasure serving you and your guests and thank you again for supporting our local business - we hope you’ll visit us again in the future. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
fja424 wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a big family reunion at the Astley Bank Hotel and the hotel gave us a fantastic weekend. Everything was perfect. From the lovely bedrooms which everyone in our group were so pleased with, to the ever helpful room manager and the attentive, friendly and so helpful reception staff through to the restaurant staff, made staying with you so pleasurable. On top of that the wonderful meal on the Saturday night in your private dining room, which everyone thought was just brilliant and the fantastic events manager, for whom nothing was too much, ensured that we had a brilliant family get-together, which delighted everyone, not an easy feat! Everyone at the hotel made sure that we all had a magnificent time and every member of my family commented on what a perfect venue you are. Thank you so much. I can recommend your hotel without reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Beautiful countryside around Darwen
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Dear FJA424, We can't thank you enough for such an amazing review. We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your family reunion. It’s an honour to host such a lovely occasion, and we are just so happy that we play our small part in making it special. We also thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our team, I made sure to share this feedback with the staff members you mentioned to give them the recognition that they deserve - they were delighted to hear your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sue b wrote a review Sept 2023
Chichester, United Kingdom23 contributions31 helpful votes
Love this place. Our favourite hotel for Sunday lunch and family celebrations. We have had our parents 90 th birthday party 3 years ago and last week their 70 th wedding anniversary celebration. Wonderful food and beautiful dining room. The staff are so attentive and special mention to Sue and John who looked after us all so well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 21 Sept 2023
Dear Sue, We’re so delighted to hear that you chose to celebrate your parents' anniversary with us! It’s an honour to be a part of this important day, and we hope the food and service made it extra special. We wish them many more years of happiness together and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan N wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
+1
Beautiful and well cared for rooms. The whole hotel is outstanding and the staff are a credit and very friendly. Loved it so much booked to come back in 2 weeks. Lovely grounds and places to sit outside cant wait to return
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 21 Sept 2023
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful a review - it's very much appreciated! We continuously work to create good experiences for our customers and your feedback makes it all worthwhile. I'll be sure to pass your lovely comments to the whole of the team. We thank you for booking to come back and we look forward to serving you. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne R wrote a review Jul 2023
Preston, United Kingdom12 contributions13 helpful votes
Afternoon Tea treat fom our daughter on Saturday 29th July..The best afternoon Tea we have ever had.Everyhing was first class I would recommend it to everyone.Staff couldn't have been more helpful,they did not rush us at all and we were sat at our table quite some time.The food was excellent so top marks to Astley Bank and thank you to all. Anne Roscoe
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Dear 51nner, We can't thank you enough for the amazing 5-star review, it brightens our day and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do. We are delighted that you though our afternoon tea is the best you ever had. We’ll continue striving to provide exceptional service and outstanding food to make every interaction with us remarkable. Thanks again for taking the time to share this review. It was a pleasure serving you, we hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sara H wrote a review Jul 2023
Melbourne, Australia99 contributions43 helpful votes
We went for Sunday lunch and it was superb. Set meal of three courses for a fixed price. The ham and brie 'compression' was excellent. Well made and tasty. Rib of beef with all the trimmings and proper gravy was excellent. And it was proper gravy. By then I was so full, but I had to have a dessert so had the chocolate plate, which was nicely judged and not too big. The place is genteely shabby and I was itching to take some Cif to the woodwork which is scuffed and grubby in places, but the service was attentive and organised. We chose poorly for our glasses of red wine so when we were asked if everything was OK we said we didn't like the wien and it was swapped for something else and we weren't charged. If I lived in the area I'd go back regularly. Other diners were elderly or three generation family groups. Note there is a vegetarian option for all courses.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ham and brie compression is delicious. Roast beef is superb. Sunday lunch is to be recommended....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear P1961FJSarah, Thank you so very much for the 5-star review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the service. Our team here at Astley Bank is committed to providing high-quality customer service, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made a good impression on you. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Kindest regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Terry M wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
We have eaten at this hotel several times over the years, and it never fails to impress. Visited again this week for a meal to celebrate my wife's birthday. Once again, the food, and especially the service, was of the highest standard. Will definitely continue to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stath Georgiadis, General Manager at Astley Bank Hotel
Responded 21 Jul 2023
Dear Terry, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this 5-star review! We are delighted to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed your visit to Astley Bank and it’s wonderful to know that you liked the food and service. We are fully aware that there are a lot of choices when it comes to food and drink, and it means the world to us that you’ve chosen to book an experience with our restaurant and team. Thank you again for supporting our local business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Stath General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireDarwen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ASTLEY BANK HOTEL - Updated 2023 Reviews (Darwen)

Frequently Asked Questions about Astley Bank Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Astley Bank Hotel?
Nearby attractions include My Vintage (0.6 miles), Hopstar Brewery (0.3 miles), and Darwen Heritage Centre (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Astley Bank Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Astley Bank Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Astley Bank Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Astley Bank Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Astley Bank Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dolly's Tearoom And Restaurant, The Bridgewater, and Essence Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar.
Is Astley Bank Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Darwen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Astley Bank Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Astley Bank Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Astley Bank Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Polish, Greek, Korean, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Astley Bank Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Turton Tower (4.4 miles).