We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Oak

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak
See the most recent reviews
Showing 283: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2015

I am a regular at the Oak....but tonight I may have had the best sweet in my life. Salted Caramel Panne Cotte, beyond amazing!!!! The whole menu was fabulous and we had a great meal but I had to write this for the pudding

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline57
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We booked the superior room. The staff allowed us early check-in and late check-out. Many thanks for allowing this to us. The room was very big and spacious. Very good power shower. Very quiet rooms. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amie P
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Went as a group of five for Sunday Lunch and between as tried various starters, roast dinners and desserts. All were very well cooked and very tasty. There was masses of meat on the main courses and it was all cooked to perfection. I had the duo of lamb which was delicious. If there is any criticism it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
Cambridge
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Had a business dinner here after visiting East Midlands airport. I arrived slightly earlier than my colleagues so had some time to absorb the surroundings along with a delicious icy pint of Peroni. Nice, fresh, new, and clean feel to the building, bar and restaurant. Friendly and engaging staff and locals. Considering we were a relatively large group the service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KnownTravelWriter
Bridgette R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your visit and sincerely apologise about the fish that was served. Since your visit in May, we have changed the fish on the menu to avoid similar experiences. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Having a rare night off from parenting duties, we are precious about where we dine out as a couple and/or with friends. The Royal Oak is the perfect place to go, somewhere we have come to rely on because of its consistently high standards. Celebrating a friends birthday, 7 of us booked a table with ease on the website. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BusinessMumOf4
Bridgette R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon, with or without the kids! Kind regards, The Royal Oak Team

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Booked a table for lunch for mums birthday and we were advised that everything was cooked fresh to order but we did not anticipate the length we would have to wait but on reflection it was worth waiting for !! Absolutely delicious and the service was second to none-well done

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA G
Bridgette R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Wisborough Green
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We were advised to eat here by the B & B owners down the road and we were very pleasantly surprised by what we discovered. We had booked and upon arrival were shown to our table without delay, with a warm friendly smile. The friendly service was mirrored by all the staff on duty throughout the evening. When the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
Bridgette R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

I came here for a work meal as a group of 9, the table was booked in advance and as we were ordering before 6.30 we had the early evening menu, which offers 3 courses for £18, which is fantastic value. The inside was really cosy, with a separate bar area and a nicely decorated restaurant area. Staff were incredibly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Marie F
Bridgette R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your works meal and hope everyone else did too! Hopefully we will see you all soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We were delighted to find this gem. Perfect in every way. From the moment of arrival to the time of our departure, we could not fault the service, food or accommodation. At dinner, the chef presented us with a perfect culinary experience, worthy of any fine dining restaurant and of course the standard was maintained in the morning, with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Bridgette R, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

I have passed your thoughts onto our chefs who thank you for such a lovely review. It really does make their day when they know someone has enjoyed all the hard work they put in. Kind regards, The Royal Oak Team

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Stayed here twice this year first in May and we went back in July. There is ample paved parking onsite, each room has parking outside sometimes people visiting the pub/restaurant will park in them. There is enough parking on the property. It is secure, did not feel the need to chain the bikes to a fence or pole. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyer72

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Whatton
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
754 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
563 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
309 reviews
3.5 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
667 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#3 of 8 in Castle Donington
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A chic village gastropub with rooms, located 3.1 miles from East Midlands Airport, 4.6 miles off the M1 motorway and 5.3 miles from the Great Central Railway. The contemporary rooms have en suite shower rooms with luxury toiletries, as well as 32-inch flat-screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, mini fridges and the superior room has extra space and a sofa area. A full English or continental breakfast is included, while an upscale modern British menu is served in the rustic-chic pub, which has exposed brick details, beamed ceilings and fireplaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: 26 The Green, Long Whatton, Loughborough LE12 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough > Long Whatton
Price Range: £77 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Long Whatton
The Royal Oak Long Whatton, Leicestershire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles I2011XAdeborahk, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are on the ground floor, Courtyard-style with parking outside - so simply choose on size/price & availability.”
 of 5 bubbles Aitch22, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great and are separate from the bar restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles paulv616, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Al rooms are off the road and are in the courtyard - you will all get a chance to hear the early morning birdsong!”
 of 5 bubbles clivett, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 5, 6 & 7 are further into the property so quieter”
 of 5 bubbles eyer72, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5