We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The St. James Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (164)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 9 hotels in Grimsby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Squash offsite
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
579Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 116
  • 169
  • 141
  • 75
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ursula Ironbird wrote a review Feb 2024
Grimsby, United Kingdom2 contributions
Had a long week and couldn't be bothered with the fuss of cooking a Sunday lunch, so decided to try out the carvery at St James Hotel. I certainly wasn't disappointed, the roast pork was beautifully cooked and the cauliflower cheese was to dies die for. I was hoping to have some apple crumble, but I didn't have the room. Perfect excuse to go again. The restraunt was light and spacius, with a lovely view of the church, the staff were friendly and attentive. Will definitely go again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at The St. James Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank You for your positive comments on you recent visit to the Minster View Restaurant look forward to welcoming you back on you next visit Thank you Regards The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mr f wrote a review Feb 2024
Richmond, United Kingdom46 contributions14 helpful votes
we have stayed at the st james a lot it is good for us as its close to the shops and not far to go and see my wifes family its a nice hotel the staff are nice and helpfull the rooms are a good size the decor could do with a bit of love and attention we had showers as the bath had a chunk of enamel missing and had gone rusty we have eaten in the hotel a few times and have had a few little problems we had invited our nephew for dinner he had scampi and chips looked good Ihad the mixed grill looked good my wife ordered a thai red curry with chicken(we could not believe what came to the table) it looked like a plate of vomit (who the hell puts peas and carrots and cauliflower (that was so under cooked she could not cut it ) we complained and the waitress looked as if she wanted the ground to swollow her up its not her fault i have been a chef for over 50 years we could not believe it the managment should send someone in undercover to see what goes on in house we will stay at the hotel again but will never eat there ever again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: its a nice stay just dont eat at the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at The St. James Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Were sorry about the experience you had on your recent visit to the Minister View Restaurant and thank you on taking the time to provide feedback. on your next stay please ask for me when staying were we will make up for it on you next visit sorry on this occasion we did not meet expectations and for giving me feed back to to rectify Regards Sales Manager Paul George
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jack S wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Went in for the Sunday dinner today and it was absolutely banging. All home made, the cauli cheese was bang bang. All my favourite meats, nice and tender, lovely roast carrots and parsnips. No where in gy does a nice fresh Sunday carvery like this anymore so it’s nice to have found this little gem just on my doorstep for £13. Staff were all lovely and welcoming. Hope this review gets a few more customers in as it was quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at The St. James Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments on you recent visit to the Minster View Restaurant look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit Thank you Regards The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The Bored Traveler wrote a review Feb 2024
Amsterdam, The Netherlands184 contributions31 helpful votes
My company booked this hotel for me, which was a good choice, since it is near the station (5 minute walk) and the city centre. My first encounter was at the front desk, the lady was really friendly and helpful, and that goes also for the rest of the staff. But if you look better, the hotel has seen better days.. the room, was clean, but you could see again, that some renewal wouldn't be bad. And, the room was and stayed warm, even after trying to do something with the radiator. Dinner and breakfast: good, breakfast is basic (English). But the dinner: good, the Chili is great. And again, a friendly staff. Also they have a big choice with beverages. If the upkeep was better, I would give the hotel 5* instead of the 4* I gave it now.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at The St. James Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for you comments on your recent review and the service the team gave you on Your stay at the St James Hotel Will pass on to the Reception and Restaurant and kitchen team they will de delighted. look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Thank You Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bags wrote a review Feb 2024
Binfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
Terrible terrible terrible - checked in at 7pm to be given a room that can only be described as smelling like drains, they were good enough to change it but unfortunately the only other family suite available was right next to the square in Grimsby facing the pubs and bars, ideal if you really want to be close to the swearing and shouting in the town but not great if you want to sleep. TV didn’t work, Duvets so thin they had been on a diet, pillows uncomfortable. Great location if you need to stay up all night. So dated as well chip paper in the rooms, needs a complete overhaul including double glazing, feel sorry for the staff as they were all super friendly but they are flogging a wrong un here. Please invest in double glazing at the minimum to keep the noise out
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid on weekends as too noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at The St. James Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest Sorry we did not meet your Expectation on this accession and the room issues you had hopefully will be able to welcome you back on your next visit if call the Hotel direct and ask for the Sales manager will make you next visit a more pleasurable stay Regards Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marj P wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Always enjoy a relaxing visit here. Room always clean and comfy. Fresh towels. Lovely toiletries. Food good and tasty. Dave always goes above and beyond and makes a top latte and on this visit we met Troy who was good and made a good latte too (think Dave trained him) Always look forward to staying. Staff on front desk deserve recognition too. Ann was very good. See you all soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great place to stay with train station nearby. We just park in carpark and jump on train into...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at The St. James Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you were so happy you enjoyed your stay at the St James Hotel. Will pass on your lovely feedback to the the hotel team look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit Thank you again Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Craig wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Alway enjory coming here staff are really good dave staff there was really good and the food was really nice as well as the room. we alway come back here it ralaxing in hotel when having a drink at the bar troy staff was very good with us to. will alway get 10 out 10 here
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at The St. James Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the St James look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. will let Dave and Troy no of you service you received will be so pleased Thank You Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roy F wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Tried the plate service carvery or Sunday roast. Very disappointing. Having visited before Xmas were food was cooked fresh and tasty today it was like a frozen re heated meal cremated. Roast potatoes were over cooked and Sally pig in blanket cremated as was the stuffing to rope it all when pour from gravy boat a large piece of congiled skin fell onto the plate.seeing as it's 12.95 same for plate or carvery .save your money and go with carvery.given a choice of meat .New it was beef as it was pink but the white srios of meat were panned fried salty .Will be a swerve from me in future.had better at home.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
M Bramley wrote a review Dec 2023
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited yesterday as a party of 4 , customer service poor , i ordered fish and chips with bread and butter , I had to ask 2ce for the bread and it eventually came once I finished my meal , not the best fish either , maybe the staff was just having a bad day ! Won’t be in a rush to return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at The St. James Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your resent meal. I was of course disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. I have addressed you concerns of the service you had on your visit and the standard of of meal and addressed this with are Restaurant team and Kitchen team thank you for bringing this to are attention Regards Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ombudsman wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Stayed over due to being locked out of my house after a few over Xmas, there was a young lad called Jack that made me feel better about my predicament with all his funny stories and I learnt he was from the kitchen not even front of house so he must of been on a break.. What commitment. Room service fab, pillows spot on.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Grimsby area.
PRICE RANGE
£43 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the st james hotel, st james hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLincolnshireGrimsby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ST. JAMES HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Grimsby)

Frequently Asked Questions about The St. James Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The St. James Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escapologic Nottingham (0.2 miles), Ali Baba Cabs (0.1 miles), and Cryptology Nottingham (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The St. James Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The St. James Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The St. James Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The St. James Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fothergills, Kottaram, and The Cumin Restaurant.
Does The St. James Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The St. James Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The St. James Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The City of Caves (0.3 miles), Green's Windmill (1.0 miles), and Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem (0.2 miles).