Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Crab Manor Hotel

Bora Bora
Traveller (1362)
Room & Suite (147)
Dining (72)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Asenby
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice

See why so many travellers make Crab Manor Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Asenby. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a luxury setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as Crab Manor Hotel offers guests free wifi.

Plus, Crab Manor Hotel offers a hot tub and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out Crab & Lobster Restaurant, one of the seafood restaurants that can be found in Asenby, which is a short distance from Crab Manor Hotel.

At Crab Manor Hotel, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Asenby.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Free breakfast
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
1,362Review19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,062
  • 151
  • 68
  • 42
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
carlhankey wrote a review Feb 2020
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom18 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Crab Manor Hotel with my girlfriend as a treat. The whole experience was fantastic. The saying rings very true in this case, in that you get what you pay for. We ate in the Crab and Lobster pub for lunch upon arrival before checking in. The setting is very quirky with live musicians playing while you eat, which we really enjoyed. The food was excellent. Though we felt it was a little overpriced, in particular paying almost £40 for a standard bottle of wine. Two starters, two mains and a bottle of wine come to £110 to give you an idea of pricing. There was a small issue but the management handled the incident impeccably.

The place really comes into its own when you check-in to the hotel itself. The staff are very well presented and extremely courteous and helpful. I have stayed in some very nice hotels over the years, and although the facilities here wouldn’t match the better ones the Shangri La Suite itself is the best room I’ve stayed in anywhere. It certainly has the wow factor, was huge, with a very high level of furnishings. The bathroom in particular with the double basins, double shower, and standalone bath is stunning. We literally checked-in at 3pm and the furthest we went was the private hot tub. It was sheer bliss. The only thing I would say to the hotel is that their own website photos do not do the rooms justice at all. They should have more photos, and a virtual video that allows you to view the rooms individually. We would definitely stay again and for a romantic night away is was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Shangri La Suite is stunning and pure indulgence. We would definitely recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunshine Lady wrote a review Sept 2020
Knaresborough, United Kingdom31 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We both thoroughly enjoyed our annual trip to the Crab and Lobster, despite the Covid restrictions everything was its usual very high standard. We drove over to Semerwater near Bainbridge and had a beautiful walk in glorious sunshine around the lake then travelled to the Crab and Lobster for 3pm check in. We had two nights in The Hermitage which was beautifully appointed. The privacy of your own hot tub and sauna is great. As we had previously earned 3 stamps on our passport we had a complimentary bottle of Tattinger champagne delivered at a time of our choice. It’s a great incentive, next year we have earned £50 off our bill. Due to Covid there was a one way system in place inside and out which worked well. Good social distancing in the restaurant etc. The menu was reduced but still plenty of delicious choices over the 2 night stay. Can highly recommend the queenie scallops, delicious to share as a starter. We usually have fish the first night and meat the second. Excellent halibut for me and tuna for hubby. He had the oysters which he said were delicious and so fresh tasting. Ribeye and pork the next night, all beautifully cooked and presented, vegetables always crisp and tasty. Sadly no room for desserts either night, maybe next year. The secret beer tap was out of action due to Covid, but if you mentioned this to the barman, he was more than happy to give you a couple of drinks of your choice from the Crab Hotel bar. All the staff are great, friendly, polite and helpful. The housekeeping staff always do a fantastic job, there was no room servicing on the second day due to Covid but we mentioned we needed a few bits and some fresh towels to one of the ladies and when we got back from having a drink outside the pub everything in the room had been room replenished. Thanks ladies...The weather on day two wasn’t great, warm but rained most of the day. To be honest it really didn’t bother us as the hot tub had a huge umbrella over it so we stayed in there most of the day. I can not recommend the Crab and Lobster highly enough.... see you next year !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
engies wrote a review Jan 2020
redcar26 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As always our warm welcome, room, attentive service and delightful meal experience mean we return time after time to The Crab and Lobster.
Our favourive venue to chill out in a relaxed atmosphere and never have we been dissapointed.
In January we stayed in Burj Al Arab as we like this room and stayed in it before, this visit only to find the bathroom had had a full refurbishment ,we loved it, very tastfuly decorated with beautiful black flooring and tiles and a walk in shower rather than bath.
The food was delicious Scallops black pudding and belly pork to start with it was perfectly cooked and the flovours and seasoning just spot on. mains consisted of Goan fish curry what a real treat the fish was light and cooked as it should served with a separate jug of sauce so as not to drown the fish flavour too much, the spicy rice was perfect, yet again the combination of flavours was outstanding, both our desserts as well were gorgeous Rhubarb Mille-feuille perfect layers of crip flaky pasty with pastry cream and a tart sauce with Rhubarb glaze, one of the best puddings I have ever had also the Cheescake my Husband had was lovely we usually go for the Assiette however though we should have a change..
If you havent tried a visist get yourself there and you will have a wonderful night.
AMAZING.
Read more
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
664Anna_F wrote a review Aug 2020
Durham, United Kingdom32 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Crab Manor is in the most beautiful setting, the gardens are gorgeous.
On arrival we were met by a masked man who asked us to hand sanitise and follow the one way system to check in, all ran smoothly and was Covid friendly as were all the staff! We were shown to Montauk and WOW the suite £350 a night was fabulous! The hot tub and sauna are set in a private garden at the front of the suite and well maintained, although there was considerable road noise. The suite is huge and comfortable with a walk in shower and roll top bath, it has air conditioning and a fridge which were both great as the weather was so hot! The mini bar was disappointing, in the alcohol department there were three different miniatures, an individual bottle of Prosecco and one bottle of Peroni!
Raffles, however, was awful in comparison £275 a night. The outside area was very neglected and unloved, spider webs everywhere, even under the canopy over the hot tub, horrendous, if you have arachnophobia give this one a miss! The room was clean and comfortable, however, it has had its day, no air con, no windows that opened and the sauna is in the bathroom ( no shower) far too hot and uncomfortable! No fridge!
The journey down to The Crab and Lobster is not great if you have mobility issues, many steps to negotiate or through the gardens with a gravel path and some steep areas if using a stick!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith wrote a review Oct 2020
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed at Crab Manor on many occasions previously to the extent we are on our second passport, we were really looking forward to this stay.

We booked a table at the Crab and Lobster for 1pm, unfortunately there was no reservation, but this was rectified quickly.
The food was excellent as always, however the waiter was a little slow, we asked for the wine list twice and had to ask for water twice.

We stayed in Ruka Lodge, this was our second time staying here and it now looks a little dated compared to the last time we stayed.
The bathroom was full of cobwebs and the bath taps need tightening down, the shower leaks everywhere and the hot tub cover is ripped. All small things but for £275 a night it should all be perfect.
One of the bath robes supplied had ripped buckles, which should have been noticed before it was put out.

The biggest turn off was the state of the TV remote control, it looked like it hadn’t been cleaned or sanitised since the room was built. Due to the current climate this is so so poor. After seeing this I couldn’t help but think about how much of the room is actually sanitised between guests checking out and in.

I reported the remote control to the receptionist on check out, she stated she would pass my complaint to house keeping. To be honest it didn’t seem like she was too bothered and I’d be surprised if she passed it on at all.

It’s a real shame that a hotel that used to be excellent has changed so much, we will not be returning to crab manor in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MitchBatty wrote a review Oct 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Accommodation review:
Stayed in the Bora Bora lodge. Room was spot on, excellent bathroom and hot tub area

Restaurant review:
Had both Sunday lunch and evening meal, I would definitely recommend driving there just for a Sunday lunch

Staff review:
I could not be more grateful for the staff.
I used this weekend to propose to my now fiancée
Spoke to the staff the weekend before arriving and discussed proposal plans. Dropped everything off Friday in preparation for Sunday, the receptionist was fully aware of the plans
While we was having the evening meal, the staff checked we was eating and then prepped the room
What a job they did, they went above & beyond and all with a smile
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
M.Taylor wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed for one night at the hotel in the Bora Bora themed room for her birthday and ate at the Crab and Lobster Restaurant both for dinner and breakfast. We found the room spotless and couldn't fault the cleanliness. The room was lovely although there is only one Velux style window that is too high to see out of but we didn't particularly find that an issue. The bed was very comfortable and the in room facilities were what you would expect from a room in this price range. The bathroom is huge with a large bath but no stand up shower, again not an issue for us. Be warned though, there is no door between the bedroom and bathroom, just a partition that you can move across to give you some privacy. Since my partner and I have been together six years that wasn't an issue but couples in newer relationships might struggle with it!
The hot tub area is private but looked quite run down. The tub itself was really nice but the decking needed a clean and the structure over the hot tub was covered in moss and didnt look great. That said I brought it to the attention of the hotel on checking out and received a very nice email from the manager stating that he'd been to have a look and promised to give it some attention so that shouldn't be an issue for future guests.
The food at the restaurant was amazing, pricey but amazing!
The staff were all really friendly, helpful and efficient with nothing being too much trouble. The secret free beer tap in the manor bar was a welcome surprise so be sure to look for it!
All in all we loved our stay and would definitely stay at the hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny06_11 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom59 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for my husband’s 70 birthday and it was a present from our daughters. We were unsure of what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. I have mobility problems and they even arranged for a member of staff to collect us and bring us back again to the restaurant which is normally accessed via a flight of steps. Our room was on the ground floor and really comfortable. The treats from coffee m/c in our room, treats in the lounge to the “hidden tap” made the stay all the more special. We hopefully will make a return journey but word of warning do not turn up before 3pm we turned up at 2.30 and were told to come back at 3pm !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AndyScunthorpe wrote a review Oct 2021
Scunthorpe251 contributions134 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First the good. The evenings dinner we had booked in conjunction with the Turnberry room was excellent. Very well looked after and both the lobster and the halibut were first class, it was a wonderful anniversary dinner. Secondly the not quite so good. As other reviewers have commented on our particular room and indeed others the Turnberry let it’s self down on quality due to poor design and cleanliness. Yes the room is small with odd and fake furniture but mainly the room and bathroom should be spotless especially following hygiene regulations etc from the pandemic. Dusty skirtings, dirty sink support, dirty bathroom fan, and mouldy shower tray along with the fact that you would never be able to fill the kettle up from the sink tap. The bathroom mirror light did not work. Finally all a little tired with scratched wallpaper, so on the whole the mark reflects the Crab Manor room which doesn’t come cheap!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Probably pay extra for a suite as offers could be available as normal rooms haven’t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Davidson, General Manager at Crab Manor Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Dear AndyScunthorpe, Thank you for your visit to Crab Manor and for taking the time to leave a review. I was pleased to read that the Restaurant food was 'first class' and that the team looked after you. However may I apologise if your accommodation was below our usual high standards of presentation. This is certainly unprecedented and not typical of other feedback, however we take on board your constructive comments, and I will address these with the team as we strive to keep our high standards consistently high for all guests. I do hope we could have the opportunity to welcome you back in another accommodation which I am sure will restore faith in our high standards of cleanliness and comfort. Warmest regards, Scott Davidson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vivien C wrote a review Aug 2022
Northumberland22 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in Raffles room 6th August and have to say after staying at the Crab on numerous occasions and various rooms this is the worst room I have stayed in. If this had been my first visit to the Crab I would never of come back.

The room is dark dingy and the furniture is very tired.

The bathroom has no shower and in this day and age who prefers a bath other than to soak in but not after being in the hot tub etc you really need to shower off.
The bathroom door was wedged open because either the door or floor had swollen and was hard to open thus meaning the room had a foisty smell all the time.

The wardrobes in the bedroom were not fit for use unless you were 3ft high as the clothes just creased up on the bottom and making it even smaller was the blankets in the bottom. I had to hunt for the hair dryer and didn’t find it until the next day as it was underneath the blankets in the cupboard!

When sitting at the so called dressing table the mirror was so high on the wall you had to stand.

There was only plastic wine glasses in the room. I understand the need for plastic when using the hot tub but not for in the room. At this point I went to reception and spoke to the receptionist about my concerns only to be asked if I wanted to stay or not ! Obviously I chose to stay as there was no alternative and she supplied glasses. I informed her I would be putting a complaint letter in but I thought at least the manager could of came to see me but did not

The dinner menu is very limited now and not very exciting it used to be very very good and therefore deserved the prices. However there was number of menu options unavailable already on the limited menu and £38 for halibut I feel was extortion

The outside area could do with a really good clean to get rid of all the cobwebs and replacing of all the wicker screens which are really dirty and old and cleaning of the window sills

With all of the above I ask myself would I return again after so many lovely visits in the past and the answer is probably regrettably NOT.

I believe the hotel has new owners since 3/2020 and presumably why things are just not the same
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid Raffles Room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Carole S
Peterlee, United Kingdom28 contributions10 helpful votes
I would definitely say the Shangrila, it is at the end of the building and very private, but to be honest all of the hot tubs have a lot of privacy, have a fabulous trip.
Jason B asked a question Feb 2021
York, United Kingdom1 contribution
Which is the best lodge to stay in?? Wang to take my wife for her birthday
Answer from Martin B
Sunderland, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed in the Rukka lodge which was lovely, and very handy for the restaurant. Thoroughly recommend
Grover B asked a question Nov 2020
6 contributions6 helpful votes
How far is the restaurant from the hotel?
Answer from Martin B
Sunderland, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
It’s around 150m from the main hotel down some steps through beautiful terraced gardens, it’s closer if you stay in a lodge, the restaurant was literally round the corner to our lodge
Answer from Gillian C
Durham, United Kingdom55 contributions44 helpful votes
Depending which lodge you stay in mini fridge in Montauk, Hermitage and Shangri-la I believe
Answer from Karen1Turner
Long Newton, United Kingdom16 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes they do drinks to the room. But if you want some of their delicious food, it’s just a short walk through the dining room to the restaurant which has the most amazing food and a large choice of locally produced foods. Delicious
chris wrote a tip Mar 2024
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get it booked you’ll love it"
Read full review
Deborah L wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"worth the upgrade "
Read full review
Jane C wrote a tip Feb 2024
Rotherham, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t think twice just book it….. fabulous! "
Read full review
Beverley P wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The establishment is value for money if you use the facilities E.g. Hot tub & sauna. Go in summer to fully enjoy the beautiful gardens "
Read full review
francesca123110 wrote a tip Feb 2024
York, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No, there is everything you need at the crab & lobster"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Asenby area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
crab manor asenby, hotel crab manor, crab manor hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireAsenby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CRAB MANOR HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos (Yorkshire)

Frequently Asked Questions about Crab Manor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crab Manor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include World of James Herriot (4.7 miles), St Mary's Church (4.8 miles), and Thirsk Racecourse (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crab Manor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Crab Manor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crab Manor Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crab Manor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Racha Thai Bistro, Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar, and Bianco Ristorante Thirsk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crab Manor Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Crab Manor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the centre of Asenby.
Are there any historical sites close to Crab Manor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Norton Conyers (4.8 miles).
Does Crab Manor Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Crab Manor Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire