We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The General Tarleton Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The General Tarleton Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 333: English reviews
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice quiet location. We stayed to have a night away from the kids!!! Absolutely perfect, relaxing , welcoming lovely log burner to enjoy a glass of wine in front of. Room was extremely clean , comfortable and nice touches of homemade biscuits and flavoured tea bags. Booked a table for evening meal and it did not disappoint, food was amazing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertiebigbum1
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly when you mentioned it was some of the nicest food you've had. Thank you for leaving such a detailed and complimentary review, it's always lovely when people appreciate what we do whether it's small details or our homemade black pudding. Your recommendation is much appreciated!

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely room, convenient location, delicious food. Minor gripes were the table at dinner (other diners had to get up for me to get in and out) and missing menu items at breakfast. Strongly recommend for a short couples getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry there were some missing menu items at breakfast, that should not happen and I will look into it. Thanks again for the recommendation.

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last visited this hotel 3 years ago and so phoned for to book for two nights. Read reviews after booking and was a little concerned that they were not very good. Therefore pleasantly surprised that we found the hotel, staff, rooms and restaurant were all excellent Yes one girl wore trainers but this did not detract from the superb service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterhanberger
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

It's good to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic get together at the GT. Superb food and menu, we were spoilt for choice. It was nice to have somewhere to sit and have a drink together when we came in after being out for the day? Lovely comfortable rooms with comfy beds and linen. We were well looked after by very friendly staff throughout our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viwendy
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

What a great review you've posted, thank you very much, we are all very happy to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed here recently and can say it was ok for a night. On arrival we were greeted by an enthusiastic Hugarian guy who checked us in. Our room (8) was fine despite the garish decor. Very comfy firm bed. Someone had the wisdom to fit an automatic light in the bathroom which took a good 5 minutes to turn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review and I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal. I'm sorry you experienced some niggles with your room, thank you for alerting us about them and we will follow up on all your feedback.

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The GT used to be or 'go-to' pub for a quality Saturday night meal but i was left very disappointed on Saturday evening. My grandparents had booked for their birthday so we were looking forward to a really special evening. We were hurried to our table then forgotten about. I had to get up and ask for menus by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

I am really sorry to read that you were disappointed on Saturday night and clearly did not have the experience or service that we expect. We do not want any of our customers to leave unhappy and if you would like to contact me at The GT 01423 340284 or by email gti@generaltarleton.co.uk I would be pleased to discuss it...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

A nice looking restaurant which didn't deliver on its promise. Saturday evening meal booked in advance for three. Servers were young and inexperienced. Wine menu is reasonable (if not a little pricey) however they didn't have what was listed. Eventually got our third choice wine, (not chilled enough) served very hurriedly and without thought for when we wanted it (we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank growleyone
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for review and I am sorry that in spite of all my best attempts you left feeling disappointed. Saturday night was an exceptionally busy evening and it was unfortunate that we had run out of your two first choice wines, one we had sold out of and the other we were unable to get from our supplier, whilst...

Reviewed 29 October 2016

If I ever needed half a star this would be the place - as it is more than three stars but not quite four. I really wanted to like this place; my sister has raved about it for years so was expecting something lush - it has everything it needs to be special but in reality it really doesn't come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaytie66
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kaytie66 thank you for posting such a detailed and objective review although I am mortified to read that you were underwhelmed as clearly this is not what we are aiming for. We want all our guests to be happy at the very least. I am however pleased to read that you liked the decor and layout and some of...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Weekend breaking staying and eating at GA. Rooms are lovely - very clean but you stay here for the food which is 5*. We experienced the seafood celebration for October and the food was wonderful. Staff are attentive and the whole place is extremely relaxed. Breakfast was great as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MasterAlfred
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

Dear MasterAlfred, thanks very much for posting such a great review, particularly the 5* rating for our food. We've had so many lovely comments about the Seafood Festival, I'm delighted you enjoyed it. Our annual Game Festival starts on 3 November for two weeks which is also a popular event. Thanks too for your lovely comments about our staff and...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. We were made to feel very at home and comfortable. Our room was clean and all the facilities we needed. We ate in the restaurant at night and had the choice of a large menu. At breakfast I had the best Kipper ever. We will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny41wren
Claire T, Owner at The General Tarleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a lovely review, it means a lot to the team. We will look forward to welcoming you back next time.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrensby
4.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,254 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
588 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
342 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For fabulous food, outstanding service and a luxurious overnight stay, The General Tarleton is the perfect choice. We’re housed in a beautifully renovated 18th Century Coaching Inn, with views across open countryside in the pretty North Yorkshire village of Ferrensby. It’s handy for Harrogate, Ripon and Knaresborough and not too far from York.We have a firm focus on food, using high quality locally sourced ingredients. Our patron and award-winning chef, John Topham, creates fresh tasting dishes for a menu that combines modern exciting cuisine with some ever-popular more traditional and comforting choices. Whatever your want, whatever the season, The General Tarleton is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our magnificent galleried private dining room is available, it’s perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together.To accompany your meal we have a wonderful wine cellar, many vintages often available by the glass and often at prices you will find surprisingly affordable. Our fabulous cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or coffee and liqueurs afterwards. With sumptuous chairs and sofas, and a welcoming log fire for the chilly evenings, you may find it hard to leave.Who really wants to drive after a delicious dinner and a glass or two of fine wine? So why not treat yourself and stay over? We have 13 stylish bedrooms, each individually decorated and appointed to the highest of standards, with little touches of luxury and comfort for a truly relaxing night. And of course, a hearty Yorkshire breakfast is included too.What is fantastic food without superior service? We’re committed to delivering service that is a little more special. Our staff are professionals dedicated to excellence so you can be assured of the highest standards of service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Whatever you might want, we aim to provide it, so if you have a special request, please let us know. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The General Tarleton Inn

Address: Boroughbridge Road, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ferrensby
Price Range: £91 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The General Tarleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The General Tarleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Tarleton Hotel Ferrensby
The General Tarleton Inn Ferrensby, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The General Tarleton Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The General Tarleton Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had wifi, but not accessible in the room. Rooms at the rear had a very poor outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles davidwY3362MC, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best to ask for a room on the first floor or away from the car park”
 of 5 bubbles Tororeal, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over only used restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles lynb342, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not go on ground floor as must be very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles NigelS283, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 10, 12 or 14 (avoid 8 - squeeky creaky corridor floor outside)”
 of 5 bubbles Jingle05, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay