We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Pheasant Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (349)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (63)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Harome
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Pheasant has arguably one of the most beautiful Country Hotel settings in North Yorkshire, over looking the duckpond in the picturesque village of Harome. Originally converted from the blacksmith's shop, village shop and barns, the main part of the hotel offers 1 single and 11 double rooms, whilst in the courtyard are 2 suites, Pheasant Suite and Plum Cottage, each with its own private entrance, 2 further dog-friendly family cottages which each have 2 bedrooms and the heated indoor swimming pool. The stylish and highly individual interiors give the accommodation a homely and welcome feel, which continues throughout the public areas: the lounge, bar, conservatory, dining room and terrace, providing a variety of options of where to eat or enjoy a drink. The Pheasant has established a reputation for great food using the best local and seasonal ingredients. It currently holds 2 AA rosettes and 3 AA Red Stars and is Visit York's Small Hotel of the Year 2024.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
717Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 588
  • 82
  • 31
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
John Waine wrote a review 11 Apr
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom2 contributions
We stayed here to celebrate a special birthday and from the moment we walked in, to when we left after our 3 night stay everything was special!! We were warmly met at the door and shown to our beautifully decorated room (Bilsdale) overlooking the courtyard (which was good for people watching) and a nicely chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us, as requested. This hotel is an absolute joy, perfectly decorated and furnished, but what makes this hotel really special is Liam and all the staff, they go over and beyond to make your stay memorable. The food was delicious and lived up to it's Rosette standard. Due to an early start one morning to catch the first North Yorkshire Moors Railway train to Whitby we couldn't make breakfast but were immediately offered a packed brunch to take with us instead, which we both very much enjoyed sitting on the train. A beautiful sitting room with a roaring log fire is available for all guests to relax in anytime of the day. A varied selection of board games, magazines and books are also there to enjoy and of course a well stocked bar is always available. We very much look forward to returning to this award winning country hotel in the summer months to enjoy the garden and outside area. Thank you all so much for making this such a memorable stay. Janet and John
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
joe c wrote a review 3 Apr
1 contribution
The pheasant Hotel was fantastic best hotel I’ve stayed in Liam and his team did anything and more for us while we was there The Room was faultless Great welcoming Food / breakfast very good Well recommended We’ll be going back soon for another stay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Gooder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pheasant Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you so much for your very kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant again soon! Kind regards from all the Pheasant Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa Holmes wrote a review Mar 2024
Haxby, United Kingdom1 contribution
We have just returned home from a really enjoyable stay in your beautiful hotel. We were greeted with a warm welcome and Liam and all the staff couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in Plum Cottage which was both beautiful and very relaxing, we sat on the terrace over looking the duck pond and actually felt sun on our faces ! I'm not sure that the hotel provided that, but it was well received by us. The food was outstanding I can highly recommend the rabbit and fish pie, whilst my husband went for venison and beautiful steak. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of options to choose from. All in all we had a fantastic stay and will be back soon. Thank you so much
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Gooder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pheasant Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you so much for your very kind words. Plum Cottage is definitely a favourite with our guests, particularly when the weather is kind! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant again soon! Kind regards from all the Pheasant Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Douglasbader999 wrote a review Mar 2024
Marton, United Kingdom35 contributions32 helpful votes
Having visited the Pheasant on several previous occasions for a drink, we chose to stay there for two nights to celebrate a significant birthday. From the minute we arrived to our checkout everything was perfect. Liam and his team are all so professional and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant and at breakfast is second to none and we ate like kings. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Pheasant to anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Gooder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pheasant Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you so much for your very kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant again soon! Kind regards from all the Pheasant Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
867tony wrote a review Mar 2024
Skipton, United Kingdom12 contributions21 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Pheasant several times and always had enjoyable stays, this being no exception. The lovely staff looked after us very well and we enjoyed the evening. Dinner was delicious, especially the fish pie and the souffle. We look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Gooder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pheasant Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you so much for your very kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant again soon! Kind regards from all the Pheasant Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
royplayer151 wrote a review Mar 2024
York, United Kingdom4 contributions8 helpful votes
We celebrated and we remembered the life of my dear mother who would have been 91 on the 11th of March. The Pheasant was mum’s favourite restaurant and proved to be the perfect place for a wonderful gathering of her friends. I had informed the team, at the restaurant, as to the situation and when we arrived everyone was welcomed with great warmth. The table had been set beautifully. The service was excellent and the food superb. An outstanding setting with kind and thoughtful staff. It was a perfect tribute to my dear mum.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Gooder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pheasant Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much, Mr Player, for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed dining with us last week to pay tribute to your Mum and thank you so much for your very kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant again soon! Kind regards from all the Pheasant Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda D wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
A good experience from checking in to breakfast the following morning. Was greeted by Liam and taken to a lovely room (Bilsdale) the small bottle of Sloe gin was a real bonus 😋 I had a lovely pre dinner swim in the small pool. The staff are all lovely and friendly. The meal was very good. Breakfast was one of the best we have had this year. We will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Gooder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pheasant Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you so much for your very kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant again soon! Kind regards from all the Pheasant Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DizzyDebbieDee wrote a review Mar 2024
Lincoln, United Kingdom83 contributions84 helpful votes
We have been coming to the pheasant for years either on our own or with friends but our latest visit was not to the standard we would normally expect. The establishment is still a very beautiful one in a fabulous location. Our room was to the usual high standard we have come to expect. However, we were very disappointed with the food both in terms of presentation quality and portion size. Actually we were quite shocked as we have never had cause to criticise the food which in the past has been the highlight of our stay. My husband’s cooked breakfast was quite frankly “mean” and the produce was of poor quality, the bacon was very thin and dry and I would have been embarrassed to serve it. We didn’t say anything at the time as we were both quite shocked. We paid our bill and came away feeling totally underwhelmed and feeling that our stay just wasn’t worth the money as the food had been “dumbed down” significantly.c When we got home and had a closer look at what we had been charged we couldn’t believe how much the prices had increased. For eg a bottle of Drappier champagne which we normally are charged £60 for was £90. We don’t mind paying for great food but we felt we had been ripped off somewhat. I am writing this review in the hope that this criticism is taken on board and that improvements are made to bring the standards up to the level we have enjoyed in the past otherwise we will not be back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarah L wrote a review Mar 2024
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom8 contributions9 helpful votes
The good bits - picturesque location, cosy communal areas with log fires in lounge and bar area - very comfy and home from home vibe. Lovely interiors, Clean room, Service good. The bad bits - very expensive and food not hugely value for money (ie £40 for steak and chips - it was nice but by anyone’s standards that’s steep), Poor shower pressure, Cockerels crowing from 3.30am relentlessly so very poor sleep (we were in Harland Room), bright light in hallway left on all night - easily could have been dimmed to make the room more comfortable. Pool was closed for cleaning for a big chunk of our stay so we had the option of swimming at only 5pm or 8am - neither were ideal. Probably wouldn’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be mindful that the £50 pp food allocation does not go very far, consider rural locations not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Gooder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pheasant Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2024
First, let me thank you for your review, it takes a lot for anyone to spend time writing here. I am so sorry that our country retreat kept you awake, I will make sure to add to our booking confirmations that local wildlife might be awake before any of our guests, the countryside is wild. Your breakdown of our dishes shows a very minimalist view of our food and the providence of our produce. Our 'Steak and Chips' is not just as described, we pride ourselves in using the best butchers and farms that we can find. Our 60-day dry aged Steak goes from farmer to restaurant and I am sorry but the price of that quality meat and the aging process does mean an increase in cost. I am more sorry that you had to have your steak cooked well done, a little bit of a waste. The same goes for our breakfast offering, if you had asked we would have provided anything, and I mean anything, that you wanted. All you have to do is ask. The pool is closed for a few hours once a week for cleaning, between 10 am and 5 pm, every Thursday, I am sorry that you could not find a time to swim around that and I will discuss how we can improve this with our maintenance team. What makes me upset is the fact I (and my team) were available to you and your partner throughout your entire stay and you did not say anything. I am proud to say that I work seven days a week making sure all guests have an amazing stay with us, you should have just told me about your concerns whilst you were with us, I may have been able to fix them. Liam McDonnell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pandg2016 wrote a review Feb 2024
Scotland, United Kingdom4 contributions
We have just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel . On our arrival we were greeted and made to feel very welcome , by the GM , Liam . We have spent ten years in the hospitality trade and it was evident from the moment we arrived what a tight ship Liam runs . The staff were delightful , courteous and discreet . The ambience of the public areas was perfect - candles and fresh flowers adding to the atmosphere. Supper was delicious, made with great attention to detail and with the best of ingredients. Breakfast was a veritable feast. Do visit - you won’t be disappointed !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Gooder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pheasant Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you so much for your very kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant again soon! Kind regards from all the Pheasant Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harome area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarome
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PHEASANT HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos (Harome)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pheasant Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pheasant Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Centre for Birds of Prey (2.8 miles), Fairfax & Favor Helmsley (2.4 miles), and Ampleforth Abbey (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pheasant Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Pheasant Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at The Pheasant Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pheasant Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pheasant Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pignut restaurant, The Cocoa Tree, and Cornercopia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Pheasant Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is The Pheasant Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Harome.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pheasant Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rievaulx Abbey (4.8 miles), Nunnington Hall (2.1 miles), and Helmsley Castle (2.5 miles).
Is The Pheasant Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.