Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dale Farm

Bartindale Road, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0JD England
Feast for the eyes and the tummy
Traveller (237)
Twin studio
Room & Suite (33)
Enjoy the nearby beaches
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 farmhouse in Hunmanby
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Dale Farm is a 200 year old farmhouse set in the Yorkshire Wolds and close to the stunning Yorkshire Coast. Fully refurbished accommodation includes cosy B&B rooms, luxurious self-contained studios, a summerhouse and 3 pretty 'Glamping' cabins in the woodland. Ideal for walkers and cyclists, some of the accommodation is dog friendly. Open all year.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
152Reviews2Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 12
  • 6
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
V H wrote a review Aug 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom159 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The woodland cabins are very comfortable and a pleasure to stay in.

There are electric cooler boxes in each which are ideal for storing perishables. Each has two plates, cups, bowls, knives, forks, spoons and teaspoons. The beds are really comfortable.

The three cabins share a single but very nice, clean, indoor shower room and loo which is connected to one of the farmhouse buildings

The wifi is inconsistent which is great for getting kids off their phones.

COVID makes it hard to book into local restaurants so you need to be organized and book ahead if you’re eating out.

The nearby coast is stunning.

The hosts are very helpful and efficient.

The breakfast butties are very good.

It’s very dog friendly and the owners have a lovely dog..

We hope to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DEJohnson wrote a review Jun 2022
Holmfirth, United Kingdom207 contributions132 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the grain store for three nights. We were greeted with a friendly welcome on arrival. We had brought our own breakfast and even our own logs as we saw there was a wood burner. The grain store has a shower room with a powerful shower and hot water. The kitchen is more basic than we expected - there’s only a microwave, fridge and sink. No hob of any kind which is a shame as a little two ring camping has hob would suffice.

Getting up and down the stairs to bed was somewhat challenging (especially after a few drinks) . The bed is just a mattress on the floor but it was ok.

If you take your dog, all dogs have a free run in the grounds which was great. There’s an outside bbq and fire pit as well as a seating area.

If you’re aracnaphobic, remember you’re staying in the woods - there were plenty of spiders about inside the grain store.

Overall, it was a pleasant, quirky experience but we wouldn’t stay again primarily because of the lack of walks to the coast.

You can either walk along path-less roads or drive to hunmanby gap and pay £5 to park, then walk to Filey. If you want to go out for a drink you’re a bit snookered really.

At £125 per night, you could stay in a very nice hotel. I guess it depends what you’d prefer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family had such an amazing weekend at Dale Farm. We stayed in the summer house which was just perfect, so spacious, homely and cosy with the log burning stove adding to the ambience, such attention to detail throughout and everything you required. This was such a great location to spend with friends and explore the area, walking from Humanby to Filey (which was dog friendly) on a cold but sunny January day, such a wonderful coastline. Elizabeth and Paul were just the perfect hosts from the minute we arrived until we left. Loved the bar/snug with pool table which was a great place to socialise with special friends and the catering was delicious, 5 star. We had such a memorable weekend, thank you xx Sharon, Paul, Ben, Jake and Indy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelling_Lou1979 wrote a review Nov 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom17 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic stay in one of the cabins would definitely recommend for glamping!

The cabin was fully kitted out with crockery/cutlery snd had a table and chairs too. Bed was comfy and there was a kettle and full electrics / lamps.

The only plus/downside for me was the log burner for heating. It’s either too hot when using or too cold (I went in October) - I actually bought a little heater and kept on low which was perfect.

Great location and had a cracking stay.

First night I was the only one using my bathroom which was handy, normally 3 cabins would share one toilet/shower which could get busy. It’s also across drive / grass so won’t suit folk who are up and down for a wee in the night (I also took my own porta-loo))
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
plg101 wrote a review Oct 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom69 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A quick break in October to get some fresh air.

We rented the cottage for 3 nights. The pictures actually don't do it justice - it's a much bigger house than the photos indicate.

Warm welcome from the hosts. House nice and warm. Very very quiet at night (bonus)

Enjoyed exploring the wonderful metal sculptures in the garden which are crafted by Paul. I'm trying to persuade my wife on the benefits of a dragon in our garden...

Hunmanby is actually a pretty good location to explore the coast without staying in one of the towns. Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington are all easily accessible, as are inland locations like Scampston Hall and Castle Howard. Village has most things that you need (co-op, deli, etc)

Hunmanby Gap is a nice beach - plenty of space for everyone.

Will return here in the warmer weather and hopefully fire up the pizza oven.

Overall a very nice break for October and a nice discovery as a bolt hole for us on the coast.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chantal B wrote a review Sept 2021
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've just had a weekend in the treehouse at Dale Farm. The site is so quirky with lots of metal art and cosy places to sit (hammocks etc.) and super dog friendly. We had a breakfast hamper one morning which was delicious. The site is less than 10 mins from Hunmanby Gap beach which again is dog friendly, we had a lovely walk to Filey and back. The treehouse itself has everything you need including a fridge, kettle, toaster, BBQ (remember your own charcoal and firelighters) and chimnea for cool nights. The shower is upstairs in the treehouse and the private loo and sink are downstairs. The bed was super cosy and definitely warm enough without the log burner in mild September. We would definitely stay again, maybe in the vintage caravan or grain store. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam wrote a review Nov 2021
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay in the Grain Store at Dale Farm. It has such a cosy feel to it especially with the log fire on which makes the whole place super warm. Liz was so accommodating and made our stay happen despite a last minute change of date which despite the policy stating she didn’t have to, she managed to still accommodate our needs so we didn’t lose our money! The surrounding areas are ideal for dogs and children, away from the roads and plenty open space. We will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DurhamHolly wrote a review Sept 2020
Durham85 contributions105 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived the caravan had a few flies and a strange smell in the under sink cupboards. The flies got progressively worse even though I bought fly spray. I know this is a farm, but there were no flies outside and the flies were coming back even after being killed and the door shut. The mattress was also so old that springs were sticking through. Wrote to them about this when I got home and was just fobbed off. I hate this when people don’t mind taking money, but don’t try and resolve things. £100 a night is a lot for a caravan on a farm and it should be better. I didn’t complain at the time we were there as kept thinking the flies would go with fly spray, but they just got worse. Luckily were only there for 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Halliday, Owner at Dale Farm
Responded 30 Aug 2021
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Farms do get flies from time to time. We could easily have resolved this for you if you had let us know at the time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine L wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful warm and cosy lodge with wood burner. Clean shared toilet and shower room. Tasty good value picnic basket. Although no stove and we didn’t use the bbq having breakfast picnic basket and electric cool box was good enough to have cheese and biscuits and cold drinks. Fantastic pub lunch at horseshoe inn. Good location for coastal walks
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim M wrote a review Aug 2021
6 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
You know when you get details of properties from an Estate Agent and experience tells you it's what they don't say that is important? I wish I remembered that when booking the Garden Cottage for a week. We're a family of four with a little dog.

The website says that there is one dog allowed. True but until we got there, we didn't know that it wasn't allowed upstairs. Our dog sleeps securely in a cage on our landing when at home, so we had to leave her downstairs which made her feel nervous and led to a few sleepless nights. Oh and during the day, there is no physical means of preventing her from getting upstairs (a childgate would have been handy). We improvised by erecting the children's cot and putting this in front of the stairs.

The website says that this is a "peaceful cottage with mesmerising views". It is kind of peaceful so long as no other guests use the external toilet block which is separated from the dining room in the Garden Cottage by an old wooden door and, believe me, there is no sound-proofing!

And the mesmerising views? Well, we were kind of mesmerised when we came back from a day out on our second last day of our holiday to find a marquee erected in the one relatively private part of the garden that we could enjoy. When asked, the owners suggested that this was required for a wedding that was taking place after we had left. That's like staying in a hotel only to find that the next guests had arrived early and had used up your wardrobe space!

Oh and the website says there is a garden. Well there is but its shared with the owners who live in the house to which the Garden Cottage is attached. So if you're expecting privacy in the garden you'll be unlucky (unless of course, you ask them to erect the marquee for you!). When asked, the owners said that the website doesn't say the garden is private, which is true. What is also true is that the website doesn't say that it is shared with the owners. With that outside and the washroom sounds of the other guests audible in the dining room, we didn't relax as much as we wanted to.

The house is really comfortable and the location is great but our first holiday for two years turned out to be a big disappointment. We didn't feel like we could relax with the owners so close (although prior to the marquee incident they didn't intrude). I don't normally post reviews on Trip Advisor but this review was prompted by their reaction to all of this which was that, "you win some, you lose some". I guess with a big wedding coming up at the weekend and plenty of money to be made, we could be sacrificed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: Don't believe the hype!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Halliday, Owner at Dale Farm
Responded 9 Aug 2021
I’m sorry you felt unable to accept our genuine apology that the small marquee was erected prematurely and when we were off site. I hope it didn’t spoil the last few hours of your week too much. Incidentally the wedding was our son’s so we were not making ‘plenty of money.’ There are no private gardens at Dale Farm. We have 3 beautiful acres shared by all. Most guests enjoy this as people who prefer a private garden tend not to book. I’m not sure what you mean by hype. We just have a website which I wrote myself and genuine customer reviews whose opinions may differ from yours but that doesn’t make them wrong. My comment ‘you can’t win them all’ was simply an exasperated response to the immense lack of grace you displayed throughout your stay at our home.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Spikefisher
Driffield, United Kingdom1 contribution5 helpful votes
Hi, No you don't need to bring any bedding. The cabins now have full size beds and bedding is supplied free off charge.
Kelly S asked a question Sept 2016
York, United Kingdom49 contributions24 helpful votes
Can you stay one night? Do you have availability on the 25 Sep? Please
Answer from Spikefisher
Driffield, United Kingdom1 contribution5 helpful votes
Yes you can stay for one night and yes we do have availability for Sept 25th.
Lee Karen S wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to village bakery as it closes at 2.30!"
Read full review
Alex N wrote a tip Sept 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring cleaning equipment"
Read full review
KelfonseH wrote a tip Jul 2023
8 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"You will need your own fly zapper..it will be a losing battle though as once one crowd has been swatted another takes it’s place"
Read full review
Chrisb3011 wrote a tip Dec 2022
Carlisle, United Kingdom22 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fairly easy to get to, coming from the north west of England."
Read full review
Sian ET wrote a tip Aug 2021
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There were so many amazing places to stay but my favourites were the wedding suite and the tree house."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hunmanby area.
PRICE RANGE
£115 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireScarborough DistrictFileyHunmanby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DALE FARM - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos (Hunmanby)

Frequently Asked Questions about Dale Farm
Which popular attractions are close to Dale Farm?
Nearby attractions include Filey Beach (3.8 miles), Filey Bird Garden & Animal Park (4.1 miles), and Playdale Farm Park (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dale Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Dale Farm?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Dale Farm?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Dale Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dale Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Boat Shed, The Lighthouse Tea Room, and The Pines Coffee Lounge and Diner.
Are pets allowed at Dale Farm?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Dale Farm?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Danes Dyke (7.9 miles), Burton Agnes Hall (7.2 miles), and Hairy Bobs Cave (9.6 miles).
All Hunmanby HotelsHunmanby Hotel DealsHotels near Dale Farm
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire