We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Frenchgate Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Frenchgate Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a "rest day" during our C2C walk--and feel very lucky to have done so. Ralph, our host generously shared the history of his home, which makes a stay special for us. Breakfast was outstanding, and our room was very nice--tastefully appointed and comfortable. If we were to stay at the Frenchgate Guest House I would request one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UtahCA
East Falmouth, MA
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I stayed only one night passing through on a solo hiking trip. I will be eternally grateful for Ralph's expert, immediate, and thorough repair of a missing bolt on my bag. The room was beautiful and breakfast completely first class. I did wish there were somewhere closer for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodQ
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

From one Ralph to another, thank you for your wonderful hospitality in your brilliant guesthouse . The views from our room and dining room where amazing and the breakfast spot on . Good luck with your future plans .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RSEBI
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Stayed 3 nights visiting Richmond, We found this B&B very good indeed stayed in room 4 , Ralph is very accommodating ,and beautiful views over Richmond when having Breakfast ,which was very good and hot to , overall excellent accommodation throughout , We will stay again in 2017. Thanks Ralph.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hondapan
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We LOVE it here. Just a great B&B and one fantastic host. Ralph can't be beat. There is nothing he won't do to make his guests happy ( well, within reason). He consistently exceeds all expectation and never fails to amaze us with his exuberance, knowledge of the area, willingness to help in any way he can, and always with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The owner is obnoxious, rude and the Guesthouse was very dirty. Rushed through breakfast. Never stayed anywhere so dirty ever!! Would I recommend this place, definately not. Stay well clear of it at all costs

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheRichmondTraveller
Ralph D, Owner at Frenchgate Guest House, responded to this review

Iam never rude to anyone, it is not my style, I can only think that this has been posted by a non guest and Iam sorry that some other person has deemed it necessary to put on this comment. I believe I know who wrote the review, because he accuses others to deflect attention from his own actions.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We were walking the coast to coast route and stayed at excellent accommodation throughout thanks to macs adventures who organised the trip. However Frenchgate Guest House was one of the best. Large, spacious and comfortable bedroom. Excellent breakfast with a good choice beyond the full English - I had salmon and scrambled eggs. The breakfast really did set us up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MandP007
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We only stayed for one night, but wished it was longer. Frenchgate is a lovely guest house with beautiful rooms and a very friendly and helpful owner. Breakfast was served in a room at the back of the house with the most stunning views. Tables were shared, which encouraged conversation between guests. Breakfast itself was delicious (I would recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V138
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 15 August 2016

The owners were no where to be found. The bedrooms and decor are old fashioned and could use a do-over. It is very well located. Cooked Breakfast was disappointing and the cut lilies in the breakfast room smelled really bad. a very impersonal service at best!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexwanderlust2016
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Only here for one night but wished we could have stayed longer! Our bedrooms were very tastefully decorated with some interesting details. Our room had beams which had originally been part of Richmond Castle! Beautiful views from the conservatory/breakfast room - a very relaxing space. The choice at breakfast was excellent, all nicely presented and cooked to perfection. Ralph obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twosisters3
Ralph D, Owner at Frenchgate Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, this place is lovely and I enjoy imensley too, thank you for your kind comments. Ralph

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#6 of 50 in Richmond
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 50 in Richmond
368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
0.1 mi away
Willance House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Frenchgate Guest House

Address: 66 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Price Range: £65 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchgate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchgate Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchgate Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at back of house having amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles RSEBI, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“skip the cooked breakfast!”
 of 5 bubbles alexwanderlust2016, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the first floor. Very steep stairs up to room on the top floor”
  • View from second floor bedroom
 of 5 bubbles tuitrish59, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I had room 3. Two single beds (I was on my own). Perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles RichardCWilliams, 23 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The rooms at the back have a marvellous view over the Yorkshire Dales”
 of 5 bubbles 82briana, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5