We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tan Hill Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swaledale
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

672 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 668: English reviews
Start your review of Tan Hill Inn
 Click to rate
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We was supposed to visit the Tan hill for my sisters 30th birthday which was booked in February. The booking was cancelled by management 2 days prior to our arrival, due to the accommodation not being available. The deposit was paid and have not yet received a refund. We have rang up the Tan hill 3 times for the refund...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophik17
tracy d, Owner at Tan Hill Inn, responded to this review

Your Wild camping cancelled due to storm Doris This matter was overlooked by staff lack of reporting to us the request for a refund. While we did cancel your booking we informed you because of the severe storm is heading storm Doris,, as your accommodation included a wild camping experience , we had a duty of care to form you...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife (D Kirk earlier review with absolute nonsense owner reply) paid a deposit to book the Haglund to celebrate what would have been her daughters' 30th birthday.On the Thursday before the Saturday she was going she got a phone call cancelling the booking due to the Haglund being damp inside.On 3 occasions she has called to obtain a refund,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul S
tracy d, Owner at Tan Hill Inn, responded to this review

Your Wild camping cancelled due to storm Doris This matter was overlooked by staff lack of reporting to us the request for a refund. While we did cancel your booking we informed you because of the severe storm is heading storm Doris,, as your accommodation included a wild camping experience , we had a duty of care to form you...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I with our mad collie live in the north of Scotland and quite often zoom up and down the country without taking the time to stop and enjoy what this country has to offer en-route. This time we took our motorhome and stopped at the Tan Hill Inn, in the parking area which was lovely and peaceful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Popped in to this famous pub for a quick peek it is well worth a visit fabulous roads leading up there and a fantastic welcome bit quirky which adds to the character and a lovely surprise by the fire what a treat x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jools4850
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely comfortable stay. Super food. Nice and quiet. Very friendly staff. Our dog was very welcome. Would recommend it to anybody who wants to get away from it all. But the WiFi works too. We all had something different for our evening meal,which we all enjoyed. Breakfast was very good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slurpdog
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skyblue123P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dawn K
tracy d, Owner at Tan Hill Inn, responded to this review

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David9456
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stodd1975

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (134)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaledale
12.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
9.9 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
241 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Swaledale
279 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Charles Bathurst Inn
The Charles Bathurst Inn
#36 of 207 in Yorkshire Dales National Park
367 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tan Hill Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Tan Hill Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay as we live in Redmire.”
 of 5 bubbles RASB100, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Simple - don't risk it and book somewhere reliable instead”
 of 5 bubbles himalheidi1, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do NOT Stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles 230peter, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Peace and quiet on a winters visit”
  • Sunset over the moors from the pub steps
 of 5 bubbles Kildrummytravel, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't worry about getting Twin rooms if there is no doubles left (plus the twin rooms are cheaper) the beds get pushed together”
 of 5 bubbles amandaclixby, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5