We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shepherds Rest

101 reviews
Save
Traveller (12)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch”(10 reviews)
“the pub”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Pool
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (101)Write a Review
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
65
22
3
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
65
22
3
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchthe pubfabulous weekendcould not have been more helpfulfull english breakfastfood was lovelycooked to perfectionalnwick gardensfirst classcarveryfacilitiessuzycampervanlandlady
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Small, grimy, sordid, ugly room, sloping worn out matresses on narrow beds, cramped bathroom with shower door, toilet seat and open room door knocking against each other, no soap, half a toilet roll, tiny delapidated mirror propped up on minute washing basin, non-functioning light, throughout...More

1  Thank DeirdraNwr
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 30 September 2017

This is not a 5 star hotel we are a small pub B/B very old building but we love it sorry you had a bad stay but we try and make every one happy Thank you for you comments this is from the owner Thank...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend in our caravan, had an excellent time. The owners, staff and locals were really friendly and helpful. The pub is simple and traditional, with a good atmosphere and reasonable prices. The campsite is peaceful and relatively small. The...More

Thank Richard B
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you very much hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms, checked into our twin room first and very disappointed to find a very shabby room, paper coming away from wall, dirty looking carpets, bathroom very small with nowhere to put anything, no soap and no hand towel on the towel ring, filthy...More

2  Thank LizPrior56
Response from Susan M, Manager at The Shepherds RestResponded 1 August 2017

I am very sorry to here this the rooms are clean and comftable and the showers and toilets are small but we inherited these we will take all concerns on board but if you had concerns it would of been good if you had passed...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Upon arrival the lady in charge had no idea. Customers were helping themselves behind the bar, serving each other but would not serve us!! She didn't know we were booked in, we were offered the wrong accommodation. The double room consisted of two single beds...More

4  Thank PeterBardon
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 29 July 2017

I am so sorry you feel like this we try to help and advice every one that comes in we have other reviews that are exserlent granted the beds were pushed together we had a leak paper on wall will be sorted, but as for...More

Reviewed 27 July 2017

We arrived on Friday 7th July 2017 for a 3 night stay at the campsite, we wanted to camp here because of its proximity to Alnwick Gardens and Alnwick Castle. The site is small and the facilities are basic, but they are very clean and...More

Thank bmcduk
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 30 July 2017

We enjoyed having you's thank you so much hope to see you soon Susan x

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345620
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$101 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$101 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (12)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Biddis
22 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Susan M | Property representative |
Yes we are
0
Votes
EmilyJar
31 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Shepherdsrest12 | Property representative |
Hi I have not got bump beds we r new owners I have a family room we have only had this pub 2 years I haven't had a famly in
1
Vote
ANRYorkshire_England
4 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Shepherdsrest12 | Property representative |
I think Bob moved to America but has been seen in Alnwick hope that helps
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Both rooms directly next to the road. Both loud. Double room horrible. The other room probably similar."
Read review
"Do NOT stay at the Shepherds Rest"
Read review
"Every room is good."
Read review
"Nice views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing