Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Ashington hotel

Looking back towards the hotel across the lake; the walk around it takes 30 minutes (or a bit more for slower walkers)
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (63)
Premier Inn Ashington hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£63
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Ashington
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Cookhouse and Pub restaurant and extra-comfy beds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1,346Review14Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 725
  • 390
  • 144
  • 41
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve Rutherford wrote a review Mar 2023
3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Often stay at premier inn hotels and this one didn’t disappoint,
Totally recommend,
Receptionists we’re great, very helpful and welcoming,
Room was the usual high standard.
Very picturesque setting,plenty of car parking,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Blippo wrote a review Jun 2021
Wakefield, United Kingdom763 contributions135 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip away from home other than staying overnight with family, so it was quite a big deal. We have stayed in many Premier Inns over the years and knew that we could expect a good standard of care.
The staff were welcoming and helpful and explained the different safety arrangements to us clearly. We actually preferred the fact that we were responsible for keeping our room tidy for the three days because it meant we didn't have to think about giving cleaning staff access. It was simple to change our towels each day and arrange to empty rubbish bins. I almost wish they would stick with that system.
The location next to the Nature reserve was lovely and we enjoyed a walk each evening.
We did have some issues with the adjoining restaurant - mainly very slow service/ staff shortages- but the matter was brought up at the time and dealt with to our complete satisfaction. (We had booked the full meal deal for ease of dining, because we were not familiar with the area and didn't want the hassle of having to book each night at a different place.)
We would definitely stay there again, but not have the Meal deal.
It's an excellent location for exploring the southern end of Northumberland.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: A lake view room would be the one to ask for.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
greenholme-john wrote a review Apr 2021
Penrith, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had to be at Wansbeck hospital nearby, for 7:30 am and it is a 2.5 hour drive from home so we stayed at Ashington for one night. For £29 we got a quiet room overlooking a lake with swans , photographic early morning mist, comfy beds and squeaky clean facilities. Reception staff were a model of Geordie friendliness and super helpful. Treated ourselves to a luxury hot chocolate drink in the evening from the restaurant next door. Perfect
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hashim T wrote a review Aug 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom80 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked here for 4 nights to explore Northumberland tourist spots. Firstly location is excellent and an ideal base to explore the region. Plenty of parking, it's next to a nice lake, relatively spacious and easy to get to from main roads. Despite it being next to a main road there is little road noise to the room (although if you have the air conditioning on in the room you won't hear much else). Secondly, there are some areas in need of improvement. There was some mould at the bottom of the shower curtain and edge of wall but in grand scheme of things these are relatively minor and to be expected in a budget hotel. The shower was however good. Lots of dust on the wall above the bed but I can live with that. We stayed in August 2021 after covid restrictions started to ease, but there is no cleaning of bedrooms on a daily basis. So this meant leaving our rubbish outside the door to be taken away and asking for daily items such as new towels or teabags and milk etc. This may not be an issue for some people but just to make you aware. There is air conditioning but it is loud (we couldn't sleep with it so turned it off). The free WiFi was quite slow and I just used my data through my phone in the end. In this day and age WiFi is a necessity for planning your daily trips and carrying out basic things like booking tickets online for all the attractions. The staff seemed a bit demoralised and not enthused by their job, probably made worse by regular staff calling in sick. Other niggly thing in the room was the fact there was a plug socket on one side of double bed but not the other side. A bit annoying when you need two mobile phones charging overnight. It's like the electrician forgot to add the socket.

The restaurant next door is ok - just make sure you book on a daily basis for breakfast to ensure you get seated in time. Highlight was a children's play area for kids to play in whilst adults ate in peace. Breakfast was good, buffet style and good selection of food from cereals and cooked food. We ate dinner one evening and it was good, fish and chips not so great but burger was nice.

Overall I'm glad we booked for the location as it made our daily trips easier but I perhaps won't stay again in a rush if I can get another hotel in a similar location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan wrote a review Mar 2020
Newcastle, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here on a Saturday night with my partner while we were attending an event in the area. The building looks alright from the car park and faces a nice lake and country park (this is the only positive thing I have to say about the stay).

Our room was on the ground floor, at the back of the building. We found out that this part of the building is the ‘old building’, and the majority of the rooms are in the newer built section which, unlike our room, was purpose built as a Premier Inn. Ours had more of a cheap, roadside motel feel. Our room was opposite the door to the adjoining bar/restaurant (more on this atrocity later).

When we walked into the room the first thing that hit us was the smell - foisty. Think old soggy biscuits that’ve sat in a sink going off for weeks. The room was very dim, facing the loading area at the back of the hotel, a path and the main road. We had to close the curtains as anyone walking or driving past could see straight into the room. Aside from the actual curtains there was only a very flimsy thin white window covering which didn’t give much privacy. I’ve stayed in a lot of Premier Inn’s over the years, and yes most of the rooms and the furniture look identical and are pretty interchangeable. The furnishings in this room looked like they’d come from the Premier Inn furniture graveyard. The pillows were flat, the sofa bed (in sofa form) was threadbare, dirty looking and thank goodness no one had to sleep on it because the springs seemed like they were ready burst out. The room was freezing. It had a temperature control setting, but this barely worked. The room took hours to heat up slightly. The bed was comfortable and the duvet was warm, thankfully. Bathroom was spacious but again looked very dated, and not particularly clean. Didn’t attempt a shower because the bath looked gross and the plug hole was full of black gunk which was very off putting.

We went to the restaurant for dinner. Ordered food at about 6pm. The restaurant was very busy, with locals as well as hotel guests. We expected a bit of a wait for food since there were a lot of other customers in the restaurant. By 6.50 the food still hasn’t arrived so my partner spoke to someone at the bar to ask how long it would be for the food to arrive. He was told that although he had paid for the meal when he ordered, and despite them using a digital ordering system, the order had not been sent to the kitchen and therefore the food hadn’t been made. The kitchen offered to make the food then, but as we were due to leave for an event and were skeptical with how long they would take to make the food, we received a refund instead.

Since our room was opposite the bar/restaurant, we could hear a lot of noise coming from it. We were particularly disturbed by a group of rowdy Scots until about midnight (not sure if they were still in the bar by this point, in a nearby room or roaming the hallways), but didn’t hear them after midnight ish.

Tried to speak to someone on the front desk about it in the morning but there wasn’t anyone manning it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhitbreadHotels, Guest Relations at Premier Inn Ashington hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and sorry to see that you had problems with noise from other guests, the maintenance of your room and slow service in the restaurant. We can appreciate how frustrating this must have been for you and how this would have impacted on your stay. If you haven't done so already we would encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Team about this. You can give the team a call on 0333 003 0025 (option 1) lines are open Monday to Friday 8:30am – 7pm, Saturday 9am-5pm, Sunday 10am-6pm. Alternatively, you can get in touch through our feedback form which can be found online under the 'Contact us' section of our website. Again, our sincere apologies and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to one of our hotels again soon for a more enjoyable stay. Kind regards, Lauren
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra843 wrote a review Jun 2021
Canterbury, United Kingdom10 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this premier inn for one night - situated right by a lake with plenty of wildlife it could lovely - unfortunately the lorry park type car park, the lakeside and the children’s area are all littered with old serviettes, food wrappers, cigarette buts etc. The area has not been swept for quite some time, grass not cut and borders possibly never tended? The whole area looks uncared for.
Breakfast was ridiculous, we waited for ages in a queue to be seated and then an unacceptable length of time to be served our breakfast
No WiFi on arrival, last night or this morning - tried both laptops and phones.
Reception staff were kind and accommodating but premier inn need to sort this place out and start caring for this hotel and surrounding grounds and wildlife as I can’t think that the litter is doing the swans, ducks or visiting children and adults any favours.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AP4948 wrote a review Sept 2020
Maidstone, United Kingdom170 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights visiting family in the area. The hotel felt covid secure with all required steps taken to make a safe environment . All staff were helpful and explained arrangements clearly - no housekeeping apart from after checkout ; additional bedding , soaps , coffee etc available from reception ; bookings for dinner ( in pub next door) can be made via hotel too ; masks to be worn in public/ common areas . Nice walks around lake well signposted too for those who want exercise . Adele and James deserve special mention . Overall a good experience and excellent value .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
snobsrus wrote a review Apr 2021
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom71 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We use Premier Inns as they represent excellent value and quality for non-special overnight stays. Ashington Premier Inn is located on the lakeside of Queen Elizabeth Country Park and as such offers a lovely walk without having to venture out of the immediate area. The hotel was of the usual quality expected of Premier Inn. The staff - specifically Shiovhan, on reception - was first class in assisting us, especially in our search for an evening meal, as COVID restrictions had closed the hotel's food and drink facilities. The accommodation was required due to attending a funeral, hence unavoidable. It provided a very comfortable and safe place for us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon S wrote a review Jul 2021
York, United Kingdom150 contributions92 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel situated on the lake. Staff extremely friendly and helpful hotel lovely and clean. Beds are fairly comfortable (but then I don’t usually sleep very well away from home). Dropped one star because we had room 104 right next to extractor fans for the kitchen. They are very noisy. They do go off about 10.45 pm but come on again at 7am, so if you go to bed early avoid this room. Would have asked to switch rooms but knew they were fully booked and don’t usually go to bed until 11pm so didn’t stop us getting some sleep. This is a very popular hotel and will definitely go back but will ask for a different room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking great and plentiful avoid room 104 if you go to bed early next to extractor fans.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenrob42 wrote a review Aug 2021
Yorkshire, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was lovely! Staff were all so friendly. The room was clean and lovely decor and bed was comfy. We ate at the cookhouse pub for breakfast and dinner and both were lovely! A good choice of food on both occasions. Parking was very good so many spaces so was easy to get a space. Location was right near a country park so it was nice to have a walk around to see all the birds.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from endeanrowe
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom67 contributions45 helpful votes
No fridge
olena m asked a question Oct 2021
Is there discount for NHS
Answer from The Pieman
Durham, United Kingdom334 contributions91 helpful votes
Stop at the Plough in Ellington
Happywanderers_8 asked a question Sept 2021
Manchester.35 contributions14 helpful votes
I would like the direct telephone number to contact hotel reception.
Answer from snobsrus
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom71 contributions74 helpful votes
01670 862621 is the number you require. 🤗
bugattiblue asked a question Jul 2021
Almeria, Spain24 contributions1 helpful vote
does anyone work on reception at your stansted hotel
Joanne A wrote a tip 21 Apr
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room overlooking the lake its absolutely beautiful! Always ask... nothing was too much trouble! "
Read full review
Joe_Railwayman wrote a tip Nov 2023
Crewe, United Kingdom176 contributions83 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t expect to be able to work/use WiFi etc"
Read full review
Teresa O wrote a tip Sept 2023
Paisley, United Kingdom15 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bit out the way need own transport "
Read full review
ElCowboy2008 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Compton, United Kingdom104 contributions85 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Own transport essential! Book a ground floor room if you have lots of luggage or pushchairs as there are no lifts. "
Read full review
Woo wrote a tip Aug 2023
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom118 contributions73 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ashington area.
PRICE RANGE
£36 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn ashington hotel ashington
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandAshington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN ASHINGTON HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Ashington hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Ashington hotel?
Nearby attractions include Woodhorn Museum (0.6 miles), Newbiggin Maritime Centre (2.1 miles), and Stanton Hall Gardens and Nursery (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Ashington hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Ashington hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Ashington hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Ashington hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Ashington hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Drift Cafe, The Widdrington Inn, and Due Fratelli.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Ashington hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting War Memorial (1.8 miles) and Newbiggin Lifeboat Station (2.0 miles).
Does Premier Inn Ashington hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Premier Inn Ashington hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ashington HotelsAshington Hotel DealsHotels near Premier Inn Ashington hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire