We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Purdy Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Purdy Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 338: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was disappointing, in need of substantial upgrade.carpet tatty, shower room average, no heated towel rail.Paintwork around window frame flaking and dirty. Bed comfortable, TV OK & WiFi. On a plus side, staff were very polite and helpful, Restaurant food excellent and great value, breakfast choice good and freshly cooked. For what we paid B&B it was not bad value.

Helpful?
Thank fussy-olds
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry that you felt as though the room needed some attention, I have passed your comment onto our maintenance team and we shall make it a priority to see to these upgrades. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your food and we hope to... More 

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called on a Bank Holiday Monday and were surprised how quiet the restaurant was and wondered if that was a bad sign. We need not have worried as the meal was well presented and quite tasty and not overpriced. The toilets all though modernised were not maintained to a good cleanliness standard which was the only off putting thing.

Helpful?
Thank TheLynchMob
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and i am sorry the toilets affected your review. I will pass on your comments. Hope to see you again in the future. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing room we had booked two double beds for our family of four but the beds were tiny and room still cramped. Mattresses not good quality or condition, sheets didn't fit bed so ruffled up if anyone moved on bed = not good night sleep squashed into a ruffled bed. Electric Heater not switched on when we arrived so room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lulu504
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry your stay was not up to our usual standard. I have passed on your comments about the room. I hope you will give us another try in the future. Kind Regards. More 

UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We ate one night in the bar - nice food - not to keen on kitchen staff using hands to scoop ice (for their own drink, but none the less..) Left towels on bathroom floor for replacement - came back to find towels had been hung up - asked (and got) replacements! Dorito crisp under table, dirty spoon. REALLY noisy... More 

Helpful?
Thank bimeycharlie
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry your stay was not up to our usual standard. We hope you will visit again and give us another chance! More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Visited the Purdue Lodge for a meal as staying near by in Northumberland. Staff very friendly and if you have a meal here make sure you are hungry as they are generous portions and not pricey. A satisfied customer.

Helpful?
Thank malcolm s
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving the time to write such a lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again in the near future! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Not really impressed at all. The latte was ok but nothing special and I have to say that the toilets were not very good at all sadly. There are few stop overs on the A1 so choice was limited. I can't comment on the overnight stays.

Helpful?
Thank Pmreynolds
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry you were not impressed with your visit. I will pass on your comments to management. Hope you will give us another try. More 

England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I returned here after a previous visit. Situated next to the A1 between Alnwick and Berwick ideal for an overnight stop or as a base to see Northumbria. Every room looks over fields to the North Sea and is clean, comfortable and well appointed. The food on offer really sets this place aside from the rest. An excellent restaurant offering... More 

Helpful?
Thank FatCockneyonTour
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us along with the food. Hope to see you again. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

A very nice hotel with very friendly staff. Excellent food, well presented and well cooked. The rooms are clean and tidy. Has the bonus of a 24hr café which as I started work at 5:00 am was very welcome. To be able to get a cooked meal before work wouldn't be available at many other hotels. Purdy Lodge is well... More 

Helpful?
Thank mickwad
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope our breakfast kept you going at work! Hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Stayed for 2nights and the best I can say is the fantastic customer service we received. Do not think it should be 4 star. Cold breakfast disappointing, no really choice. Expected more for the price but it was in the area we wanted to be in.

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry you were disappointed, i will pass on your comments. Hopefully you will give us another try in the future. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed at purdy lodge with my partner very well kept and modern hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We only stayed one night but will definitely stay again very close to the attractions in the area. Our room was very clean and had obviously been given a very good freshen up before we arrived.perfect view of Bamburgh castle from... More 

Helpful?
Thank dominic a
lodge28, Reception at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the views are pretty amazing. We hope to see you again in the near future. More 

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
4.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
848 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
915 reviews
20.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Price Range: £70 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Purdy Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Purdy Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get upstairs room at the end of the corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles bimeycharlie, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms like any travel accommodation, nothing special.”
 of 5 bubbles 64margaretl, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor and had quiet nights.”
 of 5 bubbles MexBrit1951, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles YorkshireTeddybear03, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look onto fields with no houses anywhere to be seen - very private and quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Alexindiana, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay