We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of The Cobbled Yard Hotel
 Click to rate
sunderland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel has a very personal feel and is very centrally located. Came here for one night away and although the room was clean, the hotel is in dyer need of a spruce up. The coving/plaster had actually come away and there were no duvets, just scratchy old blankets. Customer service however was top notch. This hotel has such potential...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amz3001
Lancashire
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

A well run, very clean, very well priced hotel! Family room was super, for the four of us, simple but plenty of information, family games, breakfast simple but absolutely spot on and the staff couldn't have been nicer. No it's not the ritz but for yha prices we had a smashing couple of days exploring the area. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EtakLancashire
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old hotel needing some minor repairs inside and outside.The owners are hard working and the know what the public want Rooms clean tidy Prices about right.Food excellent.Just back after two days.Very relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amclaren213
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

When In Berwick Upon Tweed, about 3 times a year, We always eat here of an evening, and sometimes at lunchtime, we are never Disappointed and always get an excellent meal, they are very accommadating, and will adapt the menus slightly to suit likes and dislikes. The waiter/manager has been there a while and is always smart and friendly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

There was no wi fi but they claimed there was when there wasn't. The shower would go hot then cold. The television wouldn't switch on and my mum felt a bit hard but I enjoyed the stay on the other hand though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethan E
Yorkshire
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel charges similar rates to south coast hotels yet is not very good. It's on a back road in Berwick. It is not staffed at night- you let yourself in and out. Parking space for 3 vehicles only. No hot meal available on the night we arrived- they weren't cooking at all ( yet the web site advertises evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitmomma
Scotland, uk
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I was with a coach party of 19. We stopped here for a pre-booked lunch. Food was very nice but half of us had soup but no BREAD ! We asked the waitress for bread+ butter and we were told we would be charged extra - we were. One waitress was very rude and tried to imply that one party...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lulu_04Scotland_uk
Alicelyn, Manager at The Cobbled Yard Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didnt enjoy your visit, but can I just point out that due to the cheap cost of the daily special bread and butter is not included in the price. I doubt anywhere would not have charged in the same circumstance. The lady was asked about her tea - Cup of Tea ! - which incidentally hasnt...

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

My parents and I have just stayed at the cobbled yard and have had a wonderful time. The hotel is small and cosy the staff are all very friendly. Lynda and Fred have a team of staff whom cannot do enough for you. We were staying as a member of my family had a christening to attend on the Sunday....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Went to berwick for a wedding reception have been before and ended a very long way out of the centre this hotel is in a central location with a nice little car park at the side hotel staff very helpful and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hunney2015
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We only ate dinner here. Basic pub food that filled a whole at dinner time. We chose this place to eat because it was convenient to where we were staying. It was a mid-week night and there was only one other couple eating in the restaurant, but the food was adequate (although the salad that came with my scampi was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VM94

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
2.5 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#20 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#15 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#11 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Address: 40 Walkergate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: £50 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cobbled Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cobbled Yard Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cobbled Yard Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cobbled Yard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms all on first floor I think”
 of 5 bubbles amclaren213, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms with wi fi”
 of 5 bubbles ethane2014, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 5 and it was lovely, bright and airy, clean and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 464emmao, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“spacious corner suite”
 of 5 bubbles 706willy, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“As mentioned in the review, please request a bigger room as the room I stayed in (corner room) is extremely small and crammed up.”
 of 5 bubbles Farhan93, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5