We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Butterchurn Guest House

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 3 B&Bs in Otterburn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A beautiful B&B in Otterburn. Ideally situated for weddings at Le Petite Chateau (100 Meters) Otterburn Castle (150 Meters) and Woodhill Hall (1 Mile). Amazing views, warm and cosy, including a full Northumbrian cooked breakfast. Come and enjoy our home from home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
First aid kit
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
184Reviews1Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 156
  • 17
  • 6
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Keith C wrote a review 17 Feb
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed in the self catering apartment and we were not disappointed with all on offer and at a great price too. Great place to stay especially if you’re attending a wedding in the village as the 3 double bedrooms large bathroom and big open plan kitchen/sitting room provides loads of space to relax in comfort. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Free parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nat R wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Absolutely amazing warm welcoming host! Booked really late and Darren explained everything and helped us settle for the night. The room was fab: clean, comfortable with everything you need to stay there. Breakfast was lovely, cooked as ordered (poached eggs cooked to perfection 🤌🏻). Excellent place to stay if you’re heading to Scotland. Will definitely stop there again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from darren taylor, Owner at Butterchurn Guest House
Responded 6 Sept 2023
Thank you. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Musselburgh with Margaret on my recommendation on departure also
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BLANDY wrote a review Aug 2023
Seaham, United Kingdom219 contributions44 helpful votes
Had a great stay at butterchurn.. The rooms (we had 3)are very clean and modern, With a great comfy bed. All food at breakfast was very nice with a wide selection on offer, and full English on offer cooked to order. We found that all the staff we spoke to during our stay professional,polite,helpful and friendly... Located near a shop and a bar/restaurant. Parking wasn't an issue for us, but was limited. Only 2 little things about our stay Our room's roof windows had no blinds so was bright when dawn broke, and looked like other room's could see into ours. And not the fault of the guest house, but the church across the road, the bells rang during the night. On the hour every hour, so was broken night's sleep for us.. I would recommend and stay again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Taylor, Owner at Butterchurn Guest House
Responded 24 Aug 2023
Thank you. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am concerned that you thought the velux windows have no blinds when in fact they do and the only her panes are fitted with one way glass so you are able to see out but no one can see in. The staff could have advised accordingly had you mentioned it. The church bells are silent after midnight until 5 am. Not a lot I can do about the church being there otherwise but I have never heard them during the night and they are rarely mentioned in our excellent reviews
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda a wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Only had one night here but thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish we'd stayed longer (attended a wedding locally so stayed at venue the following night). I had spoken to owner about vegan breakfasts being required but this hadn't been passed on to the ladies cooking/serving our breakfast. However, they rose to the occasion and produced a delicious breakfast for us all - nothing was too much trouble. The range of cereals/milk/spreads for us vegans was impressive and very much appreciated - we're often made to feel a 'nuisance' when we request something that's not usually provided but Vanessa & Nikki were so helpful and accommodating it made for a very relaxed and enjoyable breakfast. There are plenty mirrors/lights in the room (1 x double bed & 1 x single) - not sure if large wardrobe is necessary as extra seating could be provided along with hanging space. Everything was spotlessly clean. We were able to use the garden/dining room/lounge area until we went on to the wedding and Vanessa & Nikki were incredibly helpful and friendly. We will definitely return when next in the area. Thank you Vanessa & Nikki - you made our stay a very memorable one. Linda & Graham
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Write down any breakfast requirements on the form when choosing breakfast time, so morning staff...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from darren taylor, Owner at Butterchurn Guest House
Responded 20 Aug 2023
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. As standard and as discussed with you by telephone we aim to provide for special diets without an issue. I’m glad Vanessa and Nikki were able to provide for you. I on the other hand had completely misunderstood you and thought from our conversation that you were staying at my other bed and breakfast EveAnna in Alnwick, where I had gone out and purchased everything we discussed to ensue I was able to meet and exceed your expectations. I will look forward to your next visit. Best Darren
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ken O wrote a review Aug 2023
13 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed at the butterchurn as was attending a wedding at petit . Room was spotless , coffee and tea facilities, comfortable bed . Breakfast was lovely plenty to choose from well worth the money of which was half the price of wedding venue. Owner in touch by txt letting you know all details very good communication. Not sure how any one could give this place a bad review would definitely stay here again . Thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from darren taylor, Owner at Butterchurn Guest House
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Thank you so much. I greatly appreciate your comments
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim Bainbridge wrote a review Jul 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
What a great place to stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean and breakfast was just what we needed to cure our hangover from the wedding party the previous day. Our Family had booked five rooms and everyone was very pleased. A few tips when you stay here. Read the messages before your arrival because it tells you exactly what you need to know for the check in process. Note down your time slot for breakfast and notify in advanced for special dietary requirements. There is a little fridge available in the community room for fresh milk for in your coffee or tea. Do not put any of your own drinks in… other guests might think it to be a free welcome drink. (Happened to one of us, lol) If you go for a drink at the William De Percy, (few doors down) mention you stay at the Butter churn for some discount. Make a reservation if you want to eat there as well. Last but not least. The owner and staff are all very nice and helpful. If there is anything you need, or are not happy with. Tell them immediately. They will do their best to help you out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are taxis available, but only a few. Book in advance. Do not arrive before the official...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
val robson wrote a review Jul 2023
North Shields, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
Family of 6 stayed here for a wedding, fabulous b&b , very clean and well looked after , breakfast was fantastic plenty of choice . Bed was very comfortable . Darren the owner was very welcoming abd could not do enough for you, So well done Darren, can't wait for the next visit .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Taylor, Owner at Butterchurn Guest House
Responded 19 Jul 2023
Thank you all. It was great to host you. Hurry back
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
granpadave wrote a review Jun 2023
47 contributions25 helpful votes
Arrived with a note saying 2pm check in on the door...I'd asked for a 12pm check in which was agreed via booking.com...Good points spotlessly clean and breakfast is lovely...here's the but...there's no personal touch to the place apart from breakfast. Room we stayed in window wouldn't open bed rocked getting in and out and bathroom door has swelled so doesn't shut properly. Complained through the only means a mobile phone number and was told these things would be looked into and repaired? ...would I stay again? The answer is no
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Taylor, Owner at Butterchurn Guest House
Responded 28 Jun 2023
Thank you for your review. Im delighted to learn that you generally had a comfortable stay and lovely breakfast and that you found the place immaculately clean and that meets my expectation. I’m disappointed to learn that you wouldn’t stay again, that’s a shame and doesn’t meet my expectations. Our earliest checkin is early at 1pm and unfortunately we are not able to accommodate a check in at 12 noon as the rooms have to be fully serviced before checkin to achieve our high standard of cleanliness. Checkin times are quoted on your booking confirmation. You reported by text at 10.45pm that the window catch was broken and that is most regrettable. I assured you that I would be over to check and repair it and you responded with a concern about the bed frame and the bathroom door. I assured you that I would look at both in the morning and repair as necessary and this is in hand. With regard to personal touch and points of contact guests are able to speak with me directly in person or by telephone at anytime. you can speak to staff on arrival and afterwards, call me directly using my mobile number, email me or use the ring doorbell when I’m not on site. Guests enjoy a contactless free checkin to meet their convenience and safety so they are free to arrive at anytime and staff are around to discuss issues in the morning. Where necessary out of hours staff are happy to attend as necessary but with respect I’m not going to call to repair a window catch late evening. I found no issue with the bathroom door closure, I’ve ordered a replacement window catch and tightened the bed frame accordingly as agreed. It is most regrettable that there were little issues that caused you inconvenience and I can only apologise most sincerely and assure you that action has been taken to help reduce the risk of a recurrence. Assuring you of your best interests at all times. We consistently strive to achieve excellence in all that we deliver
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
P_K_R17 wrote a review Jun 2023
County Durham, United Kingdom8 contributions20 helpful votes
Excellent overnight stay for a wedding just down the road. Contactless check-in went well, instructions provided via email and text were easy enough to follow. Room was spotless and quiet, didn't hear another guest at all. Car Parking either on-site (free) or over the road in the Church car park (£1 honesty box). Plenty of spaces. Breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice and service was excellent. Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Coastal73951 wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here last night to attend a wedding nearby. What a great little find. The rooms were spotless, beds super comfy and the 2 ladies that were working could not of been any more welcoming. When we arrived yesterday - although we were a few hours early for check in, they let us have a room early to get ready. Lovely people, lovely place. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Otterburn area.
PRICE RANGE
£131 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandOtterburn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUTTERCHURN GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Otterburn)

Frequently Asked Questions about Butterchurn Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Butterchurn Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Kielder Reservoir (4.4 miles), St Cuthbert's Church, Elsdon (3.2 miles), and Church of Saint Cuthbert (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Butterchurn Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Butterchurn Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Butterchurn Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Butterchurn Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Redesdale Arms Restaurant, William de Percy Inn & Crêperie, and Bird in Bush.
Does Butterchurn Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Butterchurn Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Butterchurn Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the centre of Otterburn.
Are pets allowed at Butterchurn Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Butterchurn Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tosson Lime Kiln (7.9 miles) and Black Middens Bastle House (7.2 miles).
Is Butterchurn Guest House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.