Beach House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Beach House Hotel

Room 10
Traveller (253)
Beach House Hotel, Seahouses, The bathroom
Room & Suite (39)
Lounge
Dining (33)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#5 of 17 B&Bs in Seahouses
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Newly refurbished Beach House is ideally located in Seahouses offering breath taking sea views of the Farne Islands. Rooms at Beach House have a flat screen TV, free car parking, storage for bikes at an additional cost and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our restaurant with full sea views is open from 7am to 9pm offering a wide range of delicious dishes using the highest quality and locally sourced ingredients. In addition our bar & lounge areas offer a full wine list, cocktails along with a wide range of teas and coffees. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Beach House as you experience everything Seahouses and the surrounding areas have to offer. Pool and spa within walking distance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Street parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

12A St. Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Newcastle Airport
37.8 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles551 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime location, the Beach House Hotel garners appreciation for its easy access to the beach, town, and picturesque coastal paths. Guests often commend the hotel for its cleanliness and stylish ambiance, with special mentions of the luxurious toiletries and stunning sea views augmenting the experience. While the rooms are celebrated for their comfort, a few guests have noted them to be on the smaller side. The service at the hotel receives high marks for its friendly and helpful staff, though opinions on value and meal costs show some variation.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
551Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 326
  • 122
  • 64
  • 23
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JKN101 wrote a review Jun 2021
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived to the hotel and found our check in instructions with the keys in reception. Malcolm the owner had left his mobile phone number on the check in instructions so had there been a problem we could have called him. I had booked a room with a bath and was delighted to find that we had a very large room with an amazing sea view and a large bath. The room was dated but it was clean and acceptable. My only criticism was the lack of bedside cabinets, however being resourceful, I moved the dressing table stool to my side of the bed and used that.

There is a guest information book in the room detailing breakfast times, we went down at 8am and the room numbers are on the table, again excellent sea views. We both had full English breakfasts, mine minus the meat as I'm vegetarian, this is perfectly acceptable and there was plenty.

The location of this hotel is excellent, right on the beach, ample parking and just a very short walk into the high street.

The hotel will shortly be in the hands of new owners and I would suggest that just for the location alone it is worth staying here. I would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele L wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent budget dog friendly hotel.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff; everyone was so friendly and accommodating.
We have two KCC cross dogs and they were treated so well; even given a sausage at breakfast every day ( we were asked first )
We were given room 22 which is a large room at the front of the hotel with wonderful views of the sea. I’ve read that some of the rooms are small so would recommend asking about space if you are bringing dogs.
The hotel is very clean and the room essentials are replenished if you hang a ‘gone crabbing’ sign on the door.
The hotel only serves breakfast but there is a wide variety to choose from and the portions are substantial.
The only thing I wasn’t keen on is the metal framed bed which creaks every time you turn over.
All in all, incredibly good value for money. It isn’t ‘The Ritz’ but if you are looking for a very friendly, clean dog friendly hotel which is close to the beach and don’t want to spend a fortune, I’d say this is probably the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashley Dale, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach House Hotel
Responded 27 May 2022
Hi Michele, Thank you so much for your review and we are so glad yourself and your pooches loved your stay with us! :) We hope to welcome you and your four legged friends back with us very soon, and please don't forget as a returning customer you also get a discount when booking directly with us. Best Wishes, Ashley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
David M wrote a review Sept 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a fantastic room with amazing sea views across to Farne Island and Holy Island

The room was spacious with good facilities and lots of storage. The bed was extremely comfortable although pillows are a little soft so be prepared if that isn't to your personal taste

Breakfast was of good quality with a good selection of continental options available, including gluten free toast upon request.

The cooked breakfast was good quality food, including the sausage, with a good choice available. Bacon was a little undercooked for our liking but they were dealing with a number of guests at any one sitting - which had to be pre booked

Staff were extremely professional and always happy to help with any special requests and always on hand should they be needed. The domestic team were first class and extremely professional.

It is situated a short work to Seahouses and you can even walk to Bamburgh if you wish so a great location
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Joisce, Owner at Beach House Hotel
Responded 5 Sept 2023
Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and do hope we can welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trevoryellow wrote a review Jun 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A friendly hotel with lovely polite and helpful staff. From outside this hotel looks pretty plain but once your inside it is really very nice, well decorated and clean with a lovely lounge and dining room. We had room #22 which faced the sea and had superb views of the Farne Isles. The room had all the usual items, kettle, tea, coffee, biscuits and the now must have WiFi. The bathroom was stocked with shampoo and shower gel and had a very nice over bath shower. Breakfast was really nice with a large selection of eats on the menu. Parking was free and accommodation is only a 10 minute walk into town centre.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dale Messenger, General Manager at Beach House Hotel
Responded 12 Jun 2022
Dear Trevoryellow Thanks so much for your brilliant review . We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will join us again Thankyou
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ali C wrote a review Jun 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 2 night stay at The Beach House. Absolutely fantastic stay from the location which is right outside a stunning beach to the superb staff who were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is also dog friendly and dogs were treated as well as the humans!! The rooms and general areas are absolutely spotless and beautifully decorated and the breakfast was great with a good choice of fresh quality food. There is also parking at the hotel. All in all a first class experience with not a single complaint and I am looking forward to returning. I would definitely give a 10 out of ten!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If the weather is good take stuff for a beach visit as the beach opposite is absolutely stunning...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Sharp, Owner at Beach House Hotel
Responded 10 Jun 2023
Hi Ali, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and do hope we can welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, Dan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo R wrote a review Jul 2022
Bingley, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the hotel was perfect, close to the centre and the views were to die for. Staff were very accommodating and moved our room to one with a window rather than just skylight. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.

We were very disappointed with the bed, the base was metal with springs and a mattress that was extremely old where the springs were no longer working. The bed creaked every time you moved and disturbed our sleep. One thing I think is so important is a decent night's sleep and a comfy bed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashley Dale, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach House Hotel
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Hi Jo, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent trip here to Beach House Hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay however am sorry to hear that the bed was less than adequate. We are currently in the process of changing the beds within the hotel, so assure you this feedback is taken very seriously! We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Smokie46 wrote a review Jun 2024
Chorley, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a one-night stay at the Beach House Hotel at the beginning of June. To be honest, it wasn’t our first choice but given the very limited parking at the other places, we decided to go to the Beach House based on it having a small free carpark for the use of hotel residents. It’s only a short five-minute walk to the centre of Seahouses so even though it wasn’t our first choice, we actually ended up glad that we went there.

The hotel information stated the Beach House has had a recent full refurbishment and that fact is clearly evident, the hotel being very clean and tidy throughout. Our room (number 15), although on the small side, was like the rest of the hotel, very clean and tidy. Overall, we were happy enough with the Beach House to have a look at staying there again later this year, providing the price is right.

I think, (maybe), that I’m being unrealistic in this day and age, but I think £200+ for one night is too much. I think I paid around £189 for the one night but only three weeks ago, I paid just £70 at an hotel just off the A1 near Alnwick for a room twice as large with an enormous bed. Yes, I could have gone there again but what I’m trying to illustrate here is that with most places in Seahouses, you are paying for the location – for the coastal ambience – rather than the hotel itself (in my opinion).

The staff at the Beach House are excellent, a credit to the hotel, and the food is very good indeed but it wouldn’t be a review if you didn’t state anything you’re unhappy with. In the room the shower was of a very weak stream and the TV just did its own thing. We didn’t mention either because 1; we watch little TV and only discovered it wasn’t working well after 10pm and 2; the weak shower was only discovered on the morning of our departure so again, pointless making an issue out of it. The thing we were most unhappy about though was a service charge on our evening meal. If I think someone is worth a tip for doing their job, I’d give a tip – so adding 10% of the bill without asking and assuming it’s OK is bang out of order. I’ve never seen that anywhere before (at least, not in the UK) so if you stay at the Beach House, be wary of eating an evening meal there and the cost thereof. However, all that said, it is a very nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from lynn ferguson, General Manager at Beach House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. im so happy you enjoyed your time with us.we will certainly look at the shower. we do have a 10% service charge and it states on all menus. But of course if guests dont wish to pay this then staff can remove the charge from bill. we would love to welcome you back to the beach house hotel soon. Kind Regards, Lynn.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cliveaholmes wrote a review May 2023
Staines, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very pleasant hotel run by very friendly staff. just down the road from harbour, 5 min easy walk. Full english breakfast, set us up for boat trip later, it was great. From lounge it is easy to see Farne Islands. When we went (early May) the beach was deserted (no surprise), again just a short stroll to access beach to walk along coastline.This hotel has recently been renovated and looks and feels very good. Unfortunately whilst we were there the kitchen was unable to provide a dinner service (work in progress), but there is a couple of pubs nearby. Be warned the fish and chip restaurants stop serving around 6pm.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Joisce, Owner at Beach House Hotel
Responded 11 May 2023
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Thanks Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scotty wrote a review Dec 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a fantastic 2 night stay at the Beach House Hotel to celebrate my father’s 90th birthday. Zara and Lynne from the Reception Team were so friendly and welcoming and very efficient and patient dealing with my many requests. The hotel has recently been tastefully refurbished - the housekeeping staff keep the rooms and bathrooms spotlessly clean and despite it being cold outside were very warm. The well stocked bar / lounge area is very relaxing with beautiful coastal views. We arrived just in time for the daily “Cocktail Happy Hour” - thanks to Alex and Claudia for mixing delicious cocktails. Special thanks to Alex for driving my parents to and from a local restaurant for our dinner reservation when we couldn’t get a taxi. Our party of 11 had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night, the menu is varied and the food was delicious, hot and very well presented. The Chef (sorry I didn’t catch your name) also prepared a wonderful cooked breakfast for us all both mornings served by the exceptionally friendly and efficient Julie. An absolutely wonderful stay, huge thanks to the entire team for looking after us all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from lynn ferguson, General Manager at Beach House Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2023
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards,Lynn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick P wrote a review Jun 2021
Derby, England, United Kingdom
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Bit disorganised when we arrived as seemingly not expected but having booked and prepaid online we should have been. Room wasn’t ready but lady worked like mad to get it sorted for us in just a few minutes. Wonderful view from double room 1 and found facilities and cleanliness fine. Only stayed for the one night but view will stay with us for a long time.
Breakfast was very nice. It was the same lady and I’d like to say from us both that we greatly appreciated the work she put in. A diamond.
Would have given 4 if not for the initial feeling of being unwanted. Not sure why as from a businessman’s point of view it was £115 for the price of a breakfast at the end of the day
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Easy parking, easy access at late night. Bar not working but wasn’t an issue. Front view rooms...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BradFlowrider asked a question Jul 2015
Christchurch, Dorset, England, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
Can you confirm that you accept dogs in your hotel? We have 2 who will be spending their time with my wife while I dive.
Answer from DianeAC24
Bournemouth, United Kingdom175 contributions43 helpful votes
I didn't see anything that would make me think dogs had stayed there. Rooms are quite small and there didn't seem to be any facilities for pets..best to ring them.
Sally B wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check if you have a window or so called 'skylight'n"
Read full review
Suer0be wrote a tip Jun 2024
Turriff, United Kingdom45 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking may be an issue at busy times."
Read full review
Suzie E wrote a tip Jun 2024
12 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking and a 5 minute walk to the centre of seahouses and to the beach. Approx 75 mins walk to Bamburgh Castle along coastal path"
Read full review
LizzieS606 wrote a tip May 2024
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom255 contributions96 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid rooms 12 and 14 as they are directly above the kitchen extractor among the room noisy and smelly with windows open"
Read full review
George D wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to book if your just having food"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Seahouses area.
PRICE RANGE
£144 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandSeahouses
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEACH HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Beach House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Beach House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Swallow Fish (0.5 miles), The Ocean Club (0.2 miles), and Longstone Lighthouse (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Beach House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Beach House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Beach House Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beach House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elan Pizzeria , Seahouses Café, and Black Swan Inn.
Is Beach House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Seahouses.
Are pets allowed at Beach House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Beach House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Longstone Lighthouse (0.3 miles), Beadnell Harbour and Lime Kilns (2.7 miles), and Grace Darling Memorial (2.8 miles).
Does Beach House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Beach House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Seahouses HotelsSeahouses Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SeahousesHotels near Beach House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire