Dukeries Retreat
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dukeries Retreat

Old London Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS England
Traveller (214)
Room & Suite (20)
Yurt hot tub area
Pool & Beach (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Barnby Moor
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top-rated luxury glamping site in Nottinghamshire. Luxury yurts with private hot tubs & firepits, each with their own exclusive bathroom. Set within 7 acres of the beautiful Nottinghamshire countryside, Dukeries Retreat offers the ultimate experience in luxury glamping with hot tubs. On the edge of Barnby Moor village, each accommodation comes with a fully-heated hot tub, meaning you can enjoy a sudsy soak after a long day exploring the rolling hills of the countryside.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Yoga classes
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Badminton
Game room
Books, DVDs, music for children
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Archery offsite
Darts
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Massage
Open-air bath
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Fireplace
Seating area
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
83Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rebecca P wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We simply had the BEST time at Dukeries Retreat this summer and this review has been written by someone who 'doesn't do camping of any sort!' The location is stunning and the views from the bell tent are beautiful and peaceful. We will certainly be going back next year!

The bell tents come equipped with large comfortable beds, mini heaters for when it gets chilly in the evenings and are decorated beautifully.

Each bell tent has its own wood fired hot tub, a fire pit, decking area and a little kitchen with the necessary equipment, a sink and a fridge! There is also a larger kitchen available on site and a small games room with reading books and other games available, as well as a pizza oven! You can also park next to or very close to your bell tent depending which number you are, which is really helpful. You also have your own numbered toilet and shower room - something that was a non-negotiable for me!

You can walk to the local restaurants, which is great and the Indian restaurant even deliver to the camp site. We ate in the Ye Old Bell, which was amazing, had Indian takeaway and then used our BBQ for the other nights. Dukeries Retreat have also negotiated discounts in the local pubs and restaurants, which is lovely.

The staff and family who run the site are incredibly helpful and regularly check in with you to see if everything is going ok or if you need anything at all.

We came as two couples and had a bell tent each. It is not something any of us had done before and we are really delighted that we had such a good time!

Total value for money!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Coverdale, Owner at Dukeries Retreat
Responded 14 Sept 2021
Thanks Rebecca! Probably the best review we have had this year and we are really chuffed with such nice words! We have so many exciting plans to improve the site for next year. Keep an eye on our social media platforms and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Avril_INewark wrote a review Nov 2021
Newark31 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this totally unique site with our best friends in our caravans over bonfire night weekend. I can’t speak highly enough of the site, the 5 ⭐️ facilities and the entire experience. We met the owner Mick (unfortunately not his wife Lyndis) who was so accommodating and friendly, a perfect host. In summer the pitches are for glamping tents, in winter the pitches are for caravans but with full access to all the facilities which include your own personal locked bathroom with underfloor heating, shower, sink and toilet, all spotlessly clean. On the decking is your own wooden bar, log fired hot tub and seating. Available to purchase were logs, kindling and firelighters, Breakfast hampers, in fact anything you needed.
The 6 glamping pitches are in a huge field and there are also 3 further caravan pitches, a pizza oven and seating area, All you can see is open space. A short walk away is an Indian restaurant that we would definitely recommend and then Ye Olde Bell Inn hotel/pub/spa where if you say you’re at Dukeries you get 15% off food and drinks.
We came away feeling so relaxed.
We’ve already booked our next trip and will be booking more.
I almost want to keep quiet about this amazing place so that it won’t get so busy that I can’t get in! But that would be selfish!
Try it and you’ll be hooked, we are!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Coverdale, Owner at Dukeries Retreat
Responded 8 Jan 2022
Thank you Avril for leaving us such a lovely review! It is much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JSims2021 wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends spent a lovely weekend here at Dukeries Retreat located only a short 10 minute taxi ride from Retford Station. This place is very convenient should you want a weekend break from London as trains are only 1hr 15 minutes from Kings Cross.

The six bell tents are luxurious with little details like marshmellows and gin placed in every tent, for those that want to indulge. We had a fantastic breakfast at The White Horse, located a three minute walk away and even an excellent curry at Yash next door (try the Lamb Bhuna). Each tent is furnished with high quality bedding, towels and dressing gowns (some of our group, practically lived in them for the weekend).

Would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a family trip or a weekend getaway with friends. The hot tubs are great!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Coverdale, Owner at Dukeries Retreat
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thanks John! Your group were great fun! We were pleased to host your reunion and hope to do it again next year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgiegirl2874 wrote a review Jul 2022
11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well what can I say but WOW!!
When I found this site on the internet I was so impressed by the look of the tents etc and the reviews I had read that I booked a two night stay with my mum n sister as a treat for my mums birthday. We arranged an early check in n late check out before we arrived which I would reccomend so you can spend as much time as you can there.
We arrived to the owners greeting us and talking us thru things, and even though I had seen pictures I was still amazed by the care and detail in each bell tent area.
You want for nothing whilst your there, there is a bar area with a fridge and all cooking equipment including a portable stove, bbq and there is a microwave if needed in the communal kitchen oh and a freezer which came in handy for ice cubes as seen as we arrived on the hottest few days of the year! The bell tent itself was stunning, a kingside bed, sofa bed and camp beds (a stove fire which we obvs didn't use)
The decking had it's own hot tub which was heated up by logs (we chose to keep it cool like a plunge pool in the scorching heat!) Also a table and chairs, aswell as a bench and a hammock! A parasol was also on the decking as we arrive (a new addition which was very welcomed)
The site has a pizza oven which I would totally recommend using, we loved it!
Each tent also has it's own bathroom just a short walk away.
I'm in awe of the attention to detail to create this beautiful site and we will definitely be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Columb G wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited the Dukeries for a weekend getaway from London and it exceeded all expectations. Although only just over an hour on the train it felt like a world away. The luxury bed allowed for a great nights sleep and the hot tub in the morning was the perfect refreshment in the warm weather. We made use of the pizza oven and it was really fun making your own pizza, everyone loved it! The private shower facilities were second to none and the best I have experienced at many glamping sites. Highly recommend that you experience the Dukeries for yourself!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Easy access by train from London. Local amenities are wonderful including the local pub breakfast!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Coverdale, Owner at Dukeries Retreat
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Thanks Columb! We are really pleased you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon! :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tammy wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just sent 3 nights here at The Dukeries retreat and what a treat it was!! The accommodation was exactly as described, spacious bell tent, outdoor bar area, wood fired hot tub (so easy to use) BBQ, use of pizza oven. Separate individual wet rooms with shower sink and toilet- not shared with any other guests, own key...fabulous!
The place was quiet, with lots of things to do nearby and games on site for the kids. It was absolutely spotless and we couldn't recommend it more!
The owner was very helpful and took time to make sure everything was OK.
We will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan U wrote a review Jul 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent the weekend at the retreat with my girlfriend and from the moment we arrived it was faultless. Beautiful grounds, warm welcome from the lovely hosts and everything you could want from a glamping experience

Upon arrival there was a quick tour with all the information of the on-site provided along with a quick demo on how to work the amazing hot tubs

We were also taken through all the great local amenities, with us sampling the local pub which served up a top class breakfast which really took the edge out my mild hangover after one too many bottles of Prosecco in the hot tub.

The tents themselves are lovely, spacious, classy and private, but without being isolated, and kitted out with everything you’d need, beautifully comfortable beds, plus bedding and lights and fitting to make it all cosy of an evening.

The wood fired pizza ovens were particularly good value and although my culinary skills need some work, it really added something special to our stay. And also meant that whilst ruining pizza, we got chatting to the other lovely guests on site and even ruined a pizza for them too before we shared a drink at our private bar and saw the evening out.

A great couple of days in a beautiful location with no stone left unturned at the little gem of a place. We highly recommend giving Dukeries a go. We’ll certainly be back for another round of pizzas at the retreat soon
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking provided.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Coverdale, Owner at Dukeries Retreat
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Thank you Daniel for the great review! We are glad you and your partner enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon! :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily F wrote a review Jul 2021
11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm so glad that I came across this little gem of a place on facebook! Everything was amazing! The owners were so friendly/welcoming, helpful, and I don't think that they could've done anything more to make our stay better! Literally everything has been thought of, and the attention to detail was fab. The view from our bell tent was incredible, the bed was so comfy, the hot tub was incredible, the whole place was super clean... I could go on! We loved the modern wetroom that was provided per each bell tent - no sharing facilities, it was great. Lots of rabbits running about at dusk and dawn, which was lovely to see. We were actually so sad to leave! Loved every minute!! Thankyou so much!

Emily
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Coverdale, Owner at Dukeries Retreat
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Thanks Emily for the wonderful review! We will be in touch as soon as we have opened the bookings for next you to get you booked in!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel M wrote a review Aug 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a 3 night stay at the lovely Dukeries retreat.what more can you want a big spacious bell tent, wood fired hot tub, bar and fire pit all in your own little spot, use of a shared wood fired pizza oven.All facilities have been finished to a high standard. Each tent has use of their own bathroom, staff cannot be anymore helpful and friendly.
We spend lots of time in the area due to having a caravan around 30 minutes away but we will be back for another visit very soon I’m sure.

Instructions clear and precise for use of hot tub, pizza oven etc, everything you need is supplied from the owners including pizza bases and toppings to buy if you haven’t brought your own.

I can’t thank them enough for our stay we all had a fantastic time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Coverdale, Owner at Dukeries Retreat
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Thanks so much for the review! It really does mean a lot and we are so glad you had a great time! Hope to see you again next year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steel-City-Kyd wrote a review Sept 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked weeks ago 24th 25th till 26th Sept 2 caravans 2 couples really looking forward to going, Thursday 23rd we had packed the caravans packed our weekend food and clothing and organised our businesses as both couples run their own companies and looking forward to probably the last sun filled weekend of this year . Then 7am this morning 24th the day we were due to arrive we received a text message confirming our booking had been cancelled
due to circumstances out of their control and offered their apologies but no reason as to why just an offer of full deposit refund and a gesture of a free 2 night stay within their season. Disappointed obviously but having met the owner previously through a mutual friend and booking on recommendation for me not the way to run a fledgling but growing business
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Coverdale, Owner at Dukeries Retreat
Responded 25 Sept 2021
Thank you for you for review, Steel-City-Kyd.   We are hurt and disappointed that you felt the need to do so.   Just to remind you we had a family reason at the last minute which meant we had to close the site for a few days and cancel all bookings. The situation arose at 7am that morning. Our very first act was to contact the the bookings and let them know. We did so by text and email as we understood the disruption this would cause.  In the message, we apologised and offered an immediate refund.   In addition, we offered a free rebook at a time to suit you and further to that we called around the local caravan sites we knew and arranged for an alternative pitch at a lovely site 2 miles away.   All this was communicated to you politely, apologetically and quickly.   It seems as though you didn’t want to take up our offer of the alternative site and actually we are not sure either what more you expected us to do in the difficult circumstances. You will see that our reviews on Trip Advisor are rather better than average and these are placed by people who have stayed at our site.   We have worked hard to achieve such good reviews for our business over the past 2 years and this is actually the first time we have had anything other than 5 stars. Given the circumstances it does make it a bit of a bitter pill to swallow but we do wholeheartedly accept that you have your reasons for doing so. We think this issue is best closed now and we hope you manage to find somewhere to stay which you enjoy. You are still free to rebook with us free of charge at a time of your suiting and hope you still take us up on that offer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Nichola B wrote a tip 25 May
Leeds, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots to do in the area, we visited Sherwood Forest and Yorkshire Wildlife Park. Plenty of shops and places to eat out not that you need to."
Read full review
Sam H wrote a tip Oct 2023
Rochdale, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just pack food and drink! That really is all you’ll need!"
Read full review
Sarah F wrote a tip Aug 2023
United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't hesitate to book!"
Read full review
NPotter wrote a tip Aug 2023
Peterborough, United Kingdom10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy relaxing and unwinding in a beautiful setting"
Read full review
Shaun P wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I think you help was good enough.. and any questions I asked you anwer thank you for that. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barnby Moor area.
PRICE RANGE
£122 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottinghamshireRetfordBarnby Moor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DUKERIES RETREAT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Dukeries Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Dukeries Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Live For Today - Hazlewood Castle Quad Bike and Activity Centre (1.9 miles), Towton Battlefield (0.9 miles), and Elmet Alpaca Trekking and Tearoom (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dukeries Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Dukeries Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Dukeries Retreat?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Dukeries Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dukeries Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roast Coffee Shop, The Jackdaw, and The Lemon Tree.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dukeries Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Dukeries Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Dukeries Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lotherton (3.1 miles) and Bramham Park (4.5 miles).
All Barnby Moor HotelsBarnby Moor Hotel DealsHotels near Dukeries Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire