The Station
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Station

Traveller (77)
dirty laundry outside the room
Room & Suite (21)
The Station Hotel
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

£61
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 2 small hotels in Worksop
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a pub / restaurant and offer a mix of standard and ensuite rooms. All rooms are clean and comfortable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Snack bar
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business

Location

Carlton Road, Worksop S80 1PS England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Doncaster Sheffield Airport
12.4 mi
See all flights
Nottingham Airport
27.2 mi
See all flights
120Reviews2Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 29
  • 10
  • 9
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Trevor C wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just recently stayed for one night at this hotel in Worksop. It met the requirements, cheap and available, but that was about it. The staff were very pleasant throughout, the room was clean, freaks hotel, clean sheets etc, the bathroom was clean, the bar area was nice. Unfortunately I had a very broken sleep, the person next door had the television on all through the night or the set had been left on, I did not hear anyone moving in the room nor did they respond when I knocked on the door. There were a few slamming doors in the night and the floor above creaked badly.
I decided to have an evening meal there, it was poor, I opted for sausages and mash, the sausages were awful, the veg previously frozen, although I understand that, the mash was not proper fresh made mash, I believe that had been frozen also.

I will not be staying there again even though it just about served it’s purpose.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Rayner wrote a review Aug 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Some of the recent poor reviews posted here are extremely over exaggerated and unfair. (Some people would even find reasons to complain about standards in the Ritz!) Obviously this is a low budget hotel and complainer’s should keep this in mind, before unfairly sounding off.) I have stayed at the Station Hotel during the week for the past 9 months with work but will soon be moving elsewhere on a new project. The rooms (with exception of deluxe room) are not very good to be honest and I only booked when the deluxe room was available.) The food is excellent with a wide variety available and the staff have been absolutely brilliant with me. Dave has always sorted a few minor issues I have had with the room out straight away. Liam is a great barman and always makes you feel welcome. Special mention to Angela (keeping my coffee & milk topped up in the room, thank you.) Lola is an absolute superstar, her lovely nature and outstanding customer service is amazing. Thank you to all members of staff for taking care of me over the past 9 months
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PatG wrote a review Jul 2022
Adlington, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is advertised as offering bed and breakfast. This is not the case. Luckily I asked a member of staff what time breakfast was served. He told me they hadn't included breakfast for years and had informed various trip companies of this. Had I known, I would have booked somewhere else but you rely on these companies to do the leg work for you. I was not impressed. I now have to find somewhere first thing in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't book if you want a breakfast here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Watson & Marsh wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom1,164 contribution249 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First impressions were not favourable, the peeling paint and fading signs on the exterior were evidence of what was to come.

This is a public house with rooms, not a hotel.

On arrival, you check in at the pleasant public house bar, you must present a credit card to secure the room; if you do not then you will not stay, the booking conditions stated that there was no prepayment required and you pay when you arrive, however, this is not the case and the ‘hotel’ will take payment prior to arrival.

The upstairs accommodation is extremely run down, requiring a refurbishment and at least a very good clean.

The route to the room was via corridors of filth and uncared-for space, outside the room was a large pile of used linen.

The room allocated was right on the main road into the town, so residents will experience constant noise throughout the night.

The mattress on the bed was very old and stained, leaving me with a bad back. The housekeeping staff could not even be bothered to tuck in the sheets, pillows were also old and stained, the duvet was awful. No bedside light, the only light switch was by the main door. No useable power points in the room made it impossible to charge phones or laptops.

The walls were dirty, the carpets badly stained and marked by iron burns, all surfaces were covered in dust, the kettle was full of stale water.

The only place to sit was either on the bed or on a child’s stool under the television table.

Plus points were few but the television and Wi-Fi were good.

The head housekeeper is delusional and arrogant in believing that she is doing anything like a good job.

They do not provide any breakfast service at the ‘hotel’ and the place they recommended on the adjacent station has been permanently closed for three years. There is nowhere close by to get food in the morning.

The ‘hotel’ is not worth the price being asked for and is a place to be avoided at all costs, as the owners and management obviously do not care about their guests in any way shape or form, they should be ashamed and are obviously happy to lie online to tempt in unaware guests
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lou L wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the deluxe double room, costs £160 for 2 nights. Complete rip off, the room is disgusting! The smell when you walk in is horrific foul mouldy stench which gets so much worse when you open the bathroom door, mould everywhere. No evidence that they've tried to clean it and the fan doesn't work. Hairs in the shower and sink, the toilet seat is even broken. The mattress may as well not be there it's so old and thin. We have to wash everything we had with us including the bags our clothes were in. Do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gentle H wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I came here for a drink whilst I waited for my train. The staff lack manners (no thank yous etc), the tables are mis-matched, as though they have come from an old canteen. The paint on the walls and ceiling is bodged and the bathroom tiles are cracked/falling off. Minimal effort is made with this place. There was a random cake abandoned on one of the tables! They had the fire exit door held open on the coldest day of the month, when it was blizzardous. I asked the waiter if it could be closed, as the whole bar was unpleasantly cold. I was told no!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KAREN WOODS, Owner at The Station
Responded 22 Jul 2023
I’m sorry about your experience here. The reason with outside paintwork is botched is because the council were exploring some heritage features as we’re having work done around the back. I am more interested in the service you received. Can you tell me exactly when you came in please
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
patstar123 wrote a review Jul 2023
Crewe, United Kingdom21 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was disgusting hairs all in the shower, mold, please see attached photos. But the worst was the noisy water pump in my room ( room 5 ) was going off all night had no sleep. Complained but wasn't interested but did know about the problem. I can't seem to unload the video of the water pump but you can see it on my Facebook Paul Ashley from Crewe
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KAREN WOODS, Owner at The Station
Responded 22 Jul 2023
Please stop with your harassment. You have been blocked from our business page and also a local information page. We apologised and refunded you in full for your stay, we have also assured you that the problems have been sorted
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trevor trumpet wrote a review Jul 2020
18 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been in the station many times,I and my wife were very impressed when seeing the new covid precaution put in place.
We ordered our drink as it is table service everyone seemed ok apart from one rather funk and rude man.
Said man was sneezing all over the place and not covering his nose the staff also had to make his sterilise his hands and he seemed very unfamiliar with the hand sanitizer process.
We intend to stay the whole evening but this was very off-putting,my wife has very bad copd and we did not like the idea of getting the guys germs.
We like this pub but won't be back for some time
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jade B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelled from Newcastle and couldn’t of had more accommodating staff, went above and beyond for our group booking. Food was great quality homely food. The best chips ever! Will defiantly be staying again. Dave especially was amazing and made us feel very welcome
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark S wrote a review May 2018
Worksop, United Kingdom20 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came for 1 night. The room was exceptional and the ensuite was the same. Full English breakfast was what I would expect and all the staff are friendly.
The car park is big enough for the amount of rooms, providing the guests park appropriately so can’t hold that against them.
Slight criticisms are there no complimentary toiletries which I would expect for the price paid, the brightness of the fire exit sign in the room, and the banging door in the corridor as people enter and exit the building. But regardless of these, it didn’t spoil the stay to any great degree so still full marks.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANGELA A asked a question Jan 2017
Nottingham, United Kingdom62 contributions20 helpful votes
How big is the Car Park please? Is there always room to park?
Answer from KAREN W
Worksop, United Kingdom6 contributions
Yes we will always find a space for you to park
Watson & Marsh wrote a tip Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom1,164 contribution249 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place at all costs"
Read full review
PatG wrote a tip Jul 2022
Adlington, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book if you want a breakfast here!"
Read full review
Redhead1946 wrote a tip Mar 2020
Chatham, United Kingdom39 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were at the front it was very quite but you do have stairs to climb"
Read full review
David H wrote a tip Oct 2019
Watford, United Kingdom32 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 15 on the ground floor opens out to the car park. Car parked right outside door. Very comfortable with all amenities."
Read full review
Paul E wrote a tip Jan 2018
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"do not go there!!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Worksop area.
PRICE RANGE
£50 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottinghamshireWorksop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE STATION - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Station
Which popular attractions are close to The Station?
Nearby attractions include Chesterfield Canal (0.3 miles), Kids Zone (0.2 miles), and North Notts Community Arena (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Station?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Station?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Station?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Station?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Railway Cafe Worksop, Fish & Chips G.B Dawson, and Snakattak.
Is The Station located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Worksop.
Does The Station offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Station?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mr Straw's House (0.4 miles), Hodsock Priory (4.6 miles), and Worksop Priory Church (0.5 miles).
All Worksop HotelsWorksop Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WorksopHotels near The Station
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire