We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown & Thistle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown & Thistle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown & Thistle
 Click to rate
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only visited the restaurant. The atmosphere is very nice, staff is friendly and did not seem annoyed by our noisy toddlers, good choice and quality of food. We will return in summer to enjoy the wonderful outside sitting area!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evangelos G
OISite, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hey Evangelos G Thanks for the review. We're pleased your visit to us was pleasant and that you felt welcomed with toddlers too. It's good to hear the choice of food and the quality of it was impressive too. We look forward to your return. Dionisio and The Crown and Thistle team

Oxfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After attending New Years Eve and staying the night but feeling a little worse for wear New Years Day breakfast of which I couldn't face, my husband promised that we would go in the near future for the breakfast. We went on Sunday and it was superb, thoroughly enjoyed it . It was cooked to perfection including the poached eggs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie58Oxfordshire
OISite, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hey annie58Oxfordshire Thanks for taking the time to return to us after being unable to eat post-partying. We're thrilled we didn't disappoint and that you enjoyed your scrumptious breakfast - it sounds like it was cooked to perfection. We do hope you'll return to sample our a la carte menu too! Regards Dionisio and The Crown and Thistle team

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was ok, nothing special, a not too busy Saturday night, service again was fair, ok I'd say once in a while but hopefully better next time. Pre dinner drinks in the bar were better, a better atmosphere there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josieled1985
Helena E, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi josieled1985 Thanks for the review. We're gutted to hear your food didn't taste as excellent as it should've done - please do, in future, let us know on the night so we can ensure this is rectified immediately. It's great to hear the atmosphere at the bar was a hit though - we do hope to see you again,...

Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Had our not the New Year dinner here with friends on the evening of Friday 30th December and must say we all had a wonderful meal with excellent service. All nine of the group enjoyed the food immensely (which is rare in our group) and the service was delightful, would thoroughly recommend the restaurant and bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank turbo666
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi turbo666 Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on your not-the-New-Year dinner. We're delighted you were pleased with the food and service provided for your group of 9 and hope we'll see you back again soon. Kind regards Dean and The Crown and Thistle Team

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We have been regular visitors over the past two years. However, the menu seems to have changed little. Prices are high, but the food not that exciting, rather "run of the mill". Deserts are the weak point. Worst - the Cheese Cake, best avoided. A large lump of blancmange sat on a very thin layer of biscuit. Who on earth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hi Michael Thanks for taking the time to review the site. We're sorry you weren't happy with your latest visit - our menu changes regularly and dishes are added/removed due to popular demand and feedback. Thanks for the feedback on the desserts here - the best part of the meal should be exactly that, in our opinions and we're gutted...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Came here based on someone's recommendation and was not left disappointed. We had a lovely dinner by the log fire and I would highly recommend the Roast Beef dinner on a Sunday. It was pricey but you get more than enough meat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeTraveler
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hello CupcakeTraveler Thanks for taking the time to review your cosy Sunday Roast - we're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Dean and The Crown and Thistle Team

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely pub and great function room.. However, we recently held a wake there and the food was appalling for the price. The a la carte menu was 'sneaked in' without request and a bowl of olives was £20! They claim it was 5 portions! We ended up ordering pizza for over £50 and endured the small plate of white sandwiches...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bailois
Crown_Thistle, Front Office Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us and taking time out to do so. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was a poor one; our Management Team have been given your comments for further review.

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Wow, this old coaching inn lives up to its reputation. Such atmosphere, like being taken back on time. The. Room was clean, more than adequate, roomy and in keeping with the rest of the inn/hotel. Close to Abingdon centre, adequate parking. Now to my favourite subject food and drink.....Certainly not disappointed, fantastic friendly bar staff, made to feel very welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sammimileman
OISite, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Hey Sammimileman Thanks for the fab feedback. We're thrilled that you found no fault with the site - enjoying the atmosphere, rooms, service, and food - to name a few. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Dionisio and The Crown and Thistle team

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We had an unplanned Saturday evening in this lovely cosy welcoming pub. There were seats and tables available and the atmosphere was cosy and friendly. The beer pro secco and wine was really good and we had a bar snack that was delicious. There was a wedding party in process but this did not intrude on the evening. The courtyard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
Crown_Thistle, General Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments - they are always welcome. Hopefully we'll have you with us again soon.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here before and there are some very good points about this hotel. It is old and full of character. The staff are polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy. However this visit we were given a very small room which would have just been acceptable for a single visitor rather than a couple. We paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
Crown_Thistle, Front Office Manager at The Crown & Thistle, responded to this review

I'm so sorry your experience wasn't as we'd expect you to have. Our Management Team are reviewing your comments.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
1.0 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
426 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
4.5 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Crown & Thistle Restaurant
The Crown & Thistle Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown & Thistle has benefited from a £1.8m refurbishment and is a stunning restaurant, bar and rooms with character and elegance.Serving quality food and drink all day every day, from breakfast through to lunch and dinner, as well as a range of coffees, fine wines, cocktails, local real ales and international lagers, it is the perfect place to relax in comfortable surroundings.There are 18 beautiful en-suite bedrooms with luxury features and finishings, and a stunning function room, The Barn, for private celebrations, weddings and functions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown & Thistle

Address: 18 Bridge Street, Abingdon OX14 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Price Range: £99 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown & Thistle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Crown & Thistle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Thistle Hotel Abingdon
Crown And Thistle Abingdon
The Crown & Thistle Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown & Thistle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown & Thistle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was delightful but overlooks the main road so there is a little noise from traffic”
 of 5 bubbles suffolkpoet, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles BecksyDartford, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you have problems with stairs ask for a room with easy access.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanG618, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Exec doubles are delightful. Choose a courtyard view as road view can be noisy but there is good sound proofing”
 of 5 bubbles Markmasento, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Inside of the hotel is a labyrinth- avoid if you have disability.”
 of 5 bubbles roamerLondon, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5