We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Old Crown Coaching Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Crown Coaching Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for a night and were very surprised at how friendly the landlord and staff were. Nothing was too much for them and they made our stay very comfortable. We were able to eat our dinner sat next to the open fire in the bar on Saturday evening which was very cosy. The menu was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
Province of Almeria, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

so, my hubby and i were invited to see family in faringdon, as there would be no room in the house we thought we would book in to the crown, biggest mistake of our lives,i know its an old building but thats no excuse for poor living is there, the bedroom was small, but that was ok ish, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Matthew T, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julie B My sincerest apology's for your uncomfortable stay. The room you were staying in is one of our smaller ones but we do have larger rooms available. we were unfortunately having some electrical issues in our restaurant area which was also in connection with the fault to the fan in the room next to you these have all...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The last tile I stopped here it was a pleasant experience- allowing for the age of the hotel (it's always going to be a bit creaky at night!). This time however the Inn is apparently without a manager- hence no food in the evenings, despite meals being advertised when booking, and indeed menus left in the room. Instead you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owls17
Matthew T, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Hi Owls17 I am sorry for your bad experience whilst staying at the old crown, My wife and I have now taken over as managers. We can now offer Quality home cooked meals and have addressed some of the issues brought to our attention. I do hope you can return some day so that we can help you regain the...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with friends after going to a wedding. It is in the centre of town so expect some noise. I shared a room with 2 friends. The room was warm and the beds were clean and comfortable. While the fittings in the bathroom were new and clean, the walls and woodwork needed a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Starz71
Oxford
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We phoned ahead and said we would be bringing our little dog Sanchez, I met up with my old pal, had a great meal of King Prawns, Greek Salad and Scampi. We went for a walk around Faringdon then went back for coffee later. Bar service and staff were all exceedingly nice and friendly, just what you need after a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MaxPepsi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is an Inn built in the 17th century and modernised to include all the mod cons. It is a labyrinth of different types of rooms, and a sympathetic blend of olde and new. This is a great place to stay for tourists from abroad who want some English history. The room had a good television, generous supply of tea,coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Birtabroad
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming staff, breakfast was ok. Rooms have recently been refurbished so are quite nice, window frames and parts of the building in need of repair but it is a very old building 18th century I believe. For a basic one night business stay it was fine, will return mainly because of the welcoming helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaveMiller69
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We really like this place. We stopped over night whilst on route to Cornwall. We had a triple room which was nice and quite and spotless. Lovely power shower with plenty of hot water. The place is old with lots of history the corridors to the rooms are long and undulating with wonky stairs but this is part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peter b
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

My wife and I were visiting friends near to Faringdon at the start of last weekend. and we had planned to return home on Saturday but it is such a beautiful area we decided to do a bit of sightseeing and try to get a room somewhere. We had planned to stay in Burford but were unable to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gmack34
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Joan & Rick. Liverpool Hosts Tony & Odetta. Could not have been more helpful, they had only just taken over management .Our room was more than expected could not fault it. Service was excellent for breakfast and dinner the two young men serving the meals were pleasant and attentive in keeping with the lovely place. We also attended a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ron d

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faringdon
0.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
276 reviews
9.9 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
444 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
304 reviews
12.3 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Food & drink at the hotel
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
16th century coaching inn arranged around a cobbled courtyard. Rustic bar at the front of the property with open fire and real ales. Courtyard lounge serves breakfast and coffee each morning. Carvery every Sunday lunch time ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Crown Coaching Inn

Address: 25 Market Place, Faringdon SN7 7HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon
Price Range: £66 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Crown Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Old Crown Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Crown Coaching Hotel Faringdon
Old Crown Coaching Inn Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Crown Coaching Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Crown Coaching Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles juliebD1639XC, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles Birtabroad, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not great if you have mobility issues.”
 of 5 bubbles 994peterb, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Car park was full but easily found on road parking. Beware uneven staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles 384fionaa, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go! But if u do avoid the front cos of noise and smokers”
 of 5 bubbles 666Bunty, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay