Rose Revived Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rose Revived Hotel

New Bridge A415 Abingdon to Witney Road, Witney OX29 7QD England
Traveller (178)
Shower again
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#5 of 6 hotels in Witney
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Mid-range
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Breakfast available
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles826 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Rose Revived Hotel offers a picturesque riverside setting that often enchants guests, complemented by a warm, inviting atmosphere featuring an open fire and cozy rooms. While the staff receives accolades for their friendliness, some visitors have experienced slow service during peak times. Room cleanliness and hygiene at the bar have garnered mixed reviews. Although the hotel's dining experience is generally appreciated, particularly for accommodating dietary needs, some guests feel the value doesn't match the cost, citing food quality and room size as concerns.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
826Reviews6Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 291
  • 166
  • 125
  • 116
  • 128
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sally730 wrote a review Aug 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff in the hotel were very welcoming, and went out of their way to make everyone feel safe in a relaxed atmosphere. We were seated outside at a socially distanced table, overlooking the river. The waitress went out of her way to meet our needs, So much so, that she was going backwards and forwards to the bar/kitchen to ensure that we were happy with everything .
The room and facilities were clean and cosy, and no matter what time of day day or night, staff were always available to answer any queries.
The hotel is situated right on the river Thames, where you can walk for miles, and totally unspoiled countryside.
The only downside is that the road the hotel is situated on is quite busy, so traffic noise early in the morning can be an issue at the front of the hotel. However, we had a relaxing stay in a traditional countryside pub, serving traditional pub grub.
The most impressive aspect of the hotel was the continual and constant professionalism of all staff at all times, who all made sure that everyone was kept safe and followed all Covd-19 guidelines to the letter.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noisy early. In the morning due to traffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Hi Sally, Thank you ever so much for your kind review of our team and our safe pub scheme. We are so happy that you had great service from our team and very happy to hear that you felt safe by the team following the Covid-19 Guidelines. We hope that you come back in the near future. Many Thanks The Rose Revived Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul J wrote a review Aug 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped by for lunch whilst on a day trip in the area. Upon walking in was greeted by a very nice clean, tidy looking pub. Was seated by the host who whilst helpful and found us a table, did not come across as enthusiastic or as welcoming as I'd expect.
The waitress was quickly over to take a drinks order, and was very friendly and welcoming, I ordered a Guinness and an orange juice, and unfortunately she took this to mean me ordering for myself and my friend, and had to stop her from leaving the table immediately so he could order. A quick 'anything else?' from the waitress would have avoided this situation. The drinks arrived promptly, the Guinness was poured well and tasted good.
Food wise we both had the Atlantic Cod and chips, which was reasonably priced very tasty, very well cooked and the accompanying Tartar sauce was excellent. My only suggestion would be to up the portion size on the chips. Service was quite slow for a restaurant that was far from full, but the good quality of the food I felt offset the wait.
Overall I enjoyed my experience and would dine again, but I think a little extra attention to detail could really set this excellent venue apart from others in the area, especially given its location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your comments. Good to know you were looked after well by the team, the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
David T wrote a review Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Thames riverside location couldn't be better, the dining and drinks terrace on the riverbank a lovely asset to the pub. Not so lovely is the carport style cover over the terrace; looks cheap and industrial, it would be better with some plant adornments.
There is large grassed open air area furnished with long tables and benches.
The dining menu is limited in dishes and cover the usual suspects of burgers, fish and chips, and some steak, plus an exotic dish or two. Dishes are tasty and well presented.
Breakfast menu like wise limited, no cereals or yoghurts. But eggs Florentine and Royale are featured, as is the full English. As with dinner, breakfast dishes are cooked very well.
Interior dining areas seemed spacious and numerous.
A mitigating factor to the above dining comments, there was a problem with a food delivery from a supplier during our stay. Refrigeration vehicle issue apparently.
Service overall was excellent, with attentive and efficient staff.
Our bedroom, over the pub and dining terrace, overlooked the Thames through a mass of Weeping Willow, was adequate size, no more, with the obligatory large TV and light grey decor. It wasn't noisy given the location of the room with windows open.
Walk in shower was excellent with large shower head or alternative hand held shower. Not so excellent was the miniscule hand basin.
A table top fan was thoughtfully provided in the room, mildly effective during the recent heat.
There is ample parking.
Nearby, is small scale boat hire operation - electric powered punts and pedaloe canoes, maybe other stuff as well.
Enjoyable and comfortable stay but would have been better with a more extensive choice of dinner dishes, and a more comprehensive breakfast.
Given the high standard set by quite a few inns up and down the country in recent years, this chain owned/run inn could be, should be, better.
Room pricing above average.
Average rating overall, but location excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Riverside rooms are good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Thanks so much for your review, it's great you picked up on so much, we have a great team, beautiful setting and our food and drinks tends to hit the spot for most, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison M wrote a review Jul 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have eaten here on many occasions but this was our first visit since they opened post lockdown. We booked a table for lunch on a Thursday. For once the car park was empty and easy to park, inside was quiet but we were there at the start of service, staff were helpful and fully aware of social distancing where appropriate all had masks and had limited contact with us. Food was still the same fantastic quality. We sat inside but after half an hour most of the outside tables were in use and a few more inside. The main entrance was your entry point and the patio doors for exit, also they have a great red and green system for the toilets. Had no issues whilst there and will go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Hi, Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. We are so glad that you will be back and very happy to hear that we keep providing top quality service. Many Thanks The Rose Revived Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
magsede wrote a review Sept 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This pub/hotel was amazing. Everyone was so friendly, helpful and had a lovely sense of humour but acted professionally at all times. The staff all wore shields and guests were asked to wear masks when moving around the pub. Everywhere there were hand sanitizers and all precautions were taken to keep us safe.
There was a lot of choice on the menu and the food was cooked and presented well. It was all good value for money.
The location was beautiful, overlooking the Thames. There was plenty of outdoor places to eat, which were all suitably spaced, as were the tables inside.
It is an ideal location for visiting Blenheim Palace and the Cotswolds, as well as Oxford.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay there and felt so relaxed afterwards.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2020
Thanks for the five star rating! We look forward to your next visit, take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sam_Staffordshire wrote a review Mar 2020
Cannock, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited The Rose Revived, for my birthday. We chose this pub Inn, due to the positive reviews and location.

When we arrived, we were promptly checked in by a friendly member of staff. Place instantly felt warm & inviting, and we were shown to our room within a few minutes of checking in.

Room was clean, and upon first inspection, nicely decorated, with an excellent view of the beautiful bridge, and river. However it soon became apparent, that the room we stayed in, could do with a bit of TLC. Paint peeled off the bathroom wall, and wallpaper ripped off in certain places. In main living area, curtains were hanging off curtain pole.

On a positive note, fresh towels, clean bedding, tea & coffee facilities, TV, and hairdryer. Bed was also very comfortable, we slept well.

We also booked to eat in their restaurant, again, friendly staff, shown straight to our table. Excellent table service, and food was of great quality, and price, highly recommend.

Upon checking out I discussed my quality of stay with the staff, she informed me that other customers, have also complained about the above, and The Rose Revived, is due an upgrade.

Overall I would definitely stay here again, but please guys, sort the little issues, that could be easily rectified,and push your ratings. Food was excellent, lovely location, and brilliant staff who I can't recommend highly enough.

Thank you for a lovely stay. Mr & Mrs H
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
susanandhuw wrote a review Sept 2020
London
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was very small, we could barely stand in the tiny shower cubicle and the walls need repainting. There is a step in the middle of the room we both tripped over and is not safe (room 2). Very poor value for money. Breakfast was 30 minutes late due to a problem with the cooker. No cereal or juice or croissants offered although on the menu ..... we just sat for over 30 minutes waiting. Would not stay here again although the setting on the outside is lovely. As the title states, disappointed and the room was very overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 28 Sept 2020
We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. There is a plan in place to address the rooms decor, unfortunately we can't do anything about the step into the room other than highlight it, as it is. The breakfast menu is provided for you as under current restrictions we cannot offer the normal continental buffet style i.e help yourself, all offerings on the menu are available when placing your order with our serving team. Again thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flossyPembrokeshire wrote a review Dec 2021
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really good value property set in a lovely location on the bank of the river Thames.We received a warm welcome and made our way to our room - room 1,good sized room which was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a view over the bridge which was nice, even though the road was busy we couldn't hear the traffic from our room(maybe different in the summer with the window open).There was a large shower room with washbasin and a separate room with another washbasin and toilet all spotlessly clean.Staff were all very accommodating and friendly.The bar restaurant is a really nice spacious area and was really cosy and warm with open fires and christmas lighting. The menu is basic,harty fare and reasonably priced we had the curry and a rump steak with peppercorn sauce which were both delicious. Breakfast was also really good 1 full english and 1 pancakes with maple syrup.
There is ample on site parking there is also plenty of outside seating alongside the river which no doubt is lovely in the summer.
Thanks for a really comfy stay, we wouldn't hesitate to come back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 6 Dec 2021
Thank you so much for such a lovely detailed review, we are very pleased to hear you were happy all round with the accommodation, food, team and location. Hopefully we will see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RitK wrote a review Jul 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
In my group booking we had Seniors with mobility issues and quite alot of luggage. I arrived first and I have to say that I was shocked at the way I was received. Craig at reception had a sour look on his face and was off hand and ruded. Curt and mechanical like he asked for payment straight away and we had to ask him to help us with our luggage.

Before we went to our rooms we had tea in the bar area and then cocktails. I had to personally clear the table of the tea cups and when I went to the bar Craig's comment was about how we must have been drinking alot of tea. He did not apologies and take the tray off me and I did this tray journey to the table twice!

I spoke to other guests in the hotel who had the same reception on arrival and said they would complain when they left. They must have done because overnight Craig became helpful and cheerful.

The breakfast was good apart from the coffee and so was the evening meal
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we will look into your comments. Great to hear breakfast, evening meal and service for breakfast was up to standard, coffee not so great so we will look into that too. We try to make everyones stay as perfect as we can, luggage taken to rooms if required as per your visit, and checkins are unfortunately slightly mechanical as we need to inform you of fire escapes, doors that are alarmed and night entrances etc so we apologise for the formality but the information given is important. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie W wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I bought my mum to eat here on Sunday lunchtime after booking an outside table, when we arrived we were greeted by the very rude manager who told me I hadn't booked a outside table and had to eat inside. The whole time mum and I were there, at least 7 outside tables were empty with no one sat at them. The food was revolting we asked for peas and got salad and limp at best, no peas showed up but limp stale bread no butter. Definitely wont be going anywhere near this place again. Was once a gem now a disgrace and the manager needs training in good customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Rose Revived Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Hi Debbiewb4899lf, I really appreciate your honest feedback, and it will definitely be taken on board. I'm sorry for the experience you've had, and I hope you'll give us another try as this is not our usual standard. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sal. asked a question Oct 2019
Swansea, United Kingdom41 contributions7 helpful votes
Hello staying g this weekend just wondering how far away Bicester shopping village ? Thank you.
Answer from Guest R
Witney, United Kingdom
Hi, Depending on which route you take it is about a 30 minute drive from us.
Rachel H asked a question Feb 2019
Leafield, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
Do allow well behaved dogs if stopping for lunch? Thanks.
Answer from Pegthomp
15 contributions13 helpful votes
They allowed poorly behaved dogs when we were there. 2 dogs that did not get along. Unpleasant!
GPhillipsMBE asked a question May 2017
Carterton, United Kingdom3,380 contributions451 helpful votes
Now that the Rose has gone down hill so much can it ever be Revived!??
Answer from Steve S
Andover, United Kingdom14 contributions6 helpful votes
Well I wouldn’t bother; look at the last 8 or 9 reviews!!!
GPhillipsMBE asked a question May 2017
Carterton, United Kingdom3,380 contributions451 helpful votes
Now that the Rose has gone down hill so much can it ever be Revived!??
Answer from GPhillipsMBE
Carterton, United Kingdom3,380 contributions451 helpful votes
Food was not hot. Service exceptionally slow. Fish portion small and uncooked. Missing vegetables. Staff not concerned! So in my opinion it has gone way downhill.
flyingcarrot9 asked a question Jul 2016
Oxford, United Kingdom192 contributions33 helpful votes
Hi do you serve food all day?
Answer from nigeljcook
Clavering, United Kingdom583 contributions244 helpful votes
I believe they do at this time of the year
Mary I wrote a tip Jun 2024
Gloucester, United Kingdom53 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the scenery outside and eat under the extra large covered area."
Read full review
Graham I wrote a tip Jun 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book as the riverside location makes the Rose Revived popular "
Read full review
Traci D wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wonderful outdoor seating alongside the river. "
Read full review
christina s wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need to improve "
Read full review
FinnladyOxford wrote a tip Jul 2023
Oxford75 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location on The Thames with rooms. Recommend booking in advance. Enjoy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Witney area.
PRICE RANGE
£109 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the rose revived hotel witney
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandOxfordshireWitney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROSE REVIVED HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Rose Revived Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rose Revived Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Millets Farm Falconry Centre (3.3 miles), Aston Pottery (4.2 miles), and Millets Farm Centre (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rose Revived Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Rose Revived Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rose Revived Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rose Revived Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Red Lion, The White Hart, and The Mason Arms.
Are there any historical sites close to Rose Revived Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Great Coxwell Barn (4.0 miles) and Devil's Quoits (2.1 miles).
Does Rose Revived Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Rose Revived Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Witney HotelsWitney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WitneyHotels near Rose Revived Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire