We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sweeney Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sweeney Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 388: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Third time of visiting over a few years. Very popular and busy restraint in the beautiful Sweeney Hall Hotel. Staff very professional and attentive. Food well cooked and presented. Well planned menu. Only criticism was the deserts were not well described on the menu. My daughters syllabus was approximately a desert spoon of said syllabus on top of fruit salad....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave your feedback which is much appreciated.We are really pleased that you enjoyed your lunches yesterday and can advise that we have amended the Syllabub description on our Pudding menu.We hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely selection of sandwiches and cakes. Staff were polite & friendly. Welcome children there. Clean warm and welcoming atmosphere. Relaxing country setting in a convenient place on the side of the main road

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this feedback.We are really pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and hope to see you again soon.

Oswestry
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice accommodation at quiet country setting, comfortable but compact room with TV. Well served breakfast, though Wifi had poor coverage in room. Complimentary tea and coffee in room was of high quality.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank khawarw2017
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your feedback is much appreciated.

Oswestry
Reviewed 1 week ago

A comfortable night's sleep before an early start. Staff kindly allowed me have breakfast before the appointed time in order to get in on time. They also provided me with directions and timings for driving around locally.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petertM7313YN
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this feedback.Your comments are much appreciated.

Oswestry
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a little difficulty finding the hotel as it lays back from the road and when we passed it twice the lights on the sign board was not on. apart from this it is a lovely hotel in a lovely part of the country, the staff were always pleased to help , the room we had was excellent and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank denniscY5894FB
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this feedback. Your comments are much appreciated and we are sorry that we hadn't put the exterior lights on before you arrived. We hope when you are in the area you will stay with us again.

Oswestry
Reviewed 1 week ago

The setting is a beautiful rural location. The food is excellent and the staff are friendly, helpful and professional. Each room is unique, if sometimes a little quirky in design - but I liked that. A refreshing change from the bland uniformity of chain hotels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinOKelly
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this lovely feedback .We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope the quirky is in a good way!

Oswestry
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely break in good surroundings. Good base for touring the area. Dog-friendly. Enjoyed the range of gins! Nearby Llangollen is a lovely town with a range of tourist attractions including a Steam railway

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Curlynortherner
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback.We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited and stayed overnight. Had afternoon tea and evening meal. Great value package and would highly reccommend. This is a fabulous building with lots of great features and the staff are very attentive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S784DUalanm
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Your feedback is much appreciated by the whole team.

Oswestry
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here on several occasions and have always received a warm welcome . Staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable in every way from first friendly greeting, Excellent dining experience and clean and comfortable rooms with lovely views. Imposing house, easy to locate with lots of parking space. Would certainly recommend when visiting the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronsZ1808RA
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback. Your comments are really appreciated and a real pat on the back for all involved.

Oswestry
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old country house, polite staff, excellent food and comfy rooms - breakfast always good - no complaints, and at very reasonable prices if you book direct on line with the hotel Will definitely return

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martincU2034IM
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
385 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
119 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,164 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Parkers Restaurant
Parkers Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Georgian Country House Hotel set in mature parkland yet within easy access of a major road.We have 11 bedrooms in the hotel as well as a cottage that sleeps four in close proximity. Each room is individual with all the quirky details you often find with a family owned and run property.A log fire welcomes you in the winter months and this is equalled by our fantastic terrace and gardens in the summer.We are open to non residents and have a great local reputation and following for our food.Whether a special occasion or a mid week bite to eat we can offer what you need.We have been at the Sweeeney Hall as a family for 20 years now and love what we have to offer with its history and warm atmoshere and unique character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sweeney Hall Hotel

Address: Sweeney Hall Hotel Morda | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Price Range: £82 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweeney Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sweeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweeney Hall Oswestry
Sweeney Hall Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sweeney Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sweeney Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“New room created at the back, recommended”
 of 5 bubbles hezekiah2015, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is lovely”
 of 5 bubbles AJCBridgend, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go unless you get a promise about windows and plumbing (saee my comments above)”
 of 5 bubbles NickNR1, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Running water noise from within the bathroom of room 6?”
 of 5 bubbles gwp12c, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My grandson who got married here stayed the night in the bridal suite, I cannot tell you about any other bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LawrenceJ125, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5