We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Haughton Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Haughton Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 533: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I have now stayed at Haughtiness Hall on two occasions and have been very pleased both times. The first time we were given a room in one of the more modern annexes which was fine - clean, tidy ,warm and comfortable but without the atmosphere of the main house, so last weekend we opted to pay more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happygirl68
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a fabulous Christmas party here. Would definitely recommend. The food was amazing- very tasty, hot and generous portions. Staff were great too. We opted to book to stay overnight and room was delightful - clean, tidy and the homemade biscuits were a lovely touch. My only criticism is that there weren't enough tea/coffee making stock in the room. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannaR1212
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear joannaR1212 We're well into the Christmas Party season and I'm so happy you had a great time at the Hotel. The food, atmosphere and theming we provide in our parties does make them a special night and apart from missing breakfast the next morning, I'm pleased you enjoyed the whole occasion. I look forward to welcoming you back again...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our experience started in February 2015. We were able to see the manor suite dressed for a wedding and were shown around the hotel including the 2 bridal suites. Both of us fell in love with Haughton hall and the Broad room. We provisionally booked the hotel there and then. We viewed a couple of other venues in between but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Goosey G
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear Goosey G Thanks so much for your 5 star review! We do our best to ensure all Bridal parties have the magical wedding they deserve at Haughton Hall and I'm so pleased you were looked after on the day so well by Sharon and the whole team. We pride ourselves on the quality of the food and staff and...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a very pleasant stay, and a relaxing spa break. The hotel is a Georgian country hotel with some ugly extensions, but our room was in the old house and was more of a suite than a room with a lovely 4 poster bed. My partner was very pleased as we also had a huge TV with sky !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear Carol J It is so nice to receive such positive reviews and I'm particularly pleased you liked the food and Four Poster room. We are in a nice quiet position and so provide a restful nights sleep and along with the relaxing leisure facilities onsite, are an ideal location for a weekend away and hope to see you again...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stay at Haughton Hall about twice a year visiting friends and really like this hotel. It's, apart from the ugly extension to the side, a very nice listed building with views into the country side. The rooms are on the large side, which is ideal when travelling with a toddler as there is ample space to put a travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clemens O
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear Clemens O So glad you have had a great stay in one of the large suites and like the raised bath overlooking the grounds. The staff work hard to make all of our guests happy and I will ensure they see your nice comments especially about the breakfast and bar food. I look forward to your next visit to...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do I start, honestly don't think I have anything good to say about this hotel? - Hotel looks like it's had a few extensions, they really do not go with the main building. The drive way up to the hotel was not looked after nicely. - When we walked in we felt there was a grubby feeling, the carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yasmineandjames1994
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear jasmineandjames1994 Thank you for your frank review. I'm very sorry the Four Poster room was not to your liking and have asked housekeeping to investigate the mattress in the room as it was only replaced recently and I have not had any other comments from other guests in the last month or so since then, to say it is...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a birthday celebration it was a fun weekend, well organised with good food. The room was comfortable and spacious. A pleasant bar area. Friendly and helpful staff. We did not use the leisure facilities so can't comment on those but would recommend the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear Dawn D Many thanks for your feedback. Our new Murder Mystery Weekends have proved very popular and so we are going to be adding many more dates for 2017 & 2018 very soon. It's good that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will maybe return to try another of the varied plots in the future...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for an afternoon tea experience given to us as a present. We would not go again as the whole experience was a total disappointment.On arrival we were seated and asked if we would like tea or coffee, the waiter disappeared and came back with a pot of tea without even asking which type we would prefer from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear Gary P I'm very sorry your afternoon tea experience wasn't as expected. It definitely doesn't sound like our normal standard and must apologise if you were not offered any of the flavoured teas available. The waiter thought you had asked for our standard 'Haughton Everyday Tea' after you had looked through the menu and just asked for tea and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent hotel. It's warm with large rooms and complementary snacks, tea and coffee in the room. They have friendly staff and a very good chef in the main restaurant. Happy to cater for late night sandwiches if you arrive late too. Set in a quiet location away from town, which may not be to everyone's liking but it does mean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wombatworrier
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear wombatworrier A great 5 star review, so many thanks. We have a great team in the kitchen and I'm glad you enjoyed the food and stay. With 35 acres of grounds around us, it's a very peaceful location and am pleased you slept well. I look forward to seeing you again. Regards Nicola Mason General Manager

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving at the hotel is an experience as the surroundings are wonderful. Car parking is plentiful. Booking in was easy, but finding my room was fun due to the maze of corridors in this wonderful old building and annexes. The room was old fashioned and dated, but it's an old and dated building so it's to be expected. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick_Garside
HEHotels, General Manager at Haughton Hall, responded to this review

Dear Rick_Garside Thanks for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the quality of our food and surroundings. The staff work hard to ensure guests have a great stay and it's nice for them to be recognised. I look forward to your next stay with us. Regards Nicola Mason General Manager

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
460 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
837 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 15 in Shrewsbury
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the quiet beauty of rural Shropshire, dating from 1718, Haughton Hall has been decorated with timeless style and situated in 35 acres of gardens, woodlands and boasts a lake. An ideal wedding venue location, our relaxing accommodation, spacious public rooms, intimate bar and elegant restaurant create an atmosphere of refined comfort second to none. Haughton Hall enjoys a well stocked coarse fishing pool, and an outdoor tennis court. These are just a few more of the facilities available to you. A weekend break at Haughton Hall offers you the perfect retreat break and the ideal location to immerse yourself in the tranquil and peaceful surroundings of beautiful Shropshire. When staying as our guest at Haughton Hall, you can also enjoy full use of our Leisure Facilities free of charge. Our leisure club has a delightful Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and Multi Gym. Open first thing in the morning it is perfect for a refreshing swim before you start your day or a great stress buster after a busy day. We look forward to welcoming you Nicola Mason - Hotel Manager ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haughton Hall

Address: Haughton Hall Haughton Lane, Shifnal TF11 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Price Range: £67 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haughton Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haughton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haughton Hall Shifnal
Haughton Hall Hotel Shifnal
Haughton Hall Shropshire, UK - Shifnal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haughton Hall staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Muscat, Oman
1 month ago
S-O-T
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Haughton Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay more to stay in the main building if you like old hotels”
 of 5 bubbles happygirl68, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the old part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles CarolJ784, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and stay in the main building although the annexe is fine”
 of 5 bubbles carolynn750, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms are perfect, great size, warm & comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles mikeymike7777, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Four poster rooms are large and luxurious”
 of 5 bubbles mickezr, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay