We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Vicarage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Vicarage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 176: English reviews
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A decent hotel,very reasonably priced and in a great location in the center of Bridgwater. It is very simple but I had a spacious room and a very decent breakfast. It's not luxury but it's clean and a big comfortable bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Protraveller5_11
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The parking was good, no problem to get into the car park and there is on road parking to the front of the hotel too. I arrived after my partner and was surprised that he had been allowed to check into our room before my arrival, however, this was not a major problem. We went up to the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Stayed at the old Vicarage for 1 night) my son and daughter in law stayed for 3 nights) I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but the room was lovely, the service was brilliant - all the staff were really lovely and couldn't do enough to help make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie M
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We have often stayed there and in the past have it found very satisfactory, clean and hospitable. It still is hospitable but not clean. The loo in bedroom was disgusting, encrusted, both seat and bowl, as was the butter ramekin at breakfast, sticky and dirty. Bed was very uncomfortable. Breakfast was very slow and short, apologies were made but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsmsomerset
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on my way home hotel very nice my room was okay in need of up dating but was okay the garden was lovely and well kept .had a good night sleep.breakfast was very good and came with a lovely smile by the lady that cooked it my only fault I only had 1 rasher of bacon .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curry54
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

All the staff were hugely accommodating and couldn't help enough. If you stay here don't expect 5 star accommodation for the bargain price you pay! We had the family room and it had a lounge, bedroom and dressing room along with a bathroom. The floors are uneven, the walls are uneven (as its such an amazing old building) and it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
Management response:

hi Emma Thank you so much for a lovely review-we are glad you enjoyed the wibbly wooblyness of this fantastic building-It was great talking to you this morning-we look forwards to seeing you all soon regards Mike

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for work purposes last week. Having read some previous reviews I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little apprehensive about my stay but after a long journey I was greeted by friendly, helpful staff and a great room! Obviously very recently refurbished to a high standard and tasteful. Bed was very comfortable and despite being a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Owen T
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews and looked at the pictures people had posted to say we were a bit concerned is an understatement however the negativity was proved entirely wrong. Our room which has been renovated very recently and the rooms our friends have were everything you could ask for, they're clean, tidy and comfortable with nice big bathrooms....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan A
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Words can't describe this hotel, it's vile, dirty and the guy on reception is un helpful and very rude, don't waste your money here the Tudor hotel down the road is a better hotel to stay in, dirty bathroom, broken toilet seat, ripped net curtains, wallpaper hanging off the walls

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank purpleors
Management response:

Hello thank you for your review it has been most helpful-I am sorry that you weren't pleased with your experience here and may I take this opportunity to apologise for any rudeness encountered-following on from your comments the hotel is now under management with a positive customer focused attitude-the room in question that you mention has subsequently been redecorated with...

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This is without doubt the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, The superior room was superior rubbish, most of the hotel was dark and dingy, The garden was overgrown not like it showed in the pictures advertised. The manager of the hotel needs to go to management school because he hasn't got a clue. Whoever owns this hotel is to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Steve H

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgwater hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
4.8 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#2 of 6 in Bridgwater
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
BBs Letting Rooms
#9 of 12 in Bridgwater
5 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Babbling Brook
The Babbling Brook
#12 of 31 in Bridgwater
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: 45-51 St. Mary Street, Bridgwater TA6 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Price Range: £55 - £993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bridgwater, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Vicarage staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Old Vicarage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Farrier Suite - room 19 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 187angiec, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My son stayed in the four poster bedroom - absolutely beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles berniem816, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ianmU9731JL, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“do not book a room here”
 of 5 bubbles smccreery63, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not go there”
 of 5 bubbles chrissief2015, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay