We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Friendly Spirit Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Friendly Spirit Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited The Friendly Spirit Inn in Cannington on Saturday 12th November 2016 for an evening meal. I must say that we were all made to feel very welcome. The meal was excellent as was the service. It was a pleasant change to find a place where everything was spot on. The meals were all delivered to our table at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bevmart
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Its near to Steart so handy for Birdwatching, Breakfast was nice, shame the heating went off in the night so woke up very cold, it says next to the heater not to touch it as it is on a timer,so we never touched it, but apart from that we had a lovely weekend, there is a really nice Indian Restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Birder186220
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yes I can agree with the comment on here don,t dare complain. We booked dinner for 6.30pm the place was almost empty apart from one table and a few people at the bar. We were shown are table and waited ages before our order was taken after we asked them to take our order. The main courses were good and... More 

Helpful?
Thank lesliechnt

Travellers are raving about these Bridgwater hotels

Dagenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Booked 4 nights due to work in the area, what a dirty experience, room had a shared bathroom covered in other people’s body hair, complained to staff who were rude and offensive, It was clear then that my stay was going to be hostile, I was made to feel very unwelcome and could not wait to leave. When checking out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
Betty B, Manager at Friendly Spirit Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to apologise for your experience at our hotel. I am afraid when you booked the room you did know that is a shared bathroom that's why is cheaper on the price than the other rooms. Unfortunetly if someone using it during the day or night and not clean it we do not... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We were just passing enroute to Kilve beach and this place looked inviting, so we stopped for sandwich lunches. The baguettes are well cooked and service is quick. As I said, the few tables by the door catch the sun, and there are hanging baskets by the garden. That makes for a lovely setting on a nice summer day. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Betty B, Manager at Friendly Spirit Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback we take everything on board. Sorry about the dirty menu and missing napkins it should not happened. I had a word with front of house about it. Take care. Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Stayed here in a large group that has used the Friendly spirit for over 20 years on and off and for the last ten years on the bounce. It will sadly be the last time. No hot water in some of the rooms, making us pay for breakfast that had already been agreed with the room price, being told no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerzy S
leatherhead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Been going to the Friendly annually for 10 years in a large group but this will be the last. The previous owners went out of their way to look after us and nothing was too much trouble but things have changed. No hot water for two days meant my arm pits matched my mood. No offer on a discount for... More 

Helpful?
Thank scoop_10
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Returned to the Friendly spirit recently and enjoyed a nice evening of good food and great wine Had a poor experience just after it changed hands and encountered a very rude foreign gentleman who put us off for a while, we spoke to the owner and he apologised and offered us a free meal on our next visit we never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markynew
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Stayed in a triple family room with attached bathroom. Very clean and tidy room with everything you need for a short stay including towels, shower gel/shampoo, tea/coffee making facilities etc. Good sized room which had separate access from the main pub so it was perfect if you have a dog. The grounds were also great with a small children's play... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mortcat
Betty B, Manager at Friendly Spirit Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words. Please come again when you around. Kind regards, Betty More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as a last minute decision after weather put me off cycling any further. Good points: Friendly staff who sorted somewhere to leave my bike Room available last minute Bad points: Rubbish left in room from last guest 2 towels left - one was wet (left from last guest?) Main light didn't work No plug for bath in shared... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Betty B, Manager at Friendly Spirit Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, So sorry about your experience in our hotel. Must of been a mistake because our rooms get cleaned and checked every day but as very late booking must of been a mistake. You should of let us now and we could of rectify it for you. Sorry again about it. Kind regards, Betty More 

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgwater hotels
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
2.3 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Cannington
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#31 of 31 in Bridgwater
175 reviews
3.6 mi away
Huntstile Organic Farm
Huntstile Organic Farm
#1 of 1 in Goathurst
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#2 of 4 in Cannington
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Friendly Spirit Inn

Address: Friendly Spirit Brook Street | Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Price Range: £47 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendly Spirit Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Friendly Spirit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendly Spirit Inn Bridgwater, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Friendly Spirit Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Friendly Spirit Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room outside away from the pub as they have live music on saturdays.”
 of 5 bubbles Birder186220, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check where the Friendly Spirit ( a not unpleasant ghost the story says) is expected to be”
 of 5 bubbles grrperry, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 7 its the haunted one ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles Traaacer, 27 Oct 2011 | Read review
“There are 3 or 4 rooms on ground level at the back of the hotel. Excellent if you have a problem with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Lulu629, 19 Sep 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay