We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (1)


Seafront Pub/Restaurant and 5 Bedroom Hotel overlooking Clevedon Pier and Bristol Channel. English & Mediterranean influence in Restaurant. Parking for Guests. All Rooms En Suite - Shower & W.C. FREE WI FI. T.V. Tea/Coffee Facilities - 1 Bedroom suitable for Disable with Facilities
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Harbour View
Great View


Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
9Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 47
  • 21
  • 21
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed with my partner.. Would give poor overall if it was not for the friendly nature of one of the owners. The room is of average standard with an small tv and the shower room pipes out scalding hot water if you turn it on the wrong way. The bed was comfortable but the whole
Read more
My wife and I stayed one night here. We did have the smallest room but it was clean and well serviced. The breakfast was absolutely Fantastic. We both had the full English which was fresh, well cooked and delicious. The staff were very helpful and polite. Definitely will stay
Read more
The Moon & Sixpence has a reputation for good value and great food with a relaxed atmosphere and that is what we experienced on our visit on a busy Saturday evening. Food was served with no fuss and after our meal we sat back and enjoyed the view of the Pier. Take time to enjoy
Read more
Response from TONY A, Owner at Moon & Sixpence
Responded 14 Dec 2018
Hi, Thank you for your kind comments - Welcome to the Family. Have a Great Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Read more
Went to Clevedon today for a wander,and decided to have lunch in the Moon & Sixpence. My wife ordered the Cod,which at £12-50 is not cheap for pub grub,but decided that as you have to cook it fresh it would be okay. Wrong,the fish was overcooked and dry,the batter was crunchy
Read more
Response from TONY A, Owner at Moon & Sixpence
Responded 26 Nov 2018
Sorry to hear of your experience and can assure you this is not the norm. We wish you had asked to speak to the Chef Concerned and can assure you that if you would like to return, we will give you a Fish Dish for Free. The price for the Fresh Cod is pretty standard in our Town, some charging more or less, dependant on whether a Take Away or Sit Down with Service. Our Fish batter is made to be Crispy.
Read more
We came here for a pub meal, and ordered at the bar no problem. Then, the food came. Obviously all lidl own, and microwaved out of a packet. We had to send the food back 3-4 times, much to the disgust of the staff. Eventually, we got our fish and chips which was definitely not
Read more
Response from TONY A, Owner at Moon & Sixpence
Responded 7 Nov 2018
We have made in house enquiries with regard to your complaint and after considered deliberation, feel that your comments are slanderous. My staff tell me that the only complaint they had recently about our Fish & Chips was from a Young Group, who from the time came into our establishment ,Changed their minds repetitively with regard to their requirements....i.e. Portion of Chips asked for 2 Persons but after Cooking the same and delivering them to the table -proceeded to alter their requirements and asked for a Large Piece of Cod & 1 Childs Piece of Cod and Chips.This my Staff Did and Refunded You The Cost of The Initial Chips Ordered. They then Charged you for 1 Childs Cod & Chips and 1 Adults Cod & Chips which you were informed but you then said you required us to Give You A Adults Cod & Chips for the price of a Childs. WE REFUSED AS IT WAS OBVIOUS YOU WERE HELL BENT ON CAUSING TROUBLE. Our Food is NOT BOUGHT FROM LIDLE and is COOKED FRESHLY BY OUR CHEFS. Our Prices ARE CLEARLY DISPLAYED ON OUR MENUS and MY STAFF ARE KOWN TO BE MORE THAN COURTEOUS. P.S. OUR FISH IS ATLANTIC COD AND IS COOKED IN OUR FISH FRYERS -NOT MICROWAVED AS YOU SUGGESTED.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
view from our room
Grime in the Shower
Rusty Radiator and Peeling Pipes
Yes those really are ridges!
The Front Door and Windows
There is a ramp access but it is not very accommodating inside, as it is on a couple of levels, including stepping up to the bar. However we have seen disabled people using the facilities so I would suggest just picking your time, so as to be able to move at your pace, and not feel rushed.
0 votes
"It was a lunch stop, bad choice by us but chosen for the location."
"The best rooms are at the front as is often the case"
"Try to get a view of the pier!"
"There are rooms here, however we came here to the pub for lunch."
"We were ground floor with no view but upstairs is probably pretty good"
US$77 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
moon & sixpence hotel clevedonmoon and sixpence
United KingdomEnglandClevedon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing