We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Oak Exmoor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Oak Exmoor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Oak Exmoor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My husband has mobility problems, and we were staying because we had to go to a funeral in the area quite early on Monday morning and decided it would be less stressful to stay the night before. As soon as we arrived we knew we were in for a treat, as our host greeted us by stepping out from behind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

This review is for people who who just want to go for drink, after all it is a pub! Well, it looks like one. However, when you step inside you quickly realise this is a eating house. All tables are set out for meals, even the ones in bar area are used by people eating, so this only leaves the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mick w
RoyalOakWinsford, Owner at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review

We have two separate bar areas with bar stools and tables for just such a purpose. If they are all occupied it means we are busy. There is no obligation to order food, implied or otherwise Sorry we were busy on the Wednesday you visited

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2015

The Royal Oak is a cosy hotel (pub) in the charming Devon town of Winsford which is surrounded by Exmoor National Park. The hotel has a thatched roof, a cosy bar, restaurant and period rooms with all mod cons. We occupied the Royal Apartment, very posh decor as the accompanying photos show. The included breakfasts were sumptuous....scrambled egg with smoked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V581ZSdonb
RoyalOakWinsford, General Manager at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review

We always appreciate reviews being left, the photographs accompanying this review are more than 25 years old and whilst we have enjoyed being amused looking through them as a trip down memory lane we're so glad the rooms have been decorated several times since.

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

From the moment we walked in we were made very welcome, the rooms we had 4 in total, were spotlessly clean and spacious, good size bathroom and are very powerfully shower, good choice of local beers in bar and dog friendly, the food in resturant was excellent all the old favorites cooked very well, the hardest part was what to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingermonkey32
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We tried this place for the first time a couple of months ago and joined a family, who were staying there, for the quiz which was happening that night. We live in Exebridge, just over 10 miles away from the Royal Oak and wish this was our local pub as ours has got it so wrong whereas the Royal Oak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jowo76
RoyalOakWinsford, General Manager at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review

Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
RoyalOakWinsford, Owner at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
RoyalOakWinsford, Owner at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mendiplad
RoyalOakWinsford, Owner at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank S4101GTandrew
RoyalOakWinsford, General Manager at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winsford
169.0 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 29 in Peterborough
724 reviews
169.7 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
169.8 mi away
The George Of Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
169.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
174.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
328 reviews
170.5 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Oak Exmoor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Oak Exmoor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 nice”
 of 5 bubbles Graham355, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great rooms in the Inn, all ensuite, with views to the village green”
 of 5 bubbles 577JohnE, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay over but our friends have stayed on two occasions now.”
 of 5 bubbles McFluzie, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They have 'Four Posters' so why not go for one?”
 of 5 bubbles Snosnikrap, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 has a four poster bed, great views and a dressing room. Bathroom is huge.”
  • View to village green from Room 4
 of 5 bubbles MandM_Sale_Cheshire, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5