We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (1240)
Room & Suite (281)
Pool & Beach (54)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 5 hotels in Alton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Game room
Mini golf
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Lazy river
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Water park
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
3358Reviews122Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 842
  • 1,075
  • 737
  • 433
  • 271
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Simon G wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
After returning from the park we was greeted by the hottest room every. There was a broken fan in the room that aimed at the TV. I was surprised to find that for the price of the room u don't even get soap ! . Going down for tea was a experience , after queuing for 30 min I was told I had to queue somewhere else to get a ticket and cups then rejoin the original queue for a table ( 1 hour 25 mins in total ) . The dinning room was clearly understaffed and most where just wandering round clueless . After tea I but a review on the machine provided to which I got a evil glare from a staff member. . Water Park was ok for kids up to the age of 10 and very over priced as tickets to Doncaster dome are half the price and has more to do . ( would advise taking a peg as the changing room smells really bad . Even though we was one of the first in . )
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angela L wrote a review 17 Aug
Alsager, United Kingdom132 contributions47 helpful votes
Took the grandchildren to Splash Landings for a treat. Several years since I have been and I was astonished at the state of the changing rooms. The smell was awful, smelt of faeces. There was dirty water all over the floor with soggy paper towel/loo roll in it. Nobody was regularly cleaning the area which surprised me. Inside the water park was okay but over crowded. To be honest, I wanted to spend as little time there as possible. The kids however enjoyed it and I noted the lifeguards were very attentive and visible, which deserves mention
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Russell Y wrote a review 17 Aug
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom2 contributions
Great hotel, let down in the warmer weather by no air conditioning in the hotel at all, including the rooms and lots of wasps around. There were fans which helped, but the windows only opened about 2 inches which were a bit pointless. Sadly this meant very little sleep for our family with 2 children during our 2 night stay this summer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
S E wrote a review 17 Aug
1 contribution
Just checking out and sadly will not return. Cons: Rooms and main hotel are super hot, no ac just a small fan on the wall that you can't leave on due to the noise. We were on the ground floor so couldn't leave the windows open either. Sleep hugely affected! Decor nicely themed but looks tired. Hotel restaurant is chaotic and not big enough to house all guests. Water park is very disappointing for the price, although my 13yo had fun. Not good value for money there. Food is bland but as expected for a buffet restaurant. No park or water park discounts or perks for hotel guests anywhere! Pros Staff are LOVELY and so helpful. Very good location for the main park. Less than 10min walk or mono rail straight to main entrance (tip: if near nemesis walk- its quicker to exit gate 13 and walk than to wait in the very deceptive mono rail queue) Golf is nice although again, tired and in need of a clean up. Great entertainment in the eve if you have children of primary age or younger. Look out for the pirates at breakfast- you can win prizes. We won fast passes for Nemesis.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Plip wrote a review 15 Aug
4 contributions
Beds were uncomfortable and the rooms were stuffy and hot. We had a blood stain on one of the bed sheets which was changed over for us. The evening entertainment was ok for the kids but not much else. The toilets in the public areas could do with some more regular check ups as they were in quite a state.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rocarex wrote a review 15 Aug
Edinburgh, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
The Splash Landings Hotel has sadly been a pretty big disappointment. My family ( husband,wife, 5 and 2 year old) came to splash landings for my 5 year old’s birthday. We stayed in the ice age themed room expecting great things as we had a fantastic experience in the sister theme park LEGOLAND only months prior. The room was clearly very worn. The floors with designs were starting to rub off. The faux fur blankets were quite matted and unpleasant. The bathroom was fairly grubby in corners and drain fairly slow to empty. The overall smell of the room was no good. The bunk beds for the kids were very cute but unfortunately there were wrappers/ debris at the ends where the gap was left between mattress and wall. The bedding was not of good quality and one of the pillows actually had a large rip in the seam where microfiber was bursting out. The in room drinks menu had only one drink available once accessed from the QR code. The room theming was very cute and would have been great had the general cleanliness and overall deterioration not taken away from it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alan G wrote a review 11 Aug
1 contribution
Great location actually being next to the theme park and attached to the water park which the kids loved. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful and the evening entertainment was really great for all of the family to appreciate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Had a room overlooking the water park which was great.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Excellence, Other at Splash Landings Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi there R655EYalang! Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5* rating and feedback. It is great to hear that the whole family enjoyed their visit to our theme park and waterpark It is great to hear that all enjoyed our evening entertainment. We look forward to seeing you again shortly! Kind regards, Leigh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Atomiku wrote a review 10 Aug
Gloucester, United Kingdom198 contributions121 helpful votes
Currently in the room which is absolutely boiling. No answer from front desk at all to try and get another fan The young children can’t settle. A used glass of water was left on the bedside table and the sheet on the sofa bed has blood on so obviously hasn’t been washed - how bad is that ? On top of hotel fee it’s then additional charge to use water park. Very disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Excellence, Other at Splash Landings Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi there Atomiku! Thank you for taking the time to leave your rating and feedback. We aim to make sure that all of our guests have a amazing visit with us, however I do appreciate that this was not the case during your visit. Please email into gs.feedback@alton-towers.com with this and a member of the team will be in touch. Kind regards, Leigh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert S wrote a review 10 Aug
6 contributions2 helpful votes
I took my two nieces ( first ever trip) to stay here for 1 night. I know it was 30 degrees during the day, but OMG the room was off the scale hot, no air conditioning and a fan stuck to the wall facing the wrong way. The mattress was filthy, see pic below. The food at Flambo’s for evening was awful. We waited 15 minutes for clean plates. The food was mostly cold and everything was just I’ll-managed. I know most of the staff are teenagers, but still, train them properly in customer service. Breakfast at Flambo’s was worse. All of the hot breakfast was cold, all drinks machines except 1 was broken, and then they didn’t refill the one that was working, which had a huge queue due to being the only one available. This is such a shame, I’ve always been a huge fan of Alton Towers. I feel embarrassed that I had bigged it up to my nieces only for them to feel let down. I feel like didn’t not get what I paid for, and left never wanting to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Excellence, Other at Splash Landings Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi there robertsH5276NR! Thank you for taking the time to leave your rating and feedback. I am saddened to hear that you did not have a great experience whilst stopping in our Splash Landings Hotel. I apologise that the food was not up to standard, and that the service across both dinner and breakfast was unsatisfactory. Please email into gs.feedback@alton-towers.com and a member of the team will be in touch. Kind regards, Leigh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa R wrote a review 7 Aug
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Waterpark was very good however it was over shadowed by us being so tired after not sleeping the night before so we couldn’t really enjoy it as much as we’d hoped. The room we stayed in was unbelievably hot so much so I had to wrap my son in a damp cold towel to cool him down. Despite having two fans in the room it didn’t make much difference. If I hadn’t have booked to go the waterpark with the kids the following day I would have driven home during the middle of the night because it was that unbearable. When I complained to the reception after waiting 2 hours for them to get back to me over another fan… they didn’t look shocked in the slightest and explained it’s because of the waterpark climate they cannot install air conditioning into certain floors near the waterpark hence the heat in the rooms. Surely it’s a duty of care to paying guests to advise them of this specially with young child. Plus it’s a breeding ground for covid with rooms that hot! We came for my daughters 9th birthday and I can honestly say it was really over shadowed by this issue. I’ve never stayed in such a heated room in my entire life and I’m not one to complain but felt compelled to advise for families who have young children.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Excellence, Other at Splash Landings Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi there melissarD6018BT! Thank you for taking the time to leave your rating and review of our Splash Landings Hotel. I do apologise that you did not have a great experience whilst stopping at our resort due to the heat. Please can you email into gs.feedback@alton-towers.com and a member of the team will look into this and be in touch. Kind regards, Leigh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
splash landings alton, splash landing hotel, hotel splash landings, hotel landing splash, splash landings hotel alton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireAlton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
216
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Splash Landings Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Splash Landings Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Alton Towers Resort (0.5 miles), Dimmingsdale (1.6 miles), and Cbeebies Land (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Splash Landings Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Splash Landings Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Splash Landings Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Splash Landings Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Queens at Freehay, The Bridge House Restaurant, and The Bulls Head Alton.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Splash Landings Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Splash Landings Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Alton.
Does Splash Landings Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Splash Landings Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Manor (2.6 miles).
Is Splash Landings Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.