We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

MercureUS$80*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 369: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Comfortable and clean. Lovely firm bed. Gardens very relaxing to sit in and chill. Nice breakfast - orange juice particularly good. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Drinks in the bar a bit expensive !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alastair I
Management response:

Dear Alastair1 Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Hotel. I am delighted to read that our staff were welcoming and friendly. I do take on board your comments regarding the bar prices, however they are competitive within the area. I hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Wilma

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights, we were staying as a couple and met up with friends. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and well laid out buffet style, with plenty of choice. We ate in the restaurant on our last night, food was gorgeous and value for money. The only downside was guests from a wedding being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
Management response:

Dear Yvonne B Thank you for your review. I very much appreciate when guests take the trouble to right about their experience at the Hotel. I am delighted you had an enjoyable time with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind regards Wilma

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on business in what obviously was at one time a nice hotel but is in desperate need of some help. My room (115) was a double bed in room appropriate for a single, decor was very dated although the room was clean. No biscuits in the room which seems to be a policy with Mercure Hotels but seems to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Oxted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolmw275
Management response:

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

One night stay for a girls weekend. Hotel room was perfectly fine for my needs. Fresh clean white linen and towels, coffee, tea, iron, hairdryer TV. Internet access. Fairly hard bed but slept fairly well and no outside noise, although the heating system could perhaps do with an overhaul as although it wasn't turned on the system ran all night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind comments. My team always strive to give 100% good old fashioned customer service. That is the reason we are in hospitality. It always give the team such a huge amount of satisfaction when guests enjoy their stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind...

Reviewed 18 March 2017

We stayed for two nights but only ate dinner on the first night. The dessert was disappointing but my complaint was swiftly dealt with. Room was beautiful, all the staff were excellent and did all they could to make our stay a happy one. However we felt that the hotel is looking a little sad and feel sure the new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avril D
Management response:

Thank you so much for your comments. I am glad you had a good stay with us. Please be assured I will do my best to address the issues you raised regarding how the hotel looks. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Wilma

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The hotel may be a little tired but this is more than made up by the staff who are very helpfull, hotel is set in a quiet village and although there was a wedding going on we had a good couple of nights sleep. The hotel is only 15/20 mins drive from the National Arboretum.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulamickC
Management response:

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am delighted you have a great time. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind regards Wilma

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on Friday night for just a one night break to get away, service was excellent and accommodating. We really loved inside the hotel as it was very impressive though the outside of the building was somewhat tired looking. We booked the standard room and it was spacious and well equipped. Such a comfy firm bed and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannahrose96
Management response:

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind regards Wilma

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We stayed overnight, but also booked afternoon tea with Prosecco for 3pm for 4 of us - the staff were so friendly, and even put us in a private lounge room for us to enjoy our afternoon tea and what a feast it was - there were lots of sandwiches, plus cream scones and a further selection of cakes on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
Management response:

Thank you very much for your kind comments they are much appreciated. I do agree our afternoon tea is a feast, I would challenge anyone to finish it. It is indeed excellent value for money. Kind regards Wilma

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Wanted special dinner for my partner's birthday on last Saturday. Was impressed with the location and buildings when driving through. However, the inside was dated, the dinning room was depressing with poor lightening (couldn't see the menu wording). On the night we only saw 3 staff; receptionist, waiter ands duty manager the service was poor, we didn't see the waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yan K
Management response:

Dear Yan K Thank you for your comments regarding y our stay with us. I am so sorry to read that you had such a disappointing experience. Please do accept my apologies. I will most certainly be review your comments with the team. We always strive to give 100% it would appear on this occasion we fell short. Kind regards...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
224 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Price Range: £56 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth paying for a larger "privilege" room. ”
malcolmw275, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room on the second floor was quiet, good views over the front entrance and garden, excellent bath/shower and large television.”
297avrild, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the old building if you want a more stylish, historic room”
730jeremyb, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go high up and ask for a room on the opposite side to the car park!”
JulieBrighton, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just don't”
dante1007, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Mercure
US$80* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$80
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates