We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 351: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was a bit further from town than expected but did look nice from the outside. The main rooms were fine and the breakfast was excellent. However our room was very hot and as it was on the ground floor (although we had requested a high room )we were unable to have a window open. The room was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank S2701RVdiana

Travellers are raving about these Newton Solney hotels

Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely public areas and grounds rooms tidy but in need of refurbishment. Bathroom was woeful and shower was from the dark ages. You get what you pay for with Mecure but I would say this one is decidedly average in terms of comfort. Staff were better than the venue.

Helpful?
Thank BurlsGurth
Management response:

Dear BurlsGurth, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed in our accommodation. However delighted that my team, did impress you. Kind regards Wilma More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A party of 6 stayed at this hotel on Wednesday 16th November 2016, 1 night stay and a celebration business dinner. The rooms and facilities fine but unfortunately the service at dinner was amateurish to say the least. No one offered us menus or welcomed us and we had to ash for everything at least once one. The worst services... More 

Helpful?
Thank David T T
Management response:

Dear David TT Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I always share any comments received with the team. They are always eager to read what our guests have to say. I have to say everyone who your group came into contact with on the night of your stay remember your group. Like me they were surprised... More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel set in beautiful grounds. Amazing staff who are friendly and accommodating and go out of their way for guests (reception staff especially). Great food and service in the restaurant. Worth a little extra for the privilege room. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
Management response:

Dear Lynn Peel, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at the Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had such a good time with us. I am very proud of my team, they also strive to deliver excellent service. I am glad on this occasion they achieved that. I look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

A wonderful and beautiful day with all the family set in beautiful surroundings in peaceful country side Staff very friendly and helpful Drinks price are very expensive The biggest let down at this venue is the food if you like packet tasteless and processed food this the place to come I would return back to here but not for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Management response:

Dear Paul M. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at t he Hotel. I am sorry to read that you would not return for the food - that is sad to read. However I do appreciate the time you have had taken to write about your experience it is much appreciated. Kind regards Wilma More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Our room was small but clean. We had asked for an upper floor quiet room but were allocated a room on the first floor above the car park and smoking area. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The breakfast was low grade too,

Helpful?
Thank JulieBrighton
Management response:

Dear JulieBrighton Thank you for your review on the hotel. I do appreciate the time our guests take to write about their experiences. I am however disappointed to read you did not have a great experience because of the location of your bedroom. We always strive to fulfill all of our guests request but sometimes we can not fulfill them.... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

No hot water and no internet. The staff are doing their best but do not seemed to be sufficently trained to deal with the problems. Oh, and I got six king prawns in my linguine (£15.50). Up your game Mercure.

Helpful?
Thank Metalmullet
Management response:

Dear metalmullet Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I have to admit we did experience some mechanical difficulties last week. I am delighted to say though we are now in full working order. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you Kind regards Wilma More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My day's visit was for inspection only (to consider for meeting in 2017). Edwardian style hotel in rural surroundings.Superb grounds adjacent to fields with sheep and cows! Attractive wood-panelled hall and staircase, superb restaurant with large picture windows overlooking rear garden, good large meeting room (William Morris) and airey conservatory. Attractive bar but a pity was out of DIARONNO Two... More 

Helpful?
Thank S6772UJjohnt
Management response:

Dear John, Thank you for the very kind review on your experience at the Hotel when you arrived to view. I am disappointed not to get a mention in your list of staff. it was a pleasure to meet you and I hope we will be able to work together soon. Wilma More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This hotel's worst crime is that it is bland. Issues with the hotel are: - very dim lights in the rooms - dead moths in the light - temperamental shower - odd music in the lounge/bar - no atmosphere - AWFUL breakfast Postives: - All staff are friendly - 24 Hour bar

Helpful?
Thank dante1007
Management response:

Dear dante1007 Thank you for your review on the hotel. I am sorry you had such a disappointing experience. However I do appreciate your comments and be assured I have shared them with the team and as always looking for ways to continually improve our service standards. Kind regards Wilma More 

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
386 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
425 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
283 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Price Range: £53 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go high up and ask for a room on the opposite side to the car park!”
 of 5 bubbles JulieBrighton, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just don't”
 of 5 bubbles dante1007, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 103”
 of 5 bubbles joemcd121, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“avoid unless desperate”
 of 5 bubbles noonie2016, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Lovely location”
 of 5 bubbles sandrabC2811PF, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay