We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 362: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on Friday night for just a one night break to get away, service was excellent and accommodating. We really loved inside the hotel as it was very impressive though the outside of the building was somewhat tired looking. We booked the standard room and it was spacious and well equipped. Such a comfy firm bed and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannahrose96
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight, but also booked afternoon tea with Prosecco for 3pm for 4 of us - the staff were so friendly, and even put us in a private lounge room for us to enjoy our afternoon tea and what a feast it was - there were lots of sandwiches, plus cream scones and a further selection of cakes on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Wanted special dinner for my partner's birthday on last Saturday. Was impressed with the location and buildings when driving through. However, the inside was dated, the dinning room was depressing with poor lightening (couldn't see the menu wording). On the night we only saw 3 staff; receptionist, waiter ands duty manager the service was poor, we didn't see the waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yan K
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for an unplanned one night stay and wasn't disappointed. Lovely location, fabulous old house and grounds, and really lovely helpful staff. I had dinner in my room - a falafel burger with chips which was delicious, washed down with a very nice Malbec. A lovely quiet location too and so I had a much needed great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed here for one night in February. The hotel is in a nice setting and the building is impressive. The decor itself is a bit dated and tired but fits the Mecure brand - it's not trying to be a high end luxury hotel, and it isn't. The service in general is ok, can be slow at times, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aca01mjf
manchester england
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fab exterior, nice building, awful drab dated nasty and depressing rooms. Gym, but as i arrived at 7,30 and dinner ceases at 8 I didn't get to use it. Tired, dated, shabby awful room, nowhere near 4 star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev_manchester_8
Management response:

Dear Bev_manchester_8 Thank you for your comments. I find them very confusing as I have shared them with my operations manager. Who has informed me that she spoke to you as you left the hotel, and you had an issue with noise and she very kindly upon your request removed the few glasses of wine you had as by way...

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When you stay here you have to remember that this is not an expensive hotel and form your opinion on that basis. The location is great, overlooking the Trent across some fields, and the building itself is impressive and Grade II listed. The hotel bedrooms are spread across the old building (high ceilings, but rather oddly shaped) and a new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
Management response:

Dear Jeremy B Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I always appreciate when guests take the trouble to write about their experience . You are quite right as a grade II listed building - we are full of character hence why all of our rooms are different shapes and styles. The ceiling in the restaurant is...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We were not told that the more expensive room we booked was directly above a very loud 50th Birthday party The staff were good and helped us once we requested a move to a quieter room The grounds are great but the interior really could do with a refurb Room service- full English breakfast was quite poor and cold I...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y9352MVjamesc
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am sorry you were disturbed by other guests celebrating a special occasion. However I am pleased we were able to move you to a quiet room. Thank you once again. Wilma

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Many many thanks to the Newton Park for such a memorable day. Special thanks to Sue our master of ceremonies who did an absolute tremendous job in making sure everything for the day went perfectly. Also, a big thank you to Sophie who over the year helped with all the planning, it just couldn't of been better. A thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
Management response:

Dear Phill, Thank you so much for your kind words - I cannot tell you how much it means to myself and the team when someone takes the time to write about their experience. It was an absolute pleasure to be able to make the day special. kind regards Wilma

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Had the most amazing wedding yesterday Thursday 29th December 2016, a huge thank you to Sue, Sophie and all the staff who made our day fantastic! Highly recommend Newton Park. The catering was 5 star and catered for 70 all day guests and the same again for evening. Couldn't fault our experience and is a lovely place to have your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darran A
Management response:

Dear Darran, Thank you so much for your very kind review. May I take this opportunity to wish you and Lindsay all the very best in your married life. Kind regards Wilma

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
396 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
417 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the old building if you want a more stylish, historic room”
 of 5 bubbles 730jeremyb, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go high up and ask for a room on the opposite side to the car park!”
 of 5 bubbles JulieBrighton, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just don't”
 of 5 bubbles dante1007, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 103”
 of 5 bubbles joemcd121, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“avoid unless desperate”
 of 5 bubbles noonie2016, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5