We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
249
67
47
42
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
249
67
47
42
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews master of ceremonies vodka bar wedding breakfast wedding package wedding venue mr mrs toast master wedding reception amazing wedding tudor room dance floor bridal suite evening reception christmas party food was lovely course meal function room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Just had a carvery 'meal' at the Castle Hotel in Tamworth (which looked like a brothel with its cheap fuscia pink net curtains.) The veg was luke warm so they heated it up for me in the microwave. Something that we thought was cauliflower cheese...More

Thank Crownjoolz71
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my now wife tied the knot here on Saturday. Mike is an absolute credit to the hotel nothing was too much trouble for him and his team, the room looked superb for the wedding and wedding breakfast. Mike was on hand if we...More

1  Thank 512simonc
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was part of a wedding function here the weekend for my son and daughter in law. I must say the attention to detail was great. Everything looked great. We was welcomed by friendly staff who explained where to go whilst we waited for the...More

Thank _hinks144
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for a wedding everyone was catered for, staff were friendly and grounds were lovely. The tables were decorated beautifully. Food was lovely and big portions. I need an excuse to book and hire the hotel.

Thank leeann61
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked our wedding here 20.10.18 in the Tudor room. The castle threw in a room for me to stay the night prior. It was fab- immaculate and the bathroom was huge. We opted to have the full package here to include the civil ceremony,...More

Thank sophiescottmorgan
View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Golf course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
40
Price range
US$51 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Castle Hotel Tamworth
Location
United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
40
Price range
US$51 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Castle Hotel Tamworth
Location
United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Photos
Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (14)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
879 reviews
.32 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
783 reviews
.36 miles away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
377 reviews
.37 miles away
The Gungate
77 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 176 nearby restaurants
Portobello
367 reviews
.05 miles away
Blue Water Indian Restaurant & Takeaway
635 reviews
.06 miles away
Monsoon
251 reviews
.02 miles away
Champagne Indian Fusion
245 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 53 nearby attractions
Tamworth Castle
655 reviews
.04 miles away
SnowDome
1,311 reviews
.37 miles away
Tamworth Castle Grounds
37 reviews
.03 miles away
St Editha's Church
52 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jeanette W
I have just recently booked a family room for myself, cousin and her 11yr, the room in total came to £75, when booking the total that we were being charged was £90, so i rang the hotel whilst we were online to be advised that upon completion of the booking the price we would pay would be that of £75. However when confirmation of our booking came we had indeed paid £90, ringing the hotel back i was told that we had been charged 2018 prices, and that we would get a call back from the lady that i had spoke with the previous evening. Upon receiving the call back i was told that we had been charged the £90 as we had an extra person in our room, we did not. We had booked a family room that sleeps 4 at an obviously higher rate than the standard double which sleeps 2. Why are we being charged this? The young lady on the phone was rude to us, and eventually refunded £5.. this is not good enough. We want to stay here as family will be here but something needs to be done regarding this.
24 April 2017|
Answer
Response from CastleHotelTamworth | Property representative |
All booking prices are controlled by a computer booking system, not the receptionist. The correct price should have been for 3 x people on the wedding discount rate £85.00. That is a double/twin £70.00, plus an additional... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"well away from the bow runner bar"
763paulineb
4 Oct 2018
Read review
"Not used one"
193stuarte
24 Sep 2018
Read review
"Ask the friendly staff for the type of room you are looking for."
tpbabe
9 Sep 2018
Read review
"ask for a room not over the function rooms"
wiss4trams
2 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing