We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good15%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Certificate of Excellence
Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Tamworth, Castle Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Castle Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Tamworth. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms include a flat screen TV. In addition, Castle Hotel offers a restaurant, which will help make your Tamworth trip additionally gratifying. Castle Hotel makes getting online easy, with free wifi. And, as an added convenience, there is paid public parking available nearby. While in Tamworth, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Castle Hotel, including The Albert (0.7 km), Christopher’s at the Peel Aldergate (0.3 km), and Blue Water Indian Restaurant & Takeaway (0.1 km). Best of all, Castle Hotel makes it easy to experience some great Tamworth attractions like Cliff Lakes, which is a popular waterskiiing and jetskiing destination. Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Castle Hotel is sure to make your visit to Tamworth one worth remembering.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wheelchair access
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
57Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
15Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Reviews(456)
Traveller rating
  • 250
  • 67
  • 47
  • 42
  • 50
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
LynneWinwood
2912
Reviewed 1 week agovia mobile
A wonderful venue for a family party/ Christmas gathering. Wedgewood suite room was beautifully presented and Zoe couldn’t have been more attentive or helpful if she tried. The carvery meats buffet was delicious and looked fabulous too. Many thanks to manager Mike for your help in hosting the party at fairly short notice. We were thoroughly delighted and your team excelled.
Thank LynneWinwood
Crownjoolz71
Polesworth
1515
Reviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Just had a carvery 'meal' at the Castle Hotel in Tamworth (which looked like a brothel with its cheap fuscia pink net curtains.) The veg was luke warm so they heated it up for me in the microwave. Something that we thought was cauliflower cheese turned out to be like runny single cream which curdled on the plate with the gravy and mint sauce. They'd run out of 3/4 desserts (maybe no freezer?) so we said ice cream would be fine. A bowl was unceremoniously banged down on the table. No cutlery and when I asked for a spoon I was given a soup spoon. Nastiest, cheapest ice cream with flakes of ice in it - genuinely inedible. Everything tasted cheap and like it was an own brand that had come out of a packet! A glass of very average rose wine was £5.65. They refunded one meal to be fair when I asked. An hour later I still have a foul taste in my mouth though. Sorry Castle but I'd never recommend you in a million years.
1 Thank Crownjoolz71
Simon C
Tamworth, United Kingdom
167
Reviewed 4 Nov 2018via mobile
Me and my now wife tied the knot here on Saturday. Mike is an absolute credit to the hotel nothing was too much trouble for him and his team, the room looked superb for the wedding and wedding breakfast. Mike was on hand if we needed Anything. The team whilst serving the wedding breakfast were brilliant very speedy and the food was amazing. The reception was brilliant as well, the bar staff was amazing having a good laugh with customers which you don’t see in other venues. Thank you mike and the team you really did make our day special.
1 Thank Simon C
_hinks144
Birmingham, United Kingdom
10
Reviewed 22 Oct 2018via mobile
I was part of a wedding function here the weekend for my son and daughter in law.
I must say the attention to detail was great. Everything looked great. We was welcomed by friendly staff who explained where to go whilst we waited for the ceremony to begin.
The meal was hot and tasty- well done to the chef can not fault the roast dinner.
The master of ceremonies man was professional but also very down to earth which gave a relaxed atmosphere.
The evening reception room was laid out very well. With the amount of people to the sizing of the room was perfect. Bar staff were happy and took orders quickly.
Would I recommend this hotel.. defiantly
Thank _hinks144
leeann61
33
Reviewed 21 Oct 2018via mobile
We visited for a wedding everyone was catered for, staff were friendly and grounds were lovely. The tables were decorated beautifully. Food was lovely and big portions. I need an excuse to book and hire the hotel.
Thank leeann61
PreviousNext
12345692
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jeanette W
I have just recently booked a family room for myself, cousin and her 11yr, the room in total came to £75, when booking the total that we were being charged was £90, so i rang the hotel whilst we were online to be advised that upon completion of the booking the price we would pay would be that of £75. However when confirmation of our booking came we had indeed paid £90, ringing the hotel back i was told that we had been charged 2018 prices, and that we would get a call back from the lady that i had spoke with the previous evening. Upon receiving the call back i was told that we had been charged the £90 as we had an extra person in our room, we did not. We had booked a family room that sleeps 4 at an obviously higher rate than the standard double which sleeps 2. Why are we being charged this? The young lady on the phone was rude to us, and eventually refunded £5.. this is not good enough. We want to stay here as family will be here but something needs to be done regarding this.
24 April 2017|
Answer
Response from CastleHotelTamworth | Property representative |
All booking prices are controlled by a computer booking system, not the receptionist. The correct price should have been for 3 x people on the wedding discount rate £85.00. That is a double/twin £70.00, plus an additional... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"well away from the bow runner bar"
763paulineb
4 Oct 2018
Read review
"Not used one"
193stuarte
24 Sep 2018
Read review
"Ask the friendly staff for the type of room you are looking for."
tpbabe
9 Sep 2018
Read review
"ask for a room not over the function rooms"
wiss4trams
2 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle hotel tamworth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTamworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing