We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Gungate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gungate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I remember being a adolescent teenager and leaving home for the big world , after life took a turn I had to go back to my parents house 😩 This hotel reminds me of that experience ! Being a total inconvenience to the owner !!! I think she seems to forget she is there to cater to are needs as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this hotel as I was off to visit the Snowdome and didn't want to spend a fortune. What a little gem of a place. A proper old Victorian house, with a coach house at the back converted into bedrooms (where I stayed). The room was modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. I slept like a log. Breakfast was great,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nessm1
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me, my wife and our 5 year old son stayed at this hotel for the 3rd time during the October Bank Holiday for 2 nights. We booked the family room which was clean and tidy with ample amounts of space. The hosts were around in the bar to converse with in the evening, where we sat and watched TV whilst... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ahu1027
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

During my latest business-trip in Birmingham I decided to stay a bit away from the crowd. I booked a room in Tamworth, Gungate hotel. Very nice bed & breakfast hotel. Friendly people a clean rooms. Overall a very nice two overnights. Thanks.

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The Gungate provided a conference day for our company, and the facilities were very good, and we were welcomed throughout the day. The full English breakfast provided was great. Will definitely use this hotel again for future conferences/business meetings.

Helpful?
1 Thank jamiehaz77
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This is a homely and friendly hotel in a convenient location. The breakfast is excellent and the value amazing. I would stay there again. The host is extremely helpful with both extra teas in the lounge and suggestions local attractions and hostelries.

Helpful?
3 Thank Janice R
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Had this room booked since April 2016. I booked a family room for my husband, three children and myself. We have had a day out booked at Thomas Land @ Drayton Manor since then, which we have been looking forwards to as a family. I received a phone call today (two weeks prior to our expected stay) To advise that... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Jade B
Susan T, Owner at Gungate Hotel, responded to this review

I am so disappointed in your misrepresentative of my call to you to advise you would be the only guests staying in the hotel and wanting to confirm if that would still be okay for you. I never said the word favour once not alone twice as you indicated but did try to correct your misinterpretation of my conversation. You... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, relaxed and friendly, off street private parking and very little road noise. Sue made me a light supper after I'd arrived late evening and didn't want to wander the five minutes walk into town. Breakfast was exactly what I asked for and I was well looked after.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
Susan T, Owner at Gungate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and you are most welcome any time. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Rated as friendly and children welcome.we were disappointed to say the least. On arrival we were asked if we wanted breakfast, we replied no the kids are too fussey. To be bombarded with question do they not eat toast do they not eat cereal just accept we do not want breakfast. my granchildren were referred to as a herd of... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank tinaandgp
Susan T, Owner at Gungate Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review and I agree that my guest house was not a suitable venue for you. For the purpose of other guests I do feel I need to at least add my version which is somewhat different to yours. As you had booked on booking.com and many guests do not realise it is room only I... More 

Wirral
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

5* stay at the Gungate Tamworth, we chose the Gungate because it was handy for Drayton Manor and The Snowdome. When we arrived at the Gungate, our 1 twin and 1 double were in the coach house, both nice and bright, Sue gave us some local information, how far the walk into town was and her recommendations of were to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Queen01
Susan T, Owner at Gungate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, much appreciated. More 

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,472 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Gungate Hotel

Address: 62 Upper Gungate, Tamworth B79 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Price Range: £49 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gungate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gungate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tamworth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gungate Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Halifax, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Preston, United Kingdom
dewsbury
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Gungate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed at the back of the Hotel and it was very quiet and sleep quality was very good”
 of 5 bubbles MrsFussyLincolnshire, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisandTina, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Annex rooms were perfect but do be aware of potential access problems if you have major issues with stairs. Best check when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles tartnjohn, 14 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Try the coach house, that was the best for me”
 of 5 bubbles 99vasm, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Strongly recommend and good value”
 of 5 bubbles KiethS_12, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay