We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mitre Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Mitre Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 551: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel has a number of outside areas where you can sit overlooking the river. Good service and good selection of drinks in the bar area which is open to the general public. Inside the main lounge area is comfortable and well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AWorldVoyager
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We last stayed at this hotel in 2014 when it was under different management. De luxe rooms are very comfortable mini suites but no longer include comp whiskey! Ours had a king sized bed and plenty of space. Outside riverside terrace accessible from room. Instant coffee replaced by filter coffee maker at our request. Afternoon tea which was said by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarryinSomerset
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Mitre hotel. It was pleasing to learn you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team to be helpful. I would like to apologise for the shortfalls you experienced in the restaurant and bar. We are currently undergoing a transition...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a night in preparation for visiting Hampton court the following morning. Firstly the hotel is slap bang opposite the palace, so a fantastic location of staying for that purpose. On arrival we were given a free upgrade to the Catherine Parr suite. Wow!!! What a gorgeous room, with its views and four poster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eversonjo
Management response:

Thank you very much for your great feedback. It was really pleasing to learn you enjoyed your stay and the facilities in the bedroom. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Colin

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff of this hotel made a difference in our stay as everyone was very kind and accommodated our requests with pleasure. We enjoyed breakfast at their beautiful restaurant right on the river. It is really great to take a walk around and explore the area near the hotel. I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AVStravel
Management response:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Mitre Hotel. It was pleasing to learn you enjoyed the hospitality and service from the team. We get many comments from our guests regarding the view of the restaurant whilst eating breakfast or dinner. We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Colin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first booking using secret escapes, one night with dinner B&B. We (wrongly) had assumed that secret escapes was a luxury brand & unusually for me, didn't do enough due diligence before we booked. We'd told the hotel it was our anniversary, that was a waste of time, nothing was mentioned about this nor was this acknowledged. We arrived at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evitaesther123
Management response:

Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your stay at the Mitre Hotel. I was very disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations during this visit. The hotel has recently come under new management who like myself as the General Manager are fully aware of the current needs to improve the hotel. I would like to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This is our second visit this year, we returned because we enjoyed our previous stay and it's an excellent location for a visit to the Kingston Christmas market. We stayed in an Exclusive room with a river view. Although old fashioned and a bit tired looking, the room is full of character, spacious and comfortable. Comfortable beds, with good bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisandpat2016
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your visit to the Mitre Hotel. It was pleasing to learn overall you enjoyed your visit and the service and hospitality afforded to you by the team. As regards to the restaurant we are going through a transition period due to the hotel coming under new management recently and there are...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here many times, the staff is fantastic but the restaurant is a waste of time, it's always empty whereas the Mute swan next door is always full.(says all you need to know really) The reason for one star is useless Internet, even the staff know it's no good because they can't connect the wireless payment system to it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cptman C
Management response:

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at the Mitre hotel. I am pleased to be able to tell you the WIFI problem has now been rectified with a new service in place. Our guests now tell us the WIFI is now extremely efficient. As regards to the restaurant I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. There are...

St.albans
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as we wanted to visit Hampton Court. On arrival staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome . Our large double room had a beautiful view of the river Thames, the 6ft bed was very comfortable,there was plenty of wardrobe space and towelling robes and slippers were provided. There was plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blossumSt_albans
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your stay at the Mitre Hotel. It was really pleasing to read all of the nice comments especially about the staff. I will make sure I make them aware of your feedback, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in...

Tunbridge wells, Kent
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

It's not often in life that you get to see the sights feelings and sounds of two of the best things you love, outside of married harmony. The Anastasia concert of 2016 at Hampton Court provided one such opportunity. I could indulge in the second leg of the Ultimate Collection Tour whilst gazing in wonder and awe at the historical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheOneLoneBlogger
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Mitre Hotel. It was really pleasing to read all of the positive comments about the breakfast and service and hospitality you were afforded by the team. I am also pleased to learn you enjoyed the event at the palace making the visit special for you. Kind regards Colin

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 30 years. All the time it was run by Carlton Hotels, things were great - just couldn't have been better. It is now being run by someone else, and things aren't going well. I booked by phone, and specifically requested a front room - 301 or 401. When I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank broworld
Management response:

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at the Mitre Hotel. I was very pleased to learn you have enjoyed many previous stays at the hotel but really disappointed to read of how we have not met your expectations on this particular visit. As you quite rightly say in the latter part of 2016 the hotel came under new...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
1.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
560 reviews
1.8 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
788 reviews
3.3 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Mitre Hotel

Address: Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England (Formerly Carlton Mitre Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Price Range: £92 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
The Mitre Hotel East Molesey, Surrey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mitre Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Mitre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Apparently the new management don't allow customers to choose!”
  • How we found the bed in the room that was
 of 5 bubbles broworld, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay