We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Little Haven Hotel

River Drive, South Shields NE33 1LH England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (531)
Room & Suite (169)
Pool & Beach (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in South Shields
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Uniquely situated in South Shields at the gateway of the River Tyne, The Little Haven Hotel boasts extensive views of the busy Tyne and Little Haven beach, yet is within a 20 minute drive of Newcastle's city centre and is only 35 minutes away from Newcastle Airport. Our stylish, 62 bedroom purpose built hotel includes lift access, a choice of executive rooms, junior rooms, penthouse suites and accessible rooms. Enjoy a varied & exciting wining & dining experience in the Boardwalk restaurant, fashionably set in the conservatory overlooking Little Haven Beach and the lively waterfront. The beautiful conservatory style restaurant boasts superb views over Little Haven beach & the River Tyne. In summer we have tables outside to let you enjoy the sun!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1345Reviews17Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 819
  • 309
  • 112
  • 55
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
bennettmisty wrote a review 23 Feb
2 contributions
The room was lovely. Have stayed in the room the last night of being single. All the girls came to get dressed with me. So an amazing memory. The views from both balconies are awesome. I did the next time, stay in the room for my 50th birthday party. So as a suprise for Valentine's my husband booked us in. Room fabulous as ever. We went down for dinner. Don't let the restaurant manager ruin your stay, like us. We left and went up into town.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
evelyn482017 wrote a review 22 Feb
Durham, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We paid for bed breakfast and evening meal, being a special offer for February, we also paid extra for a junior suite. We clocked in and went to our room and as we had stayed in that room once before we were happy with the room and the view. We went for evening meal at about 7 20, arriving at the entrance I said to my partner how lovely the tables looked as they had white table cloths candles and petals it made me smile as it enhanced the atmosphere. But to my disappointment we were shown to a table for ten and put in the centre on our own with only cutlery before us. I was so upset! I said to the young lady that had shown us to the table that we could Not stay here as we felt like second class citizens. She went to speak to the lady in charge that told her to put us on another table which was a table for two but without the tablecloth and extras. If when you book you are made aware that something else was going on that’s fair enough but we weren’t and as we were there the weekend following Valentine for our Valentines special night it upset me greatly. Unfortunately it didn’t stop there we were given the menus and the young lady took our drinks order then twenty minutes lady no drinks had arrived, I asked my partner to go and ask at the bar for them but while he was there a young man delivered them. We sat having our drinks and waited and waited for our order to be taken, no one even looked our way to take our order! By this time I was just wanting to leave. I turned to the young lady who was at the till talking to the lady in charge and made a gesture with my hands to say were here have you forgotten us. The lady in charge asked he if she hadn’t taken our order as she said she had forgotten about us. What does that say! The lady in charge came over, didn’t say anything just took our order but not the one we wanted as by that time we were told there was none left. The food arrive a lovely starter and a very poor main course. We left and said put the drinks on the room number as after our main course once again nobody bothered to see if we wanted any sweet or another drink! We went to our room got ready for bed had a nightcap and got into the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, the mattress was terrible, you could feel the springs and we both said the same “ What a terrible time we have had “ and so disappointing a this was our first Valentine together. We chose the Little Haven as we had stayed before and I love South Sheilds. What a nightmare it spoiled our whole Valentines weekend. I would not wish this to happen to anyone else. I informed the Events Manager the next morning, he said they had a meeting on the Monday and would let them know. No reply as yet!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go unless you ask for every detail of what you are getting for your money.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Margaret S wrote a review 19 Feb
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom2 contributions
Being a big Joe McElderry fan I have been staying at Little Haven hotel many many times in the past 14 years. Such a beautiful spot for a hotel. The staff have always been the best and the cleanliness and service is good. I do think it's time the bedrooms were refurbished. This last visit I felt there is a shortage of staff with those there under pressure, special shout out to Alison in the restaurant for her good service always being welcoming and kind breakfast times.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Gribben, Accounting / Finance at Little Haven Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Good Morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I will pass on your kind comments to our team. Please rest assured that the hotel has plans to undergo large refurbishments over the coming years. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards, The Little Haven Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve S wrote a review 17 Feb
2 contributions1 helpful vote
A great hotel and every member of staff were absolutely brilliant, nothing was too much trouble , we had a couple of minor issues and sorted very very quickly. Staff at breakfast were excellent as were the evening restaurant staff , spoke to reception on numerous occasions and booked another stay , all done very professionally and friendly, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we’re already looking forward to our next stay in April. Room very comfortable and the settee in the room was a great addition, far better than standard chairs , especially for us as we are older and to sit in comfort was a godsend. All in all a comfortable, friendly place to stay which is very homely .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great place for exploring
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Gribben, Accounting / Finance at Little Haven Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to welcome you back in April for another comfortable, relaxing stay. Kindest Regards, The Little Haven Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ScotsMag wrote a review 13 Feb
ScotsMag160 contributions108 helpful votes
Had family staying over a long weekend, so were in and out the hotel a few times across their stay for drinks and food. Staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for you. Parking was simple enough, ample clear signage and a simple to use registration process to avoid fines. Bar staff were always attentive, even when the place was really busy for a wedding party on the Saturday Night. Hotel location is a lovely spot, right at the river mouth. Went in for Sunday lunch with a fairly large group, without a reservation. Staff rearrange a couple of tables so we could sit together. Drinks orders taken promptly and staff were really attentive, particularly when one of the kids accidentally knocked over an entire glass of juice, table was cleared and re laid with incredibly responsive speed! Main courses were really tasty, sunday roasts polished off with enthusiasm.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Gribben, Accounting / Finance at Little Haven Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Good Morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we're so glad to hear how simple you found our parking system and how much you enjoyed coming to visit us and our team. In regards to the hotel looking dated, we have big plans on full refurbishment of the hotel and look forward to seeing you in future to let us know what you think. We hope to see you all again soon to create more special memories with your family. Kindest Regards, The Little Haven Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marylou wrote a review 12 Feb
Loughborough, United Kingdom23 contributions11 helpful votes
Regularly visit this beautifully situated hotel . Under new management had hoped it would have received an upgrade of it's fittings and decor as it's sorely needed in places ..seemed understaffed this time with those on duty having to work non stop and incredibly hard to get everything done..Little Haven has always been a lovely friendly hotel to visit with a warm welcome from it's superb team who evidently love their work ... Would be a shame to lose that ethos.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Gribben, Accounting / Finance at Little Haven Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, please rest assured that we have big plans for refurbishment of the hotel which will be taking place in the coming years but these things do take time. Thank you for your feedback about our staff, in our quieter seasons we have less staff and in peak times we bring in more, the hotel has been very busy in what is usually a quieter season this year which is lovely to see, please rest assured that there will be more staff brought in for our peak times in order to create the best customer experience possible. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards, The Little Haven Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne-marie L wrote a review 10 Feb
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here recently. It is situated in a lovely area of South Shields. We found the room and the communal areas to be clean and comfortable. The food was okay nothing special but wouldn’t rush back for the food, however, the staff were fantastic, they were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We absolutely loved Cameron, the guy behind the bar, what a scream!!! We would go back for the staff and their lovely attitude. Well done everyone and Cameron we will be back with our “dirty money” 😂😂😂
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just a lovely experience and you can walk along the beach
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Gribben, Accounting / Finance at Little Haven Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we're so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We're sorry to hear you did not find our food to be special, please could you email us at info@littlehavenhotel.com with information on the day and time you visited and what you had to eat please so that we can investigate this? We would love for you to come back and try our food again so that we can give you the experience you deserve. Thank you for your kind comments about Cameron and the rest of our team, we hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards, The Little Haven Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nisha S wrote a review 5 Feb
2 contributions
A great location and ideal for a morning dip in the sea. I slept like a log. I arrived late after work and the hotel and staff was accommodating. Great parking facility too. This would be great for families and sports people because of the access to the promenade and beach, some lovely local walks near by.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Gribben, Accounting / Finance at Little Haven Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we're so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great nights sleep. We hope to see you again soon for a nice fresh sea dip! Kindest Regards, The Little Haven Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew L wrote a review 3 Feb
1 contribution
+1
I have been going to this hotel since 2007 then got married here in 2010 and we try and go about 4 times a year penthouse unreal. Was back again in the 31st and 1st and The receptionists jemma and chloe, need a well done was very helpful and kind and would help anyone amazing people thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Gribben, Accounting / Finance at Little Haven Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so glad to hear how much you enjoy staying with us. I have passed on your comments to Jemma and Chloe, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards, The ;Little Haven Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carol L wrote a review Jan 2024
7 contributions4 helpful votes
Lovely and cosy rooms. All staff very friendly especially Alison in the dining room who goes above and beyond her call of duty to help you she is a gem and a credit to the hotel.Our New year Gala evening was fabulous from great food brilliant entertainment and the piper was fantastic to pipe us into the New Year withe fireworks to follow, what a great night. Thank-you everyone concerned and all the staff that worked so hard.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terry Gribben, Accounting / Finance at Little Haven Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Good Morning, Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed seeing the New Year in with us. We hope you have a great 2024 and hope to see you more throughout the year! We will pass on your kind comments to Alison and the rest of our team. Kindest Regards, The Little Haven Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the South Shields area.
PRICE RANGE
£77 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
your hotel little haven
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearSouth Shields
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LITTLE HAVEN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (South Shields)

Frequently Asked Questions about Little Haven Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Little Haven Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tynemouth Volunteer Life Brigade Watch House Museum (0.6 miles), South and North Marine Parks (0.2 miles), and Arbeia, South Shields Roman Fort (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Little Haven Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Little Haven Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Little Haven Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Little Haven Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Italianish Spanish & italian Restaurant, Low Lights Tavern, and Delhi 6.
Is Little Haven Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of South Shields.
Are any cleaning services offered at Little Haven Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Little Haven Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Little Haven Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Little Haven Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tynemouth Priory & Castle (0.8 miles), Spanish City (2.9 miles), and Segedunum Roman Fort and Museum (4.3 miles).
Does Little Haven Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.