The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant

Traveller (81)
Vintage Afternoon Tea The White Swan Hotel Henley-in-Arden
Dining (80)
DIamond Suite - Bedroom
Room & Suite (49)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Henley in Arden
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
A 16th Century, listed coaching inn on Henley-in-Arden High Street at the heart of Shakespeare's county. Five bedrooms and two suites tastefully decorated, some with beams. WiFi and a full English breakfast is included in the price for a bed and breakfast stay. Our bar serves local ales, premium gins and finest wines. Bar menu 12-3pm 6-9pm, Sunday Lunch 12-3pm. Regular live music. For a great evening dining experience book STONEAGED Restaurant at The White Swan Hotel, offering stone baked pizza, pasta and amazing lava stone steaks. Group bookings and functions catered for. There is also a sports bar at the property.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Room features
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

100 High Street, Henley in Arden B95 5BY England
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles294 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The White Swan Hotel and Stoneaged Restaurant offers a blend of comfort and historic elegance, as evidenced by its well-kept interiors and original features that provide a charming atmosphere. While guests praise the hotel's cleanliness and the quality of meals, opinions on the rooms are mixed, with some appreciating the comfort and presentation, but others pointing out cleanliness issues and outdated decor. The service quality receives varied feedback, from attentive to disorganized. Additionally, while value is generally appreciated, some reviewers note drawbacks regarding amenities like Wi-Fi and hot water.
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
294Reviews8Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 183
  • 61
  • 17
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Richard F wrote a review Jul 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great Sunday luchtime in the garden at the back of the White Swan
Easy parking right by the garden.
Great welcome from hosts Nigel and Maria.
Nice bar in the corner of the garden.
You can just have a drink or have a BBQ pack and cook it yourselves by your table.
Great idea Great fun
Quality BBQ provided lit by the hosts with lots of help and helpful hints.
Fab food pack lots for veggies and for meat eaters
Highly recommended.
One of the best lunches out we've had.
Weve tried the brilliant Stoneage in the restaurant.
This like a Stonesge outside in their lovely garden
PS
lots of gazebo coverings over tables should the summer weather not be lovely and sunny.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Hi - so pleased you enjoyed your STONEAGED BBQ and thank you for your thoughtful review. It means so much to businesses like ours at the moment as we endeavour to serve and keep our customers safe. See you again soon!!! (Hoping the sun stays out!) Nigel and Maria
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda O wrote a review Aug 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to spend an overnight stay in Henley in Arden on 17th August, a place we normally just drive through on our way to Stratford. We chose the White Lion Hotel after seeing it online. Initially what swayed our choice was the opportunity to sample the food from the Stoneaged menu.
On arrival we were greeted very warmly by Nigel who showed us to our room and explained how to get around and how to get in and out of the hotel. The wonderful friendly service was continued by all of the housekeeping and bar staff at lunch time. The bar exuded a lovely friendly atmosphere which made our experience all the better.
On the evening we had our evening meal in the Stoneaged restaurant and the two waiting staff were very helpful attentive and very friendly. The food was of excellent quality, probably one of the best steaks we have ever eaten.
Breakfast the next morning was really pleasant and relaxing with great quality
produce and Maria made it all look effortless.
We will definitely be going back again soon..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 16 Sept 2021
Sorry for the delay in responding to thank you for such a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience here at The White Swan. Come again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Sam F wrote a review Dec 2021
Driffield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed overnight at The White Swan and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were given a warm welcome and all the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and quaint and the bed very comfortable. The room and bathroom were both very clean and the shower was lovely!!! We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The best thing about our stay was the management and staff. Everyone was so lovely, funny and engaging, we really enjoyed their company, including the landlady, bar staff, waiting staff in the restaurant and the cleaners the next morning. We felt very welcome. I would recommend The White Swan highly and would definitely stay there again!!! Thanks very much to you all!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Only sas our room (number 17) - it was lovely.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 6 Dec 2021
Thank you again! We'd love to see you again soon. Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daff 123 wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a long days walk, with some very inclement weather involved, and in truth looking fairy dishevelled, we could not have been more warmly welcomed by the members of staff, who helped us carry our things to the room, including a couple of very welcome pints. After a freshen up in the extremely clean and spacious room, we had seats booked in the bar, and were served very quickly and courteously, we were prepared to eat in the bar area, but once again with excellent work from the staff, they managed to get us a table in the restaurant. The food was wonderful, and exceeded our expectations, highly recommend the " hot stone fillet steak", after dinner we were shown to a nice table once again in the bar area, for a nightcap. After a comfortable night's sleep, we arrived at breakfast, and were greeted warmly by Nigel, and Maria. Breakfast was superb, all cooked from fresh. We can highly recommend everything about this hotel, and thankyou for a wonderful but short stay, and will return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 28 May 2021
Hi, many thanks for such a lovely review we are very grateful and you were delightful guests! We look forward to your return. Nigel and Maria x
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeremy S wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Popped in for a quick drink after a dog walk,really glad we did .
Fantastic place ,great interior decor,we opted to sit outside in the Secret Garden.
They were running a BBQ event which involved bringing a state of the art BBQ to your table plus a selection of fresh meats & vegetables which we cooked at our leisure,excellent idea.
Great day topped off by an acoustic guitar by two great musicians
Thanks to Maria & Nigel being such welcoming hosts

Jeremy & Claire
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Hi and thanks again!! So pleased everyone is enjoying our garden and the BBQ concept. Pop in again soon. Best wishes Nigel and Maria
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andrea357 wrote a review Oct 2020
Southport, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights.
Lovely room, well appointed. It was facing the courtyard so was a bit of noise from customers leaving. But it didn’t really bother us.
Breakfast was very tasty, you could tell good quality ingredients were used.
Staff and service was excellent. It was a nice touch offering a hot chocolate at breakfast when my other half turned down a tea or coffee.
They also kindly let us stay in our room to watch the London marathon.
They have good covid precautions in place so felt very safe.
Wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for such a great review! We always strive to do the best for our guests and we would love to see you again soon!! Best wishes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angelo C wrote a review Oct 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a table in the restaurant in advance for 7 adults and 3 children. We asked if we can bring a small dog with us, and whoever answered the phone said yes, and even asked if the dog can sit still. When we arrived after driving for 40 minutes from Birmingham to meet up friends coming from Scotland, we were told that we cannot come in with the dog. The waitress that we talked to also went to double check it with ‘the manager’, who we never saw anyway. She blamed it on possible miscommunication and said that maybe we booked a table in the bar. However, there was no table of 10 ready in the bar and we would have to sit on different tables anyway. Some of us went there to try the steak, but we were not allowed to order from the restaurant menu in the bar. We decided to let our friends eat in the restaurant, while we quickly grabbed a bite in the bar, but sadly the only reasonable menu choices were just some sandwiches or fish and chips, which came quite cold with really cold fries after 40 minutes. To be perfectly honest, we didn’t really mind to leave the dog at home for a couple of hours. We understand that most restaurants do not allow dogs inside, but we’ve recently been to a few restaurants that do, so we always ask in advance. If our friends wouldn’t live far away, we would have left immediately, but we didn’t want to ruin their day as much as it was already ruined for us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 14 Nov 2022
Sorry to hear about your bad experience with us. As regards our dog policy, it is correct that we don't allow dogs in our restaurant, for many good reasons, so I am surprised that you were told you can. All our staff are very aware of the policy so I can only guess there was a miscommunication which we can only apologise for. The bar area, however, is a different matter, we are very dog friendly and encourage owners to be bring their dogs and even provide 'doggie nibbles' and water bowls. We are also sorry to hear about your disappointment with the bar menu, we have an extensive menu catering for a wide range of preferences, a lot of which are duplicated in the restaurant. Unfortunately we can't offer steaks on a hot lava stone in the bar due to safety reasons as there are always people walking around and gathering in groups which could easily cause an accident when carrying the hot stones to the tables. We hope you are not completely put off from returning to our restaurant, the stone concept is very popular so definately worth a chance. Kind regards, Nigel Townsend
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Livelane wrote a review Jul 2021
Surrey, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed mid week for one night and found the hotel to be more than acceptable. It is situated in the heart of the town with a good number of restaurants and pubs nearby should you wish to eat out. It is quiet with no real noise overnight.

The hotel is nicely presented, clean and well decorated. There are both indoor and outdoor eating areas as well as a beer garden with children's play area. It is an old building so it is a little difficult to get your suitcase around, having narrow steps and corridors, there is no lift. It has its own car park, however the entry is narrow with a tight turn into it.

The bar is well stocked with a good range of beers, spirits, non alcoholic drinks and bar snacks available.

If I had one issue with the hotel it would be that the rooms are not air conditioned, this made it almost impossible to sleep due to the temperature. At one point it was 32C in our room, even though a fan was provided. While this is not a year round issue it is something that needs addressing.

The staff were friendly, polite and attentive, not much more I can say about the customer service other than it was excellent.

I can only speak to the food at breakfast as we ate out in the evening. It was plentiful, hot and well cooked with a good choice of dishes.

A nice hotel with friendly staff and a good breakfast, resulting in overall a nice stay. I would give an excellent review if the lack of air conditioning was sorted out.

I would be happy to stay again in the future, but possibly not mid summer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Thank you so much for your detailed review and kind comments. We are looking into how we can make the rooms less hot during these particularly hot spells that are now upon us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Do come again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Soupy wrote a review Sept 2020
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rang up to see if we could book for Sunday lunch. However their restaurant was full. We were heading into Henley for a drink anyway so thought we would try our luck eating in their bar area. We managed to get an amazing roast beef which was full of flavour and really tasty. Everything felt safe, clean and distanced. Food was promptly served and the waiter was very attentive. Would definitely return and happily eat in the bar area again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nigel Townsend, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated and we are very glad you tried your luck! See you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KristeenMR wrote a review 11 Jul
Rochdale, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Ideal location in Henley. We stayed in a double room which was very well presented and comfortable with everything you may need; with a spacious en suite bathroom. Toiletries and towels included.

Well kept real ale is available in the bar, and the food is absolutely phenomenal! Would highly recommend the steaks cooked on hot stones at your table by yourself! Châteaubriand is outstanding and the whole experience was very enjoyable. Breakfast was included too; absolutely delicious and plentiful. All very good value!

The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive and I would highly recommend staying, and most definitely sampling the excellent menu.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Free parking at the back of the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pottsy asked a question Apr 2021
Altrincham, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Are there a lot of stairs to the guest rooms. Thanks.
Answer from youneandus
Warwickshire, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes we have a staircase to the first level then 4 more steps going up and 3 more down... fortunately or unfortunately ( depending how you look at it it the joys of have a 700 year old coaching inn ) I hope this helps. Kindest regards Maria
Ramsfan158 asked a question Jul 2018
Derby, United Kingdom309 contributions107 helpful votes
Is this a dog friendly pub? Thx
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom1 helpful vote
Yes we are a dog friendly pub, we all love dogs here, we even provide complimentary nibbles and bowls of water for them. We only ask that they are kept under control and do not go into our restaurant.
Sheflo asked a question Jul 2018
Appledore, United Kingdom83 contributions86 helpful votes
Is this a good place for cocktails?
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom1 helpful vote
Hi, thank you for your question. We focus more on our Gin Menu which is extensive with premium gins and tonics.
Lorraine S asked a question Dec 2017
is there lots of parking
Answer from ToyBalloon
Penzance, United Kingdom1 contribution
Yes
Zack M asked a question Nov 2016
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Yeasmin .".........".....
Answer from foodloverclassic
Waterlooville, United Kingdom60 contributions18 helpful votes
Hi what is your question?
KristeenMR wrote a tip 11 Jul
Rochdale, United Kingdom52 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking at the back of the hotel."
Read full review
jason c wrote a tip 8 Jul
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking at the back is free for patrons and also hotel as free WiFi too"
Read full review
angela W wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car park is round the back ample free parking"
Read full review
Andy L wrote a tip Feb 2024
Nuneaton, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just book in you will have a brilliant time "
Read full review
Tanbish wrote a tip Nov 2023
Solihull, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the mount or the black swan"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Henley in Arden area.
PRICE RANGE
£114 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWarwickshireHenley in Arden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WHITE SWAN HOTEL AND STONEAGED RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include The Nags Head, Henley In Arden (0.07 miles), The Heritage Centre (0.1 miles), and Henley-in-arden Guild Hall And Gardens (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bluebell at Henley-in-Arden, The Black Swan, and The Curry Republic.
Is The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 miles away from the centre of Henley in Arden.
Are there any historical sites close to The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Baddesley Clinton (4.5 miles), Packwood House (4.1 miles), and The Heritage Centre (0.1 miles).
All Henley in Arden HotelsHenley in Arden Hotel DealsHotels near The White Swan Hotel And Stoneaged Restaurant
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire