We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Howard Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Howard Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 331: English reviews
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived mid afternoon. The village of Ilmington is charming and provided a good excuse for a stroll. We spent the rest of the afternoon sat by a roaring fire in an inglenook reading a paper. It has a beautiful old bar, come dining room. The local cider went down well. Our evening meal was excellent and reasonably priced. Provision...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 203jacquie
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our second short stay (of two nights) in the Howard Arms in the last 4 months. Both visits were thoroughly enjoyable with a great welcome, cosy rooms, and well above average pub food. The pub seems to be two things in one. At the one end, there is the traditional English pub area with a cosy fireplace, bum...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Two_Fogies
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Howard Arms on 11th February 2017 for one night. Upon arrival, we entered the bar area and was not welcomed by a warm smile or a nod to let us know someone would be with us shortly. Instead, the barman was at the computer, with his head down and ignored us. Once we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
Robert J, General Manager at The Howard Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sophie C, Thank you for your recent review, all feedback is taken onboard and where improvement is required is acted on. I have checked your booking and can see that we had upgraded you for the same price you were quoted for The Old Beams rooms, I am sorry this wasn't explained at the time of check in. I...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Organised a surprise special birthday surprise for my wife whereby all of our family, spread across the uk, arrived without her knowledge. Rob's help in the organisation beforehand was exceptional. We had 7 of the 8 rooms and all were of the highest standard. Each different but beautiful. The evening meal was superb. Different choices made by all and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

celebrating a birthday with long weekend in the Cotswolds. The Howard Arms really lived up to our expectations - fantastic bedroom and facilities (we stayed in the Cotswold Room), cosy and friendly bar area with great choice of draught beers, lovely airy and comfortable dining area for dinners and breakfasts. Excellent and friendly staff and service. Food delicious and good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on a DBB deal with my partner and sister as a treat for them. Communication to book the room initially via email was excellent from Rob the manager. On arrival we were welcomed and had a superb steak sandwich before exploring the local area. Room standards and quality were excellent with good attention to detail including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are local and thought it would be nice to go for lunch. We haven't been to the pub for many years due to poor food. But there had been a recent change in management so we thought we'd try it again. My husband and I ordered posh fish finger sandwich and a pot of tea. The tea came in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank niccit
Robert J, General Manager at The Howard Arms, responded to this review

Dear nicccit, Thank you for your recent review, all feedback is taken on board. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the service at The Howard Arms, however if you had mentioned your disappointment in your sandwiches and tea at the time of your meal we would have been more than happy to rectify this by either remaking or...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of two local pubs for us and one we used to regularly walk the 4 miles to over Foxcote. After Greenstocks left it became formulaic and dull with the feeling it was run by a chain (which it was). Now back under local ownership the food is first class, the bar has great beers and the log fire is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Howard Arms again recently and it just gets better! What better way than to sit in front of a roaring log fire on a winters freezing cold night, enjoying a pint or two of Proper Job ale, which is kept so well and having the most delicious stew of the day with new potatoes and fresh veg,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delwalker
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for lunch today. Very good first impression of the place. Busy for village location, I was recommend by a friend who goes regularly Compact menu, plus sandwich options. Probably a little on the pricey side, Beer £3.95 Steak over £20 but no complaints, it was quality. First impression of staff and smile would help!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zico2Palmer

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilmington
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,035 reviews
2.7 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
522 reviews
7.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,720 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the picturesque village green of Ilimington, set in the crook of the Cotswold Hills, lies The Howard Arms, a stunning, 400-year-old Cotswold stone inn.The stylish pub and dining room provide the ideal backdrop for an appealing mix of old furniture, broad polished flagstones and a log fire that burns for most of the year. Upstairs, three beautiful bedrooms have been joined by five newly-built sumptuous and spacious bedrooms which all boast separate power shower and bath, free internet access and iPod docks. Ultimate luxury and comfort are the focus of each bedroom which offer beautiful bigs beds with hand-stitched and sprung mattresses, modern fabrics and a clever mix of antique furnishings to ensure that each room offers its own personality. As the Howard Arms is sited away from main roads or street lights, a good night's sleep will leave you revitalized and refreshed, ready to enjoy our 'famous' three-course breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Howard Arms

Address: Lower Green, Ilmington CV36 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ilmington
Price Range: £105 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Howard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Arms Hotel Ilmington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Howard Arms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Richmond, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Howard Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The whole Hotel is beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles 203jacquie, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms above pub cosiest in winter, rooms outside nice for summer”
  • Country Room
  • Country Room
  • Country Room Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Two_Fogies, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cotswold was fine for us”
 of 5 bubbles markhN5333RK, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Garden room is stunning.”
 of 5 bubbles 927alisonw, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“did not stay only used the resturant”
 of 5 bubbles MikePexRN, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5