We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Carlton Hotel

Show Prices
#7 of 12 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Carlton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 195: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second stay at the Carlton, first room a single room was rather poky, second stay in a double room, carpets had not been hovered as the previous Guests hair still on the floor and waste in the shower room bin. The carpets seemed dirty, stains on the bed lining, disused water and shower caps Under the side board.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Advisorinspector2016
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the misfortune of staying here and trying to get a good nights sleep. The room I had (room 1) was facing the main road and it felt like the road actually went through the bedroom. I managed about an hour of disturbed sleep. It may have just been my room, not sure if the others are the same,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G A
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your experience at our hotel could have been a better one if you only let us know at the time of your stay. We endeavour an excellent experience for all our customers and would definitely move you to a different room at the other part of the hotel. I am sure you have noticed the...

london
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my wife stayed there for one night as this was the nearest to the venue we were going too.The car park is very small but I understand there is additional parking across the road.The rooms are in need of some TLC but was comfy we booked a twin upgrade. The TV was not working properly but as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BillwLondon
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have checked the TV in the room after you have left and the TV is now working as it should. Next time you decide to stay with us please let us know if you have any special request when you book your stay. Great to have your positive comments about our service. Looking forward...

Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

The Calton Hotel Room I had was basic single bed and Bathroom was fine but shower extremely small and being a large person mobility in shower was not comfortable trying to wash. Breakfast which was included in price was actually very tasty. Television in the single room very small and when I arrived the television didn't work and they replaced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan17041961
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and as valued customer we welcome your reviews in order to make any improvement necessary to our service. Due to the room being a small single the shower room is small. Next time when you book your stay you may want to book a superior single where shower rooms are more spacious.

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night,on business trip so arrived just after 8 pm. Several customers in the small bar and was offered a table for dinner in the clean modern restaurant. Limited menue and no steaks available but a very nice chicken curry was served promptly The single room was adequate for 1 night and simple breakfast. Would use again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JanG G
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay.

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This was an lovely hotel and represented excellent value for money. The room was a good size with a real effort to make guests comfortable. Hairdryer in room. Large bottle of water which many small hotels don't provide. It was clean, hot water and comfortable bed. I had dinner in the restaurant and the food was high quality, good size...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GoonerFred
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the meal that you had whilst you were here.

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Classic menu, well prepared and presented, using local produce where possible too - resulting a lovely meal with with fresh seasonal vegetables- piping hot! Service was quietly efficient and excellent value compared to many "chain" pubs and restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen A
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good meal and that the service was of good quality.

Reviewed 3 October 2016

we stayed here for one night. The rooms were nice and clean with friendly staff we couldn't fault that However, The rooms were cold we did mention this to staff who said they would put the heating on which didn't happen. The first room we had stayed in had a faulty shower it was coming out at freezing temperature, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear you found the hotel clean and the staffs are friendly. Regarding the other comment, we will take this on board and we will have the problem checked and get it fixed as soon as possible.

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Ok.. so i stayed here for over a month and really loved the place. It is a family run boutique hotel. Lovely ambiance, a small lounge bar, and a 6-7 table restaurant. The location is good as it not in the middle of the town centre's hussle bussle and not far from any important place in Rugby. The town centre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank x_Parag_x
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are so pleased that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We really appreciate your kind review. We are sorry to hear that you did not get some replacement toiletries, for future reference if you ever need something extra just pop down to reception and we will be sure to find some and replace anything you need...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Our welcome to the Hotel was warm, nice lady welcomed us. Booking in was straight forward. We had booked what we thought was a accessible room, the room was in the courtyard and could park the car right next to it, but impossible to get in with wheelchair, a step and the size of the entry lobby put a stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Kashem1, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Paul, We would like to thank you for writing a review. We are pleased that you felt welcomed on arrival and that your check-in ran smoothly. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble getting into your room, along the floor there are markings as to where cars can park to leave the doors to the rooms accessible...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
1.2 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#8 of 12 in Rugby
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#11 of 12 in Rugby
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
3.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our central Rugby location makes us an ideal choice for your stay. We’re right on the edge of Rugby’s Town Centre and less than 3 miles from the M1, M6 and A45. Whether you’re in Rugby on business or looking for a base from which to explore all that Warwickshire has to offer, come and stay at The Carlton. As an extra incentive, our restaurant is known as one of the best in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Price Range: £60 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Rugby
The Carlton Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rugby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Carlton Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Carlton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a twin superior room butthere are iron stairs to the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles BillwLondon, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 is the best. The other on the 1st floor are also good and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles x_Parag_x, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Quiet in courtyard but if wheelchair user who is unable to get out of chair look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles X5604CTpaulb, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask what the difference between a standard and superior room , might save yourself some money”
 of 5 bubbles 677vincentw, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The quietest rooms are in the extension at the back of the court yard.”
 of 5 bubbles Tom-region, 20 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay