We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rugby Hotel

Hotels.comUS$91*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rugby Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rugby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

This hotel is much bigger than it looks from outside. Nice homely feel, room spacious and bed comfortable! Paid extra for a king-size bed. Has been mentioned before but the bathroom lets it down a little, dated and small, but I understand this is something that is currently being improved on. The shower pressure wasn't great but was hot. TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seville H
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for reviewing the Rugby Hotel; I agree from the outside it looks small but we boast 35 superb rooms. Thank you for acknowledging that our bathrooms are gradually being refurbished. I agree that the King Size beds are fantastic and really comfortable. I believe that this year we are due to be upgrading all TV's due...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Had our family christmas lunch at the here Excellent meal well presented staff were very friendly and efficient. Overall the experience was well worth the money. This is the second time will be a third time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 276alan
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening, Many thanks for your kind words; I will certainly pass them on to the team! Christmas Day was certainly a success with lots of kind words from others too! I most certainly will welcome you again on Christmas Day 2016!

Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

What a waste of a lovely building and location, I can put up with dated, but black mould on the Windows, tiles, broken bath panel at the bottom of the bath which was dirty, filthy lampshade, then to top it no hot water. Needless to say checked out first thing and went into a premier inn for the next 3...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vanessa R
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for reviewing the Rugby Hotel; I have read your review and I can only appologise, I have since reading this review completed a full audit of every bedroom with the Head Housekeeper to ensure that our standards are adhered to at all times; you will notice in my previous replies all of our bathrooms are going...

Reviewed 15 December 2015

The rugby hotel is a lovely hotel. The location - in the centre of the town, and the staff are all very nice. It is quite small and it seems like your in a house - which can be nice. But sometimes it is a bit too homely. There is a slight problem with your luggage, as there are only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xav C
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for the recent review on the Rugby Hotel; I have read you points with interest. Being a period building as you could imagine it is very difficult to install a lift but as you mentioned we always offer assistance with luggage, depending on the type of room you booked will depend on the size of the...

Milton Keynes
Reviewed 8 December 2015

A group of us met for our annual Christmas Dinner in this historic hotel in the centre of town. It does not have a car park so we used the multistorey nearby and walked the last bit. We were able to catch up with each other in the comfy lounge during the afternoon. Our room was quite small, as was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you very much for your recent review of the Rugby Hotel; I am so pleased you enjoyed the hospitality we offer! We pride ourself on excellent customer service and even during a busy period with a smile. I will of course pass all praise to the team - especially the kitchen who ensured all 126 meals left...

New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 November 2015

The Rugby Hotel is a quaint place almost in the center of town. You can easily walk to a lot of eateries and pubs. I booked a single room. It was small, compared to U.S. standards, but considering I was in the U.K. and it was also a very old building, it was to be expected. There was not any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allen J
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rugby Hotel, I am so pleased you enjoyed all Rugby has to offer. As you mentioned you booked a single room which is a standard single bed. I am pleased you took advantage of the horseshoes bar and lounge - it really is the perfect place to unwind after...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Working hard to provide a good service we were impressed at the determination to make this Hotel work. It provides a very very central location and at £59 odd was good value especially on a Saturday. With some 30 rooms, and some clear and acknowledged need for refurbishment - this is on going - we were pleased with this and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R N
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for the very kind words about the team at the Rugby Hotel, I will pass these comments on to them! I am pleased you noticed that the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment of all bathrooms and hopefully on the next visit you will see a change. Housekeeping work tireless to keep the bedrooms to a...

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 October 2015

It's a cosy hotel. Booked the family room. Room and bathroom were spacious. Located right in the middle of town and it within walking distance to the local attractions and shops. Too bad it does not have it own parking due to its location. Cars can however be parked at ASDA which is located behind the hotel. Staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dina A
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank You for reviewing the stay at the Rugby Hotel; being a town centre location means that we are only a stones throw from all the local attractions Rugby has to offer! I hope you enjoyed Rugby School where the game was created. Reading reviews like this is positive and I will pass your kind words to all...

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Good area , but shame about the hotel . Very basic , bathroom not to good . Cant really say much about it. Just it was convenient . And parking was free, which was good . Nice but small town . Lovely chinese 5 minutes away called new regent , very nice .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zena m
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for reviewing the Rugby Hotel; as I have said in previous replies our bathrooms are all currently being refurbished to a high standard. Rugby is a very small market Town and I am glad you enjoyed your visit, next time you come to see us please try our chop house restaurant, we offer the finest steaks...

Reviewed 18 October 2015

I liked the location, the historic ambiance specially in the ground floor in the restaurant and the bar. I've been disappointed by the tiny room which didn't let me feel homey. Sounds (missing sound proof) were as expected for a very old house. Didn't like the loud ventilator in the bathroom and almost blocked sink in the shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Rugby H, General Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for writing an honest review of the Rugby Hotel. I have to agree that down stairs is superb especially now in the Horseshoes Bar we have the roaring log fire due to the darker nights. I have looked over your booking notes and you did book into a sinlge room - if you do return...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
193 reviews
3.5 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Rugby Hotel

Address: 22-23 Sheep Street, Rugby CV21 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Price Range: £59 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rugby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rugby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rugby Hotel Warwickshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rugby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms appear to be upstairs. I did not see a lift so may not be easily accessible to all.”
jakib2016, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms quieter. Ours was noisy in the mornings with delivery trucks.Next time, we'll to to the back”
RACHELE543, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter”
849peterg, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“avoid this hotel in winter, and avoid the rooms on the first floor”
goranr516, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check you are given the room you paid for”
902tonys, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$93
Expedia.comUS$91
PricelineUS$93
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates